Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars All in all not bad....
Bought this book as I decided to delve into the weird and wonderful world of tropical fish and all the information I kept getting from the local aquatic centres seemed to be confusing and contradictory.

For a beginner, its not a bad book at all. There is free information available on the internet but I wanted something I could refer to quickly and browse as and...
Published on 17 Dec 2008 by Mr. G. H. Akins

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars There are better alternatives
This book didn't quite live up to my expectations. Although all the information you might need was right there, the relative lack of pictures or diagrams actually made some of the topics quite difficult. This is perhaps a general trend in the "for Dummies" series, but when selecting your fish for a new aquarium, or diagnosing a disease, I reckon that "a picture speaks a...
Published on 23 Oct 2010 by Wimbledog


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars All in all not bad...., 17 Dec 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought this book as I decided to delve into the weird and wonderful world of tropical fish and all the information I kept getting from the local aquatic centres seemed to be confusing and contradictory.

For a beginner, its not a bad book at all. There is free information available on the internet but I wanted something I could refer to quickly and browse as and when I wanted to.

The contents cover everything you need to know but Im not convinced its laid out in the most logical of of order. However fishkeeping isnt an exact science so maybe thats why.

One word of warning....its written for our friends across the pond so many of the web sites suggestions are US based and irrelevant for the UK.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars There are better alternatives, 23 Oct 2010
By 
Wimbledog (London, England) - See all my reviews
This book didn't quite live up to my expectations. Although all the information you might need was right there, the relative lack of pictures or diagrams actually made some of the topics quite difficult. This is perhaps a general trend in the "for Dummies" series, but when selecting your fish for a new aquarium, or diagnosing a disease, I reckon that "a picture speaks a thousand words". After all, despite the technical knowledge required for fishkeeping, most people's excitement about starting a tank is choosing the colourful pets to go in it.

The do / don't sections are quite useful, and there's plenty of reading on chemistry and the nitrogen cycle. If you like a chatty style of writing rather than a simple encyclopaedia you'll like this book.

However, I much preferred The Perfect Aquarium: The Complete Guide to Setting Up and Maintaining an Aquarium for it's concise two-page spreads on particular topics, facts about each fish (e.g. what temperature they require), and practical walk-throughs for setting up a tank.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good start, 24 July 2009
This book is an excellent introduction to the world of freshwater aquariums. It's clear, well indexed and assumes you know nothing about the subject, thus makng it perfect for the begginer or novice.It covers everthing to start your aquarium from choosing stockists of equipment and fish to chemical composition of the water. The writing style is easy on the brain and quite amusing, whilst flagging the serious stuff you need to know.I really enjoy reading it !!
Only a harsh 4 stars , because it is quite american (the websites given are all for the U.S) and I would have preferred more speicies info and compatability, but, I suppose that's a whole new book.
In conclusion, if you are new to the subject, buy this book and get friendly with a couple of Aquarium stores to give you speicies guidance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bit too simple, 27 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought this book as I am relatively new to keeping fish. I wanted to know more about filters/water problems etc. Whilst the book does address these issues I wished for a little more depth.

To be honest if you have access to the internet you will find a lot more information on forum sites and a lot easier as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A must for all fish lovers of differnet levels of experience, 4 Oct 2010
By 
Mr. Wesley H. Winegarden "WH Winegarden" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My daughter wanted some fish for her birthday, and even though I kept fish as a teenager I wanted to ensure we got off to a good start with her new hobby, so we purchased this essential book.

The language used in the book is easy to understand, and the step by step instructions on all aspects of fish keeping, from the tank set-up to the purchasing of fish is easy to understand. There is also loads of useful information on topics such as keeping your fish healthy, adding plants to the aquarium and even breeding your fish.

Overall this is a very handy and easy to read guide to all aspects of fish-keeping as a hobby.

The only thing that kept if from receiving five stars is the lack of metric measurements. Most fish products in England are now sold using metric.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very handy for reference, 31 Dec 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is great for starting out and as a quick reference. Lets face it, everything you ever need to know is on the internet but sometimes there are just too many conflicting opinions. This I have found out to my detriment and killed a few fish in the process.

the book is geared towards the American market but if you know how to search in Google etc you will not have a problem fingding the products it recommends here in the UK.

Only downside is I would like to see it have a more comprehensive range of species and their compatibility with each other, Otherwise it's a perfectly decent book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars As new, 24 April 2014
By 
Mb Frier "JC Frier" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Book as new. Full of information to set up and maintain a tank . Would recommend to a novice getting into the hobby
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Freshwater Aquariums For Dummies, 23 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Freshwater Aquariums For Dummies (Kindle Edition)
just what you expect from the dummies series a good basic book on starting up an aquarium but it lacks info on European filter systems
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 30 Nov 2013
Perfect for beginners. Has good information inside and very detailed. I would recommend for people wanting to expand there knowledge and also buy before you attempt and aquarium.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fishkeeping, 18 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought it for my 8 year old Grandson, he loves it but be warned, he has turned into a fish keeping bore.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Freshwater Aquariums For Dummies
£9.26
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews