Customer Reviews


149 Reviews
5 star:
 (51)
4 star:
 (55)
3 star:
 (29)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


35 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Money Men...More Exciting than one thought
George Wier's "The Last Call" is the first book in a great new series. Bill Travis is an investment counselor; the go to guy when you have a little extra money that you need to invest but invest in a way that is legal but hidden from Uncle Sam's extended hands. On a Monday morning he meets his newest client Julie. She needs his help to retrieve some money from a very bad...
Published on 14 Dec 2011 by D. Everetti

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 3.5 stars - ok after first chapter
I give this 3.5 stars as not quite worth 4. Try and get past the prologue of an 80 year old skeleton in a "cellar" (which
was explained eventually) and the first chapter (unnecessary), where Bill races his car in traffic against a pretty female.

I almost didn't bother after that, but glad I did. The female, Julie, later turns up at Bill's office to ask...
Published 9 months ago by Mrs. Bruce


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

35 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Money Men...More Exciting than one thought, 14 Dec 2011
This review is from: The Last Call (The Bill Travis Mysteries Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
George Wier's "The Last Call" is the first book in a great new series. Bill Travis is an investment counselor; the go to guy when you have a little extra money that you need to invest but invest in a way that is legal but hidden from Uncle Sam's extended hands. On a Monday morning he meets his newest client Julie. She needs his help to retrieve some money from a very bad man. Bill agrees to help this damsel in distress and by agreeing, he finds himself on one thrilling but deadly ride of the week. Who would have thought managing money could be so exciting?

This is the beginning of a thrilling and exciting new series. If you want one of those books that keep you up late at night turning pages than this is the series for you. Pick up your copy today and you won't be disappointed...you just might miss a little sleep though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great mystery novel with excellent characters, 15 Aug 2012
By 
This review is from: The Last Call (The Bill Travis Mysteries Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Tuesday, August 14, 2012The Last Call by George Wier

The Last Call, book one in the Bill Travis Mystery series is an interesting take on the classic hardboiled detective action tale. Author George Wier has created a cast of characters who immediately draw you in, and from page one you care about their problems.

The hero, investment-advisor Bill Travis, is having a mid-life crisis. We never really find out exactly what area of investment consulting Bill works in, other than it is for extremely sensitive clients who need help with investing large amounts of cash and property just short of money laundering; keeping good people out of bad trouble. In the course of his work he's made many friends, a lot of of whom owe Bill some rather large favors.

On the day this tale begins, we find Bill in in traffic on his way to the office. As he is negotiating the rush-hour traffic, he finds himself playing tag with an attractive blonde. She wins. cutting him off and making a fine start to his Monday.

Lo and behold, his first appointment of the day is the blonde from the traffic-jam; her name is Julie Simmons and she is in trouble. She has crossed a bad man, a north-Texas liquor baron, named Archie Carpin and has taken a VERY large sum of money from him and hidden it. She turns to Bill for help; he tells her he doesn't deal with stolen money. Still, he finds himself involved both physically and emotionally and the next thing he knows, he is trying to help her get her mess straightened out.

Bill turns to Hank, an old client and a friend who has a passing love of explosives. Hank has a friend, Dock (with a k) who also gets involved. Somehow, Julie forgets to mention that two of Carpin's henchmen, Lefty and Carl are following them until they are outside Dock's house. After the shooting is over and Lefty and Carl have been driven off, the three men find themselves hiding Julie. During the course of their adventures they rescue an 8 year old girl, Keesha and find her a good home.

The action is non-stop, keeping you turning the pages to see what is going to happen next. Several times the truth is both revealed and hidden in the nightmares Bill suffers from. Not everyone survives the action in this thriller. When one of the characters died, I found tears in my eyes. Julie is a cypher - you don't really know what to make of her until the end. Nothing is predictable, and yet nothing is random. The plot makes complete and perfect sense, and the story, as it unfolds, is a piece of Texas history, with a certain amount of license taken in regard to the truth.

I will definitely be reading the next book in the Bill Travis Series, Capitol Offense. George Wier is the author of 14 books and has several more currently in the works. With The Last Call as my introduction to his work, he has become one of my favorite authors!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well written mystery novel, 21 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last Call (The Bill Travis Mysteries Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Well written, fast-pacing, with characters alive and intriguing. The story unfolds fast and keeps your attention. Nice read for a lazy afternoon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 3.5 stars - ok after first chapter, 22 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last Call (The Bill Travis Mysteries Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I give this 3.5 stars as not quite worth 4. Try and get past the prologue of an 80 year old skeleton in a "cellar" (which
was explained eventually) and the first chapter (unnecessary), where Bill races his car in traffic against a pretty female.

I almost didn't bother after that, but glad I did. The female, Julie, later turns up at Bill's office to ask for help.
I never did understand exactly what Bill did about people's money problems as he always protested it wasn't "money laundering".

Anyway, Julie has stolen 2 million dollars from a mafia-type Texan. She and Bill fast become lovers and go on the run
together from the criminal's henchmen. As the man wanted his money back, I couldn't understand why his men kept trying to
kill Julie - hence not 4 stars.

A gun toting friend agrees to help Bill and Julie and from then on the action and pace increase. However, Bill knows that
Julie is holding a lot of information back - which always annoys me - though I suppose it makes the story! So can he trust her?

The skeleton in the prologue is traced back to an 80 year old mystery, and the end of the book is explosive.
I would probably read this book again some time, and the next in the series. There were no graphic sex scenes and not much
bad language.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Paced Thriller, 22 Jan 2014
By 
The Grey Badger (Norfolk, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last Call (The Bill Travis Mysteries Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
FIrst time I have read a book by this author. I found it fast moving, interesting and it created an on going story that was believable. I thoroughly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Refreshingly different action thriller, 10 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last Call (The Bill Travis Mysteries Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Bill Travis is an intriguing character who is a partner in a firm that purports to advise clients on their financial investments. However, he is more than a little cagey about what he actually does or how he really earns his money. When his partner refers a beautiful young woman to him, he is immediately smitten and is rapidly drawn into a web of intrigue and danger. This book has everything you could want in an action thriller. Vividly drawn characters both likeable and sinister, a good mix of sex and danger, fascinating factual historical detail and a lively, colourful background to a fast moving storyline. The action scenes are brilliantly told, combining just the right amount of vulnerability, pain, fear, courage and commitment to ensure that Bill is someone the reader desperately wants to succeed. This is a great first novel in a series that also certainly deserves to succeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun, 2 Mar 2014
By 
Aurora (Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last Call (The Bill Travis Mysteries Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
The title suggests that this is going to be part of a series of books about Bill Travis, it will be interesting to see how that develops given that it is an unusual premise. The protagonist is neither a police officer nor a private detective, instead he is an investment counsellor, more used to finding the best places for people to place any extra cash they may have at their disposal. When he gets into his office on a quiet Monday morning his partner has requested that Bill take his first appointment of the morning. Monday is soon anything but quiet.
Drawn into a life on the run from desperate, and slightly incompetent would be hitmen, he finds life shrinks down to the need to survive with a woman who has upset someone she REALLY shouldn't have upset in tow. Fortunately Bill has the right contacts, who also have the right contacts which make his life a little easier, which is just as well, because the woman, Julie, isn't making life any easier. That is mostly because of what she has done, but also because of the things she isn't telling them.
This is a fast paced story of survival of the smartest rather than of the fittest. Despite the odds being stacked against them, the motley crew which have come together to try to extract Julie alive from the situation she has got herself into, find time to show compassion where it is needed and sort out other people's troubles. Not all of them are going to survive, but who will and who won't?
I actually found this book quite fun and enjoyed reading it. I will be intrigued to see what Bill Travis gets caught up in next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent start to the series., 28 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last Call (The Bill Travis Mysteries Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
This is an excellent start to the series that kept me gripped from beginning to end.
On the one hand, a high speed action story filled with excitement and explosives, and on the other hand an intriguing mystery; all of the ingredients cleverly woven together. Bill Travis is a relateable protagonist, despite the craziness that ensues from his mid-life crisis and his badly chosen company, and the great pacing will leave you breathless. I highly recommend this to those who love action or a great mystery, and let's face it, who doesn't?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting plotline, 25 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last Call (The Bill Travis Mysteries Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I liked this story, although truthfully there were times I could quite cheerfully have wrung the heroine's (Julie) neck. She was unbelievably infuriating at times and I have no idea why poor old Bill put up with her. The storyline was interesting, plenty of twists and turns and quite a few side stories which were really just touched on and not fully explored - might have been more interesting for the reader to have delved more into some of the side stories and explored more of the lives of some of the secondary characters (of which there were quite a few) and had a few less characters/side stories. However, an interesting enough read and definitely different from the usual boy meets girl, big misunderstanding followed by breakup, HEA scenario.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Couldn`t Hold My Interest., 20 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last Call (The Bill Travis Mysteries Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I had high hopes for this book after reading some of the positive Amazon contributors` reviews. Sorry, but I personally found it rather poor and clichéd; in fact after the first 3 chapters, I gave up reading it. (Sorry if it suddenly became a masterpiece from chapter 4 onwards!) . The basic fault was that our `hero`, Bill Travis, just didn`t hold my interest and so I couldn`t really be bothered to find out what happened to him and the woman Julie. As I say, this is just a personal opinion, so I hope you like it better!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews