Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating and unusual projects.
I received this book recently and was delighted with it. In addition to the projects there are short sections on various aspects of Steampunk style every so often. These give fascinating insights into the Steampunk Movement and provide a background to the projects. The illustrations are very good and the instructions clear. If I have any reservations with the book it...
Published on 4 Jan. 2010 by sueshells

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars steampunk
this is a great introduction book on steampunk jewellery, The only few things i have a little proplem with is the mesurments are all american, And there isnt much male influence in the pices only a few bits, Other than that a great book to get you started
Published on 11 Oct. 2010 by nathan


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating and unusual projects., 4 Jan. 2010
By 
sueshells "sue" (Winslow, Buckingham, UK) - See all my reviews
I received this book recently and was delighted with it. In addition to the projects there are short sections on various aspects of Steampunk style every so often. These give fascinating insights into the Steampunk Movement and provide a background to the projects. The illustrations are very good and the instructions clear. If I have any reservations with the book it would be that the lists of materials are fairly lengthy - however I feel that the book should/could be used to get a feel for the style, the techniques and the materials and then readers can use whatever comes to hand to create similar items.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Steampunk Style, 24 April 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I already make and sell jewelry, and was looking to try out new techniques, which is why I got this book.

It is a well laid out book, and has good photos and instructions of the jewelry projects.
I think the great thing about the book is you can take the project ideas and adapt them; to make the item, detail for detail would be exhaustive as it would take some time to gather all of the bits and pieces needed- and then it wouldn't be as unique.
The book also has some info and history of the steampunk style culture.

Definitely a handy book to have if you like the steampunk style and want to create some great accessories to wear.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Steampunk with Style, 4 Mar. 2010
By 
This is a book definately worth getting if you like unusual items and want some ideas. The first of its kind on the market, it gives one all sorts of ways to utilise old mechanical parts and turn them into jewellery and accessories. I highly recommend it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars steampunk style jewellery, 6 July 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Some great ideas to start you designing , the title is a bit misleading as it covers more than just jewelery but still a good intro to the topic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars steampunk, 11 Oct. 2010
this is a great introduction book on steampunk jewellery, The only few things i have a little proplem with is the mesurments are all american, And there isnt much male influence in the pices only a few bits, Other than that a great book to get you started
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Very poor book, 22 Feb. 2011
By 
Very poor book. Too much talk and little action as we use to say.
This is a history book with some jewelry projects included.
If you are curious about steampunk history and influences, this is your book.
The few projects in the book are poor and the ready made parts used to do them are not easy to get
(this is if you can get them at all...).
Very disapointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very Instructive, 21 Aug. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very good ideas and many of them are easy, although I would have rather something that didnt have to much equipment.
Some ideas are to difficult but the vast mayority you can do them!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Steampunk style jewellery, 30 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a nice book with lots of good ideas. Unfortunately it is American and therefore uses different suppliers from us, so some of the components are not available here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful and interesting, 5 Dec. 2012
By 
R. Jenkinson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this for my boyfriend as he loves steampunk and makes a lot of jewellery, it is so interesting and the pieces are so beautiful, so glad i bought it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent !!, 19 Dec. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a present so I had a quick scan through it and it seems to be just right. It arrived 3 days ahead of schedule so top marks Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews