Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An online security solution for business
A business-oriented version of their Internet Security Suite, it supports Windows systems only. If your network is a mixed one, using Mac or Linux as well as Windows workstations, only those running Windows are covered. Kaspersky offer Mac solutions and have supported Linux in a small way for several years.

The Management Centre is the core of the program and...
Published on 21 Jun 2011 by Andy_atGC

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good , it works, but abysmal customer service
Installed this on 5 PCs in my company, works OK, I had a query I sent to Kaspersky regarding accessing a shared drive, I received a message saying it would be dealt with, however 2 weeks later nothing in spite of reminders and a warning I would post an unfavourable review. Its a shame as I have used their products for years and never had to contact them. This lack of...
Published 19 months ago by evermike


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An online security solution for business, 21 Jun 2011
By 
Andy_atGC (London UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Kaspersky Small Office Security v2 Starter Kit, 5 Users, 1 Server, 1 year licence (PC) (CD-ROM)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
A business-oriented version of their Internet Security Suite, it supports Windows systems only. If your network is a mixed one, using Mac or Linux as well as Windows workstations, only those running Windows are covered. Kaspersky offer Mac solutions and have supported Linux in a small way for several years.

The Management Centre is the core of the program and is the means of entry to all of its tools and areas of control. However, Kaspersky has its proponents and devotees, rightly so! No product of this type can be guaranteed to reliably detect every virus, trojan, backdoor etc, each and every time. Some are better than most. Worse still is the insistence by some that non-infected files are infected and something is consequently broken by changes such 'solutions' make to a system. These are known as false positives and Kaspersky products are far less prone to these than many often-used alternative solutions that claim higher rates of successful positive identifications. Experience enables these to be identified and they are many.

Kaspersky has a higher user-satisfaction level than competitors and if you need to protect a server and up to 5 workstations, this could be the answer. In this configuration, it is rather expensive if compared to the £45-50 normally asked for a 3-PC alternative.

Because of its features and the equipment it serves, a good working manual would be essential as there are many 'bells and whistles' especially in firewall configuration that are virtually impossible without (a) the knowledge and information or (b) a professional network person to perform that task.

Documentation can be downloaded from the company's web site, but it does not offer quite all the answers to all the questions that are likely to need answers. Nevertheless, this is probably the best available solution.

UPDATE @ 7-2012

After many months of use, close to the expiry of the 1-year licence, it announced that one of Windows' files was trojan-infected. It can happen!

After instructing Kaspersky to quarantine the file one one occasion a few days ago, I have since seen the same warning several times more and each time it ha been quarantined. After each time, I have needed to restart the system and have, only to again be presented with the same warning. As this application is close to expiration, I decided to install another Kaspersky product, that which I have used for some years, namely its Internet Security but Small Office declined to uninstall. I discovered that it needs the original installation disk to be in a DVD bay for it to work! If you bought the product as a download, you may have a problem!

Furthermore, I have monitored the progress of minor updates for the various A-V packages offered. Although there have been several for the more mainstream KAV and KIS, Small Office is the same version now as it was a year ago! As all the products share what is in effect the identical engine, although it may be differently tweaked between packages, it is strange that this has not. Kaspersky may have an explanation but they have not disclosed one. In the event that there is a Version 3 (major version updates are generally released towards the end of the third quarter of each year), future purchasers may need to take note in the event that anomaly this continues.

After uninstalling the package, despite some days remaining on its licence, and reverting to Kaspersky Internet Security 2012, I have been forced to revise my rating downwards. KIS has re-scanned my system - previously scanned weekly with Small Office Security Suite and usually declared to be clean - as should be performed when installed any AV product and found a significant number of Trojans and other issues, some almost dating back to when SOSS was first installed. I held some minor concerns about SOSS in that it was my impression that it may have been less thorough than KIS. I suspected that certain files were likely to be infected in some way, but not according to SOSS. KIS has now found what I had always suspected!

There are elements of SOSS that may be better suited to a business environment more than the home user-intended KAV and KIS. However, I now believe the AV scanner to be down-tuned and a little more tolerant. If that is what you need, and in business, it probably will be, it will do the job well. I used it as an extended test within Amazon's Vine programme.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Solid, quiet workhorse, 13 July 2011
By 
the lambanana "the lambanana" (liverpool) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Kaspersky Small Office Security v2 Starter Kit, 5 Users, 1 Server, 1 year licence (PC) (CD-ROM)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
In office environment, there are some essentials in respect of security software: It needs to be unobtrusive and it needs to work 100% of the time.

The beauty of Kaspersky is it even scans for unknown viruses and malware that haven't been designed yet. And it updates automatically every three hours (although settings can be more frequent).

That protection would be useless if it made the network grind slowly or prevented staff from their work getting done. This is where I like this software. With others like Norton you can feel when it's updating or scanning as the PC goes slowly whereas Kaspersky performs intensive but critical tasks only when the computer isn't being used.

Kaspersky scans both file systems and internet use. It is reasonably user friendly and doesn't require an IT department to configure it or install it.

Simply lets you get on with work rather than slow you down.

Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great complete package., 16 April 2013
This review is from: Kaspersky Small Office Security v2 Starter Kit, 5 Users, 1 Server, 1 year licence (PC) (CD-ROM)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I've always been a massive Kaspersky fan for all of my systems - I find they have the least impact on the performance and the least intrusive regarding pop-up messages and updates.

It has definitely not failed to let me down again. I personally think it is good value for money for what it does. It can protect up to 5 computers on your network so great for a small business and as admin you can set various limitations to what your employees can access and also monitor their usage and what sites they visit - great for making sure they're doing what they're supposed to be doing and not updating their Twitter and Facebook accounts!!

I found this relatively simple to use though I recommend downloading the manual - it isn't for the complete PC beginner unlike some other programs. Once the initial set up is doen and it is up and running I found the speed was fine and best of all it doesn't interrupt constantly - it can be over cautious sometimes blocking files you are intentionally opening but you can stop this and change settings.

Excellent piece of software - a joy to use. Kaspersky won't let you down!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great for a small office but not a Linux server, 12 Mar 2012
This review is from: Kaspersky Small Office Security v2 Starter Kit, 5 Users, 1 Server, 1 year licence (PC) (CD-ROM)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I have used Kaspersky software for over a decade.

I have always found it has a very low impact on my computers. Other anti-virus software I have tried, had a much greater impact on speed.

This version has been installed on three PCs and two laptops. My server runs Linux and it is not compatible.

Once the installation was completed I just used the defaults, and told everyone just ignore it and it does the job!

Pity about the server though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good all round performer, can be slow, 18 Jan 2012
By 
R. Stevens (Woking) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Kaspersky Small Office Security v2 Starter Kit, 5 Users, 1 Server, 1 year licence (PC) (CD-ROM)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I used to be quite a fan of Kaspersky's anti-virus software, but I'm not quite as enthusiastic as I used to be. There are two main reasons for my change in heart.

The first concerns something that can quickly annoy with security software and where Kaspersky used to perform well; system performance. There was a time when you would never have guessed that Kaspersky was running on your PC, it was that discreet. However, since I installed this version of Small Office Security it is very evident that it is running, with frequent slow downs and pauses while Kaspersky sniffs around your applications, file system and online activity. OK, some would say that this is the price you pay for keeping your files protected, but these frequent pauses are frustrating, all the more so because they didn't use to be there.

The second problem I have encountered is an increase in false positives. If by bad luck you install a program that runs a fairly common form of script, Kaspersky will identify it as a virus and do its damndest to delete it. It doesn't ask - it just deletes. If you spent a half hour or more downloading said application this is pretty annoying, especially as it is only "suspect activity" that triggers this behaviour, not a positive ID of a virus. You can, of course, disable this feature, but then you run the risk of something real getting through. At first this can also seem pretty alarming and send you into a 1-2 hours full system scan, meaning more lost time.

Aside from these niggles, the Small Office Security package is, at the end of the day, a pretty good product. The user interface shows real progress compared to Kasperskys of old, though you still need to do more digging than you should to find all the features you want to change. It is far prettier and friendlier than past versions and is much more accessible for novices, but it is still far from being truly intuitive. You do need to know your stuff to get the best/everything you need out of it.

As for managing a small office, provided your requirements are straightforward the management software can be too. Running tasks via remote can make that slow down issue rear its head that little higher, but it does make life easier than going from desk to desk kicking people off their workstations. On the plus side the package is complete, covering all the bases and providing a simple administrative interface (for example, you can block websites by category, rather than typing in port IDs and long lists of URLs, which is a nice feature).

Unlike Norton and McAffee, both of which have ruined their chances with me for life, I'm still happy to use Kaspersky's products and see no real reason not to recommend this one. It features everything you need for a small office and presents it pretty well, if only it would run that little bit faster...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More range, please, in a business solution, 28 July 2011
By 
Seren Ade (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Kaspersky Small Office Security v2 Starter Kit, 5 Users, 1 Server, 1 year licence (PC) (CD-ROM)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I've been extremely impressed by the efficacy of Kaspersky solutions when providing Internet security for a couple of personal computers: Kaspersky Pure on my friend's laptop and the Mac version of Kaspersky Internet Security 2011 on my iMac.

I'm less impressed by the brand's small business solutions, offered in a variety of packages:

5 users
5 users + 1 server
10 users

Unfortunately, particularly when compared to the Mac release, these seem less-than user-friendly. Compared to the single license RRP, the 5 user + server package represents a significant saving (at least, if you're purchasing shortly after the software as been released) BUT only if 4+ network users are operating on Windows-based systems.

I don't really see any good reason for Kaspersky not to support Macs as well on these multi-user licenses: if you buy the Mac license for Kaspersky 2011, you receive a bonus Windows copy (presumably intended to placate Bootcamp users). So why not a multi-OS solution for small business?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Keeping your small office (or home) secure, 25 July 2011
By 
Peter (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Kaspersky Small Office Security v2 Starter Kit, 5 Users, 1 Server, 1 year licence (PC) (CD-ROM)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Although this product is intended mainly for small businesses, I use it at home. Each of the members of my family have a computer, but they're not at all good at looking after them. With this package, I can not only ensure that everyones' virus definitions are up-to-date, I can also run virus and vulnerability scans, and see if any viruses were detected on any or all of my family's computers. And I can control web access (what content is allowed, what is blocked, and when access is allowed). Most importantly, I can do all this without leaving my own desk, because I can manage the other computers from mine.

When you set SMall Office Security up, you need to install it on each computer, and you need to set up any backup jobs on each computer locally. Once you've done that, you can hand all the computers over to their users, safe in the knowledge that you can manage all aspects of security for your little network from your own computer.

Incidentally, I thought that the "5 computers plus one server" license meant it would work with any sort of fileserver, but in fact, it only works with Microsoft Small Business 2011 or Server 2008 R2. I don't have either of those products, so I'm wasting that part of the license.

You can control internet access per user on each computer. You can (for example) limit the total amount of web-browsing time per day, or you can limit access to certain times. You can also block websites based on a whole range of criteria, depending on what you find acceptable. You can allow some instant-messaging and social networking sites and block others - it's almost infinitely configurable. And you can copy settings from one user to another.

Small Office Security has a few handy tools, the best of which is the password manager. This stores all your passwords securely behind one master password, and it automatically completes most web logins.

Unfortunately, you need to buy a subscription renewal every year if you want continued antivirus protection. The program does noticeably slow down older computers, and it does pop up little reminders if your virus definitions are out-of-date or if the subscription needs renewing. If you're in an environment where there are several computers, and only one person looking after security, then this is a very handy product to make security easier to manage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have Security Package for Small Businesses !, 7 July 2011
By 
I. Mcintosh "Ian Mc" (Great Yarmouth, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Kaspersky Small Office Security v2 Starter Kit, 5 Users, 1 Server, 1 year licence (PC) (CD-ROM)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
First of all .. Internet Security within the office is a must have !

If you have a small business running 5 client Computers (or less) plus 1 x server on your network then this is an excellent security solution by Kaspersky - Note this is Windows only.

Kaspersky Small Office Security will run on:

Windows Server 3003 or 2008
Client Computers running Windows 7, Windows Vista and Windows XP

Kaspersky has a very user friendly interface and gives you the ability to centrally manage your security including updates.

I like the fact it gives you the ability to block users from accessing Social Media Websites, like Facebook, Twitter. Kaspersky also detects and blocks Proxy's - which is when users accesses sites like facebook via a different website, known as a proxy server. For example a user will go to a proxy website (say it was called [...]) and this website then allows them to connect on to Facebook from within the website leaving no trace they were on Social Media Sites. You might think its easier to just block the proxy sites, but trust me there are millions of them ! Much easier to just enable the blocking via the Kaspersky interface.

If however you have no issue with users accessing Social Media in their own time, Kaspersky allows you to control access to websites by certain times - i.e Lunchtime, before work, after work.

All in all I found it very quick and easy to install. It has a very pleasing interface but also the ability to get under the hood and really secure your network should you ever feel the need. A must have Security Package for Small Businesses !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply The Best, 27 Jun 2011
By 
AndyBSG "A. Graham" (Essex, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Kaspersky Small Office Security v2 Starter Kit, 5 Users, 1 Server, 1 year licence (PC) (CD-ROM)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I've tried pretty much all the big AV packages out there from Norton and Mcafee to Trend and AVG, and every year new versions come out promising the earth and failing to deliver... Apart from Kaspersky who show time and time again how a decent AV package should be done.

While i'm not using this software to run a small business, I am using it to run a game server that I host and 3 home PC's and this really is making things for me a lot easier, especially when it comes to controlling which sites my kids can and can't access.

Blocking and unblocking sites is very simple using the policies management tool and allows you to do it all centrally as well as scheduling data backups, preventing users from downloading files, block MSN and other basic precautions. All of these can be done very easily and don't require you to be a qualified PC technician to implement.

Despite being nice and simple for the basic user, there's plenty of functionality for those who know what they're doing and want to really customise their AV solution. Some of these settings can cause you problems if you don't understand them fully and the documentation is sometimes a bit lacking but that is a small drawback for such a great product.

When it comes to a decent AV package there really is no need to look anywhere else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Small Business great start, 26 Jun 2011
By 
Gareth Wilson - Falcata Times Blog "Falcata T... - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Kaspersky Small Office Security v2 Starter Kit, 5 Users, 1 Server, 1 year licence (PC) (CD-ROM)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
With the internet being such an essential tool these days, trying to make sure that your service is available as long as possible is the best thing and as they say a pre-emptive strike is the best solution to many problems. What KSOS2 does for the user is give them a real helping hand in making sure that the office is secure.

It's easy to use, it has a wonderfully simplistic interface and allows the main person the chance to block websites as well as helping to protect the office machines in one easy package. Add to this easy access for documentation alongside updates from the Kapersky and its a package that keeps on giving.

The only drawback to this is that it only protects PC's Running Windows so if you have other machines such as Mac's in the office, this may not be the best product for you.

All in, whilst pricey it is one of the best on the market and when you throw in the free 20 day download from Kapersky to see if its right for you, its a great item. Finally add to this a discount from Amazon if you purchase the full version after your trial and its a winner all round. Great stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Kaspersky Small Office Security v2 Starter Kit, 5 Users, 1 Server, 1 year licence (PC)
Used & New from: £99.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews