Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My son loves it
Great product for little explorers!
I ordered this for my 7 year old son. He made full use of all experiments mentioned in the instructions. Highly recommend it
Published 21 months ago by Bukhary

versus
72 of 75 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fun but could be better
My little boy and I had a lot of fun playing with this. The experiments are well explained with diagrams, and it is easy to invent many other games too.
My son is 5 and although the instructions say it is for 8-year-olds, younger children can enjoy it perfectly well provided they have adult help assembling and detaching the pieces. (And making sure they do not slap...
Published on 2 Nov 2011 by K Halifax


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

72 of 75 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fun but could be better, 2 Nov 2011
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 4M Kidz Labs Magnet Science (Toy)
My little boy and I had a lot of fun playing with this. The experiments are well explained with diagrams, and it is easy to invent many other games too.
My son is 5 and although the instructions say it is for 8-year-olds, younger children can enjoy it perfectly well provided they have adult help assembling and detaching the pieces. (And making sure they do not slap the magnet against the computer screeen or TV, for example).
I think it's reasonable for the price, though I wish everything were a bit bigger. It's one of those toys you open and find that more than three quarters of the box is empty. And the box is fairly small anyway. Several of the parts are absolutely tiny and if you lose one, you can't do half the games.
The magnets are good and strong though they do NOT work through the table, as the instructions claim, which means for one game you have to find a very big piece of cardboard instead.
The whole thing would seem like better quality if they provided proper storage inside the box for each part, or at least a ziplock bag so you can make sure teensy bits don't fall out of the corner of the box when you store it. Or as I said, just make the whole thing a bit bigger. There is a little piece of string you have to tie and untie repeatedly which soon becomes frayed and knotted: They could easily have put clips on each end to make it more robust. The horseshoe magnet takes a lot of force to assemble and dismantle.
I was charged 18 pounds for delivery (outside UK) which made the total I paid absolutely, definitely not worth the money. Considering it is small and feather light I don't know how they had the courage to set such a high price - I asuumed it would be a heavy toy. But if you get free UK delivery, I think it is worth a tenner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 22 Feb 2013
By 
Julie Brazier (Washington, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: 4M Kidz Labs Magnet Science (Toy)
This set could be so much better than it is. The pieces are small, cheap and plasticky and the little models that are suggested in the booklet are pretty laughable. The tiny piece of string included to make a "fishing line" is hardly long enough to even tie a knot in!

The red plastic cases around most of the disc-shaped magnets have parted company and come off already, and instead of providing a horse-shoe magnet, the creators of this set imagine one can be "made" by merely attaching two magnets to the end of a U-shaped piece of plastic. "Science" this is not.

Overall, there is a lot of fun learning to be had with magnets, but it is unlikely that any of it will be found in the instructions provided with this set. This set had a lot of potential for some proper "science" but once you examine the contents, a more realistic description would be "plasticky fun with magnets". And on that note, our 5-year-old son has enjoyed tinkering with the bits.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My son loves it, 24 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 4M Kidz Labs Magnet Science (Toy)
Great product for little explorers!
I ordered this for my 7 year old son. He made full use of all experiments mentioned in the instructions. Highly recommend it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great fun manget toy, 8 Nov 2011
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: 4M Kidz Labs Magnet Science (Toy)
Got this at an airport for our 5 year old, she had quite a lot of fun with it. Also her 8 year old cousin was busy for a hour or two with this one as well.

It could be a bit better made, not sure how long it will last. The magnets are not very strong, but then I guess they are worried about safety reasons.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars not what i expected, 2 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 4M Kidz Labs Magnet Science (Toy)
i bought this thinking i was going to get something great
the black pieces that you assemble to make some of the exercises is difficult to assemble and i am sure a child could not do this themselves,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars magnet game, 13 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 4M Kidz Labs Magnet Science (Toy)
My son is 8 amd loved playig with thism he is getting to the age where he doesn't play with 'toys' any more and this kept him (and me) entertained for ages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars lacks substance, 10 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 4M Kidz Labs Magnet Science (Toy)
one of those kits where the bits will going missing in a heart beat...
I wanted something more durable that demonstrated magnet science better
This kit did not include iron filings which is a major failing of the kit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Christmas gifts, 18 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 4M Kidz Labs Magnet Science (Toy)
I gather my grandson loved this and it has already been taken into school - was a good purchase and makes a change to get away from all those electronic toys
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars nice, 2 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 4M Kidz Labs Magnet Science (Toy)
bought for my 6yr old and he loves it its reletivly easy to assemble but little parts can be easily lost
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Weak magnets, no iron filings, 23 July 2014
By 
J. Jones "Jeff" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 4M Kidz Labs Magnet Science (Toy)
Ok product. A few bits of plastic and a few weak magnets, I think made it over priced. I was disappointed that there were no iron filings as they really illustrate the magnetic field. Would help if magnets were labeled north and south to aid understanding. Good to have a few experiments defined, but you could do better with some Lego and few proper magnets from a DIY shop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

4M Kidz Labs Magnet Science
10.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews