Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An compelling view in to the mind of a master
Morihei Ueshiba, the founder of aikido, was in my view one of the greatest martial artists of all time. Although being a man of peace, he fully understood where and when force must be used, and even as an old man of 81 he could take on almost any number of opponents, defeat them, but leave them unharmed.
He was a man totally in control of his life and destiny and...
Published on 8 Sep 2003

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars worth a read
but not worth a buy unless youre an intense student of either the martial arts or philosophy.... im sure it has its place and use for some people, but it offers very little in the way of actual advice, it is at best a collection of esoteric musings
Published 15 months ago by lee


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An compelling view in to the mind of a master, 8 Sep 2003
By A Customer
Morihei Ueshiba, the founder of aikido, was in my view one of the greatest martial artists of all time. Although being a man of peace, he fully understood where and when force must be used, and even as an old man of 81 he could take on almost any number of opponents, defeat them, but leave them unharmed.
He was a man totally in control of his life and destiny and this book is full of quotes and short poems that he based his life upon. Instead of teaching you how to deliver fast and deadly kicks, Morihei Ueshiba believed that if you trained enough, were confident in yourself, and were in tune with your suroundings, then you can take on anybody.
This is a book for anybody, you do not have to practice aikido, or any style of martial art for that matter, it is a book explaining Morihei Ueshiba goverend his life and how he believed everybody should live theirs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great man explains why we should choose peace, 20 May 1998
By A Customer
In this little book, the founder of one of the world's most effective martial arts, Aikido, explains the philosophy that led him to take the brutal bone-crunching techniques of juijitsu, the head slicing strokes of Yagyu ryu kenjutsu, and other deadly arts and transform them into gentle, nonviolent ways of resolving conflict. A very worthwhile read. I guarantee you'll learn something.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent little book., 13 Jun 1999
By A Customer
Short sayings by Morei Ueshiba. A perfect book for looking up the quote of the day. Very useful for friendly warriors and all kinds of peace-makers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful and inspiring, 7 July 2009
By 
This book, much like the Tao Teh Ching offers a brief, poetic and profound verse on each page to be meditated on. In times of confusion and doubt, this book has proven to be a source of inspiration and encouragement for me. You don't need to be a student of Aikido or the martial arts at all to gain from this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic book!, 28 Dec 2008
this book is brilliant!
little chunks of writing interspersed with Ueshiba's poetry and calligraphy, it is a lovely book to dip in to every now and then. His way of writing is beautiful and full of wisdom. This book is suitable for everybody, not just martial artists.
like i said at the start really, it's brilliant. Buy it! you won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars worth a read, 11 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
but not worth a buy unless youre an intense student of either the martial arts or philosophy.... im sure it has its place and use for some people, but it offers very little in the way of actual advice, it is at best a collection of esoteric musings
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars live by the principles, 10 Feb 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
for me to do aikido is not just about wrist locks throws or circular movement its living by the universal principles that O'SENSEI talks about in the Art of peace . if you dont follow these principles or think they are the rantings of a old man then you dont follow aikido . the martial artists equivalent to the Dharmapada .
if you feel angry or can see your ego getting the better of you look up the ART OF PEACE and from one short quotation you will remember that a true warrior is one who is in control of themself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Art of Peace, 26 July 2009
By 
Spider Monkey (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
`The Art of Peace' is a collection of quotes from the founder of Aikido, Morihei Ueshiba. This book is often portrayed as an accompaniment to Sun Tzu's `Art of War' but that isn't really the case and there is so much more to this book than merely that misrepresentation. This has a wide selection of quotes and poems from Ueshiba based on his martial art and from his experiences gained through a lifetime of training. They are often succinct and extremely insightful and this book is perfect to dip into for that quick burst of inspiration when you need it most. Be aware that there are two versions of this book, a normal sized book format and a small pocket sized format (3 inches wide by 4 long). I thought I was ordering the normal size and received the pocket size instead and although I now often carry this around with me, it pays to be aware what book you're ordering so that you receive what you actually expect. This also has a brief introduction to put the quotes into context before you are left to explore the gems of wisdom enclosed. If you are an Aikidoka then this is required reading and if you just want some clear, concise and pertinent wisdom then this is well worth considering as well.

Feel free to check out my blog which can be found on my profile page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Achieving peace from all quarters of life - Good read, 3 July 2014
Good to read a book that provides a philosophical angle on achieving peace from all quarters of life, i loved the references to dealing with martial arts attack scenarios although i believe these are definitely more suited to high level practitioners who have obtained a a state of naturalness within their art. The short quotes made for a quick read and i would have given it 5 stars if it offered further advice on stopping violence before it starts i.e. conflict management & communication strategies for dealing with bad situations that may occur. On the whole it showed the true tenents of Aikido and was a pleasure to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a revelation, 16 Mar 2014
This review is from: The Art of Peace (Shambhala Classics) (Kindle Edition)
buy it. read it. apply it. spread it. teach it. learn it. practice it. practise it. reinvent it. go back to it. read it again. write a review of it like this one. write a review of it unlike this one. peace.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Art of Peace (Shambhala Classics)
5.22
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews