Customer Reviews


66 Reviews
5 star:
 (48)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


44 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I've read them all and this is by FAR the best
Wow! At last a book that really offers the information and expert guidance that I have been needing.

As hope-to-be-published writer myself, I've read most of the other books on this same topic - Pitch to Publication, The Dummies guide and the Insiders Guide by Rachael Stock - but this one is, IMHO, way better for content and readability. Fiction and...
Published on 21 Oct 2010 by AnjaP

versus
22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Brutal
I know that the publishing industry can be awfully cold at times and I suppose that as an unpublished author, I bought this book for maybe a little guidance and comfort. Mistake. This book made me feel like I had more chance of having dinner with Elvis than getting published; it's a book rife with sombre authors and publishing professionals that are full of woe. If you...
Published on 28 July 2011 by sorrelli


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

44 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I've read them all and this is by FAR the best, 21 Oct 2010
Wow! At last a book that really offers the information and expert guidance that I have been needing.

As hope-to-be-published writer myself, I've read most of the other books on this same topic - Pitch to Publication, The Dummies guide and the Insiders Guide by Rachael Stock - but this one is, IMHO, way better for content and readability. Fiction and non-fiction are both well-covered. The pick of the bunch by a country mile.

The first part of the book deals with the money side of things. How much can you expect to sell your book for? What is a realistic financial expectation if you're successful? You may not like the answers, but Getting Published gives them to you frankly and openly. The blurb about the author shows he has had both fiction and non-fiction best sellers. Plus he runs a huge literary consultancy and has helped many get their own works on to the best seller lists. So I guess he is a rare thing: author-publisher-agent all in one. And his expertise really shows.

Book then moves on to the whole business of determining whether your manuscript is ready to sell and what to do if it's not. As mentioned, author runs an editorial consultancy, so he's potentially biased here, but I will say he makes his bias very clear and he does push you to ask whether you're sending your manuscript out too early. (He made me think that I've been guilty of that. Sigh!)

The next section of the book is titled 'Planet Agent'. There's very good detailed advice on covering letters, synopses, manuscript presentation and the rest (stuff that I've read before, on the whole), but there are also incredibly helpful and rewarding chapters on things like how to know if you need an agent, what agents actually do for you, what questions to ask (if you get that far), how to interpret rejection letters, and a whole lot more besides. I haven't read anything else that's remotely this detailed or this helpful.

There are also loads of real life examples, all the way through. Also lots of first person articles from all the big players in the field- top agents, publishers, writers, head of the society of authors all give their insider tips.

The last part of the book is taken up with how the industry works and with the tricky business of managing the publishing process itself. In the end you do come away with a much richer understanding of the publisher's viewpoint, and that can only be a good thing when it comes to writing your manuscript. If - no when! - I get as far as a book deal, I can see myself reading this book repeatedly to make sure I don't mess up!

So much for content. In terms of style - well, I loved this. You don't expect a reference book to be laugh out loud funny, but this one can be at times. More than that: you feel that Bingham actually cares about writers, and that (as a pro author himself) he really understands all the ups and downs of the writers' life.

If you want a couple of gripes, though: why can't there be more generous margins? At 12.50 (15 RRP), you should get a book that you can read without cracking the spine. And why isn't there a 'read inside' option on Amazon? The rival texts do have this, and I usually hate buying books that you can't sample before you buy. But these are minor gripes. The book sizzles.

In case you can't peek inside here is a list of contents. Note that each chapter is subdivided into multiple subsections, so the Getting Ready chapter, for example, has subsections on Motives / Is Your Book Ready? / Assembling a Proposal / Which Agent? / Titles & opening chapters / Covering Letter / Synopsis etc.
- Introduction
- Getting ready
- Planet Agent
- How the book trade works
- Getting your book deal
- Towards production
- Publication
- Life After publication
- Conclusion / Facts & figures

Overall: highly recommended. Certainly the best of the bunch. Essential for any serious writer - published or otherwise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't let your manuscript leave home till you've read this book, 4 Oct 2010
Harry Bingham knows whereof he writes, and from the aspiring writer's, the author's AND the industry insider's point of view. And yes, as authors we still aren't really insiders, and that's part of the point: this book is designed not only to help you set about getting your writing published, but also to explain a myriad things which agents, editors, publishers and booksellers either forget you won't know, or would rather you didn't. Either way, they won't tell you but Harry Bingham will. It's stuffed full of advice, information and revealing facts, but it's also funny and humane: a reality check and a handbook, a professional advisor and a friend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars That rarity, a guide that's a compulsive read, 19 Nov 2010
When I approach a book that purports to 'show me how', I usually home in on the chapter, sentence or diagram I need and forget the rest. That is impossible to do with Harry Bingham's guide, 'Getting Published'. He had me riveted, he had me laughing (sometimes uncomfortably at my past mistakes and delusions) and above all, he informed me in a painless manner. The book is full of information that I have found nowhere else, and answers puzzles I couldn't solve six years ago when I began writing. Above all it is honest. The publishing industry is changing all the time, there is a sea of manuscripts out there, and the possibility of any author getting published is low.

This book won't teach you how to write, but if you have a manuscript in your hand, it will take your through the scary process that follows. With the aid of 'Getting Published' and enough detachment to view your work as others see it, you are in a good position to get your work read. That is just the start of the adventure, and Harry Bingham doesn't leave you on the agent's doorstep. His book continues to be a useful companion throughout the whole process that follows. This book should help established authors as well as newcomers.

'Getting Published', The Writers' and Artists' Yearbook Guide to Getting Published: The Essential Guide for Authors (Writers & Artists Yearbook Gde) is filled with contributions from experts in all areas of the publishing business, and one of the qualities that struck me about the book is its even-handedness. Many views are expressed, and you can take your pick.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must-have book for every new writer, 22 Oct 2010
By 
M. Harris "Shelley Harris" (Marlow, Bucks, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is an absolutely superb book, offering invaluable information, whether you've just started on your magnum opus - or just signed a publishing contract. As an author of fiction and non-fiction himself, Harry Bingham sees the publishing industry as a writer does, but he's also the head of a very successful literacy consultancy, liaising with agents and editors as he tries to get other writers into print. That unique double-perspective is a real strength of the book. A couple of things in particular stand out about 'Getting Published':

Firstly, the book avoids the 'No S**t, Sherlock' advice usually doled out to would-be authors. Harry Bingham's advice is hugely useful - and sometimes unexpected - even if you've already heard plenty on the subject at writers' festivals, writing courses and the like. His tone is very peer-to-peer, never patronising.

Secondly, although this book does what it says on the tin, giving you tips about the process of getting a contract (How do you present your manuscript? How do you choose an agent?), it also takes you beyond that, giving advice and information which will see you through the publication of your first book, and on to your second (How can you influence your cover design? How can you help with marketing?).

An excellent book, at least as useful as the ubiquitous Writers' and Artists' Yearbook 2011
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Awesome!, 8 Nov 2010
By 
Tony James Slater (Australia (currently)) - See all my reviews
What more can I say? If you're trying to get published (and I can hardly believe how many of us there are), then you really need to BUY THIS BOOK.

It's so honest, which can be frightening at times, but also full of sensible encouragement. The best thing is the no-nonsense way in which all the myths and machinations on the publishing industry are dragged into the harsh light of day. One thing I've heard and read time and time again on writer's guidelines and websites is DO YOUR RESEARCH. Well here it is! A complete understanding of the way the industry works, what to do and not to do, how to approach and how to find who to approach - and yes, how to do EVEN MORE RESEARCH!

I heard about this book online, on a writing community. I pre-ordered it immediately in the hope that for a brief while it would give me The Edge. But pretty soon everyone will have it. Perhaps I should give it a bad review instead, so that I can drag my way out of the slush pile over the bodies of manuscripts that didn't benefit from this advice...?

Nah. I'm not that kind of guy. Buy GETTING PUBLISHED asap - and maybe, just maybe, you will!

Tony James Slater
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An essential guide to Getting Published, 9 Dec 2010
As an aspiring author I've read quite a lot of books on the subject of 'getting published' and, in my view, this is by far the best.

Written in a conversational style, it's a bit like having your own personal coach (in book form) on hand 24/7. The book focuses on what to do once you've finished your manuscript, offering tips on how to judge if your book is ready to send out, then takes you through how to navigate your way through the murky waters of approaching agents, working with publishers and on to that tricky second novel.

What I especially like is the clear and easy to follow guidance this book gives on how to give yourself the best chance of getting published, and the numerous examples and case studies that help to illustrate the key points.

I can't recommend this book highly enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars shortcut for would-be writers, 20 Oct 2010
Get this - ideal for anyone with an inkling to write a published book that someone else pays for as opposed to self-published! Tells you things you wouldn't know unless someone 'in the know' enlightened you.
Fab reference book - the great unanswered questions are all dealt with here - like 'how do I get an agent', 'what about the covering letter?' and who's got the highest selling book out of Agatha Christie, Charles Dickens and J K Rowling!
invaluable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must Buy For Any Budding Writer, 8 Nov 2010
Harry Bingham has created a superbly written book that compliments the Writers' and Artists' Yearbook perfectly.

Getting Published is not only well written but gives informative and clear advice on the publishing industry. Whether you need advice on preparing your manuscript, writing your submission package or just a general outline of the editorial process, you will find everything you need to know in this book.

Most books in this area are researched and written in a commercial fashion. This, however, is 'straight from the horses mouth' so to speak! Harry has been there, done that, got the t-shirt and best seller titles to prove it. He knows the process from start to finish and also runs the Writers Workshop, helping new writers on their way to success; so he has the experience and knowledge to pass on.

Getting Published should be on every writers bookshelf as a reminder of the hard work that is needed to succeed.

For an honest approach to getting published, with a laugh along the way, this book is an absolute must.

So go on - treat yourself!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly informative and encouraging, 8 Oct 2010
By 
K. Hansen "K. Lee Hansen" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This book has taken me by surprise. With the current trends in publishing changing I thought that this would be frightening to read. Instead it's humourous, informative and honest. If you are serious about getting published you need to buy this book!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Budding Authors Start Here, 8 Oct 2010
I went through Getting Published from cover to cover and thought it read extremely well. It provides a huge amount of practical advice in an easily digestible form, but with some touches of humour, which I particularly like.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews