Customer Reviews


72 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BRILLIANT LED SECURITY LIGHT, Economical to run & Good Brightness for 10W
THE LIGHT - The LED light is unbelievable in brightness for a 10W electricity consuming unit. It is good enough to light up a 20x30 square meters area. we have it as a security light for the front of the house and it brightens the whole area. This acts as an add on security in addition to security camera.

COST TO RUN - It does not cost much to run overnight at...
Published on 7 Jan 2012 by Mercury

versus
13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Colour, Earth Connection, UNSAFE
The Unit Illustrated seems to be white, it's not. It's light grey.

The unit looks well put together on the surface of it, but then you open it up and it's a silly fail. The unit contains a power supply, this power supply is a double insulated unit made of plastic and does not have an earth connection. It does not need an earth connection because it's a double...
Published 6 months ago by R. Lowe


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Colour, Earth Connection, UNSAFE, 18 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: OXLUX® 10W SMD LED Floodlight Cool White - Ideal Replacement for Halogen
The Unit Illustrated seems to be white, it's not. It's light grey.

The unit looks well put together on the surface of it, but then you open it up and it's a silly fail. The unit contains a power supply, this power supply is a double insulated unit made of plastic and does not have an earth connection. It does not need an earth connection because it's a double insulated unit, it's safe. The power exiting the supply is 24v which is safe.

MASSIVE HOWEVER, the IET regulations are based on the assumption that anything could fail and the unit should be safe. This unit is not safe on that basis, IF the main power chord entering the metal housing were to wear on the case and the 240v live wire touch the metal case it would be dangerous. ALL metal electrical housings should be earthed, and this unit is not. In my unit the earth wire wasn't even attached, it was floating and touching the case. Totally unacceptable.

The casing and packaging also does not show a country of origin, which I believe is also illegal in the UK.

Whilst an electrically competent fitter who is made aware of the issues could fit this safely, it's NOT SUITABLE for your average user in my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dangerous unless simply Modified, 31 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: OXLUX® 10W SMD LED Floodlight Cool White - Ideal Replacement for Halogen
There are no CE markings or similar.
The lead is too short to be of use.
The EARTH lead on the wiring supplied is NOT CONNECTED TO ANYTHING when it arrives and there is no formal mounting point.
I have use my knowledge to make a good secure earth connection internally
THIS IS DANGEROUS if you do not make this modification.
Also, just enough room for a small connecting block inside to allow connection to sensible length lead. Should be present in the 1st place.
Cannot be bothered to return as the "fix" is simple. but why should I have to fix it in the first place?!
I will leave seller feedback accordingly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


96 of 105 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Fatal manufacturing problem - DO NOT BUY, 17 Oct 2012
By 
Lewis (Baldock, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: OXLUX® 10W SMD LED Floodlight Cool White - Ideal Replacement for Halogen
Your products are fatally flawed, someone can die, it is as basic as that.

I only found this flaw when I opened up the back of the lamp to replace the included flexible cable with a longer one.

If you open one up by undoing the screws on the back you will see that the earth lead is loose and on the wrong screw.

The screw is too long and cannot be tightened further meaning that the wire that protects the metal case from becoming live as a result of a fault is not connected properly.

This unacceptable connection makes very poor contact and therefore the resistance between the metal of the casing and the cpc conductor (the earth lead) is very high where it should be close to zero.

I have received 5 and they are all the same.

Unless one of your other customers actually opens the back up then they will not notice this fatal flaw in the manufacture.

Now as the body of the lamp is metal if an earth fault occurs then because there is no continuity to earth the circuit protective device will not function and anybody touching these lamps will get a fatal electric shock.

I used a Seaward PAT tester to test the continuity and also a Megger 1730.

All 5 lamps FAILED the PAT test.

I challenge you to open some up and look for yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Unsure about this......, 3 Feb 2013
By 
Ebuyer "Ian B" (Pewsey. UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: OXLUX® 10W SMD LED Floodlight Cool White - Ideal Replacement for Halogen
Firstly, I didn't see that this would be shipped from Kowloon, so it took a while to arrive. Not a problem for me but might be for you.

A lot smaller than I expected, but appears to be quite well made and robust. One of the other reviewers commented about the poor earth connection, so I took the back off to have a look. Mine has an earth lead with a connector on the end which wasn't even connected - and there's no earth post to attach it to. I eventually made (what is probably a very poor) connection onto the body by using one of the screws which holds the LED body in place. I'm not too bothered as the live and neutral wires are bonded into the LED driver so they would physically have to break to make a path to earth, and I can't ever anticipate touching this with the power on. Nevertheless, I made a physical disconnection possible when I fitted it just in case.

I think we have to realise that these imported items have no CE mark, and aren't approved for use in the EU, but they're cheap and you take your choice, Understanding the potential pitfalls are part of that choice but I'm actually surprised that Amazon sell them.

Anyway, it was what I expected and I'll probably get a few more. Difficult to say what kind of wattage they're equivalent to but this one has replaced an old 150w halogen lamp and it's good enough for our small patio - the 150w was probably way oversized in the first place.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BRILLIANT LED SECURITY LIGHT, Economical to run & Good Brightness for 10W, 7 Jan 2012
By 
Mercury (Lincoln, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: OXLUX® 10W SMD LED Floodlight Cool White - Ideal Replacement for Halogen
THE LIGHT - The LED light is unbelievable in brightness for a 10W electricity consuming unit. It is good enough to light up a 20x30 square meters area. we have it as a security light for the front of the house and it brightens the whole area. This acts as an add on security in addition to security camera.

COST TO RUN - It does not cost much to run overnight at 10W (very economical running cost especially if you have economy 7) as a security light. We have connected to a timer and it switches on from dusk to dawn. At 10p/kWh calculation, having it on for 12 hours per night, it should cost ONLY 36p to run for a whole month.

CONNECTION - You need an outside junction box if you are connecting it away from a roof or window area as the wire connected to the unit is only about 70cms. Alternatively you can take it through your roof/hole adjoining a window and connect it to an extension reel in the attic/house. You can then connect it via a timer if needed.

BUILD & MOUNT - Solid aluminum build, water proof. Easy to mount on wall like any other outdoor Halogen lamps and this unit is smaller and lighter.

COST - Fair Price at around £24 (will become cheaper over time). Worth the money if I write back to confirm in 2 years that it is still working

For our bigger backgarden we use a 20W LED version. LED Lights have moved on and are becoming better all the time including the Halogen light replacement.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Banish Halogens, invest in single LED lamps & save on electricity costs!, 21 Jan 2012
By 
J. Spennewyn "boxer lady" (cambridge, uk) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: OXLUX® 10W SMD LED Floodlight Cool White - Ideal Replacement for Halogen
As an early adopter of LED lighting I have purchased quite a few LED floodlights, this is good as it's a very utilitarian design, produced in great numbers in china therefore the only price difference is based on the LED which only gets marginally bigger as the wattage increases, so no hard work in terms of production ...

A solid metal casing is a pre-requisite as it acts as a heat sink (leds get warm & need air flow, not to be allowed to cook, so a single led is better than a cluster in terms of longevity).

I use a few of these as loft lights, in my larder (where light is more important than looks) & outside for general lighting by the garage, log store etc.

The advantage of colder light compared to "warm yellow light" is increased light output, so if you read any reviews where folk are moaning about cold white light it's because they really haven't a clue as to what they are buying & why!

whiter = brighter, & bright output is what most folk want in reality.

The Lumens output realistically is hard to equate & compare, however this would typically (give or take) be equivilent to roughly 700-800 lumens if the leds are strictly qc'ed & measured (known as BIN leds).

That means you'd get roughly 70w (at a guess) useful light spread over a 120 degree angle, ideal for proper illumination of front doors, steps, shed lighting, basic lighting for a stable or work table etc...

if not sure try looking for a 30-40w model which will offer superb throw of light.

If using outdoors remember to use appropriate connectors.

reminder: A single decent LED tends to be better than a cluster of lower wattage leds, however cost more as they are in less demand resulting in higher costs, as folk get to know more about leds this will change & we'll be more choosey!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Needs the earthing fixed, 6 July 2013
By 
M. Hodgson "mikeh" (Surrey, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: OXLUX® 10W SMD LED Floodlight Cool White - Ideal Replacement for Halogen
As others have pointed out, although this has a CPC (Circuit Protection Conductor - earth wire) in the (short) flex, it is not connected inside the light fitting, it just terminates in an eyelet which is loose and not electrically connected to the metalwork (this was the case on all 3 lamps I purchased). There are some screws that could make suitable earthing points, but they're 'glued' over. The sealing is also with silicone, rather than proper gaskets. Although the light works well and is a good price, it should not be (legally) sold in the UK.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Do not buy - potentially lethal, 14 Jan 2013
By 
P. Chadwick - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: OXLUX® 10W SMD LED Floodlight Cool White - Ideal Replacement for Halogen
The lights I got had no earth connection at all. They have a metal case, so this is potentially lethal. Also illegal to sell them.

They are claimed to be CE marked - clearly they aren't.

There seems to be 3-4 different variants, with different internal electronics. Some have just 2 wires in, some have 3 but with the earth wire not connected to anything, some have a connection to earth
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very pleased with this 10w floodlight, 20 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: OXLUX® 10W SMD LED Floodlight Cool White - Ideal Replacement for Halogen
So far so good. With regards to the feedback stating the earth lead is detached making the light a death trap, I ordered two 10W lights and have checked them for saftey. My chicken houses are metal framed and I didn't want us all lit up like Christmas trees. The lights delivered to me are protected.

There is one gripe and that is the power cables are disappointingly short 12" is and will need rewiring or extending thus four not five stars.

The light emitted from my 10W lights is impressive. It needs to be properly dark but they are more than adequate for the chicken runs. The light is a bit blue white but that said it is fine.

I will be ordering more to replace my KW filament floodlights. When you think I could run a 100 x 10w LEDs for the cost of 1 x 1kw floodlight they really come into their own.

Highly recommended for the purpose I bought them for anyway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good relacement for halogen, 24 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: OXLUX® 10W SMD LED Floodlight Cool White - Ideal Replacement for Halogen
I bought two of these to replace 150w halogen lamps. These are not as bright but fully adequate to light the driveway at the side of my house, with the benefit that there is less light overspill. The reduction in power consumption from 300w to 20w is remarkable and, as these are connected to a pre-existing motion/daylight sensor, I leave them activated all the time.

Mine are 'cool white' as described in the title though not in the specification, where it states 'warm white'. Cool white is more efficient, though possibly less pleasing in a garden setting.

I opened the junction box on the back and put a small block connector inside to connect with my existing wiring. The electronics module is an enclosed plastic module, with no earth connection, and the output from it to the lamp itself is low voltage, so I do not believe there is an electrical problem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews