Customer Reviews


137 Reviews
5 star:
 (67)
4 star:
 (52)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


62 of 66 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable, interesting - and not too predictable!
You know what it's like: you've a train journey ahead and nothing to read. So you buy something in a rush at the station, cross your fingers and hope for the best. Well,this time it worked out all right for me. Cathy Kelly has written a realistic account of family life, based around a couple and their three grown-up children: a single mum, a newly-wed script writer and...
Published on 5 Aug. 2003

versus
15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A big let down
This book was a huge disappointment. The trials and tribulations of Rose Miller and her three daughters, Stella, Tara and Holly, just failed to grip me.
Rose is struggling to cope with the knowledge of her husband's infidelity, while Stella's new partner's daughter Jenna does her best to ruin their relationship, Tara's husband is drinking heavily, and Holly tries to...
Published on 7 Dec. 2002


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

62 of 66 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable, interesting - and not too predictable!, 5 Aug. 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Just Between Us (Paperback)
You know what it's like: you've a train journey ahead and nothing to read. So you buy something in a rush at the station, cross your fingers and hope for the best. Well,this time it worked out all right for me. Cathy Kelly has written a realistic account of family life, based around a couple and their three grown-up children: a single mum, a newly-wed script writer and "the shy one" (the youngest daughter). Although I wouldn't say that it's the best of the best (hence 4 stars rather than 5) this book is well-written, sufficiently multi-layered so that it is entertaining, yet not completely predictable. Then again, it has a happy ending, which is a bit predictable, but I think in this genre one expects a happy ending. The book deals with adultery, which is not particularly original, and the reactions of the characters are (in my opinion) a bit simplistic, but overall it is a fine, realistic portrayal. Additionally, one gets to like all the characters (especially the adorable grandaughter)so a happy ending is welcome.
All in all, a good, happy & uplifting summe read. Doesn't promise anything it doesn't deliver. I will probably be reading more books by Kelly if I can find them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Like a chat with an old friend, 23 Oct. 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Just Between Us (Paperback)
Just Between Us is a warm, uplifting and enjoyable novel that is perfect for reading by the fire on a cold winter night.
Cathy Kelly has a way of writing novels that we can all relate to. Her characters and real and vibrant and their stories are wonderfully entertaining. Sitting down with Just Between Us will not disappoint anyone who wants a light read, but wants to feel as if you are simply listening in to a conversation between your oldest and dearest friends.
The book centres around the Millers sisters, Stella, Tara and Holly and their mother Rose. Each has a secret the others no nothing about, and despite being a warm and loving family they have to make their way through life's problems on their own.
In particular I identified with Holly who had no confidence in herself but the other characters were warm and wonderfully crafted that I could see something of myself in all of them.
I recommend this book to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lovely read....a great saga about an Irish family, 13 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Just Between Us (Kindle Edition)
The beginning of the book worried me a little as it seemed old fashioned and full of Middle class morality.
However, as I read on, I discovered that was not the case. That beginning was the facade underneath which many secrets were sizzling.
Rose and Hugh Miller were celebrating their Ruby wedding with a large party. A successful, moderately wealthy couple with three grown up daughters also living successful happy lives. ....or are they?
Cathy Kelly takes us behind the scenes in the lives of The Millers. Looks at the threads which joined them, and at the realities which drove them apart, the truth behind Rose and Highs marriage, eldest daughter Stella, a single mother and her attempt at a new relationship, Tara the newly married, talented scriptwriter who discovers her husband's hidden problem, and self conscious Holly, beautiful, suffering from unrequited love and low self belief.
Cathy Kelly draws us into their lives, through their conflicts and their resolutions, with very skilful story telling .
Recommended read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars where was the proof reader?, 13 Jan. 2014
This review is from: Just Between Us (Paperback)
While I enjoyed the book - and previous books by Cathy Kelly - I couldn't get over how many errors there were in it. By page 412 there had been so many that I wished I had circled them all (and they seemed to be increasing in frequency). There were missed-out words or extra ones so that a sentence didn't make sense. The word 'an' instead of 'a' is one example in several places - does the author not know the correct grammatical use for either? Where was the proof-reader for this book?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A summer delight, 15 July 2003
This review is from: Just Between Us (Paperback)
Cathy Kelly has done it again! Her books always are a pleasure to delve into - especially during the hot lazy, langorous days of summer when one wants a read that will amuse, enchant, entertain, and divert. Two pages into this delight and I was hooked ... by the plot, the three sister protagonists, by the wit, by it all! To my delight (and chagrin the next day), it kept me reading well into the wee hours. If only all contemporary writers were this insightful, sharp, and clever. Cathy Kelly is decidedly one of my Must Read Brit(Chick)Lit authors, along with Jill Mansell, Zoe Barnes, Catherine Alliott, Fiona Walker, Lesley Pearse, Victoria Routledge, and Isabel Wolff. If you like any of these other ladies' books, you will love JUST BETWEEN US.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A big let down, 7 Dec. 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Just Between Us (Paperback)
This book was a huge disappointment. The trials and tribulations of Rose Miller and her three daughters, Stella, Tara and Holly, just failed to grip me.
Rose is struggling to cope with the knowledge of her husband's infidelity, while Stella's new partner's daughter Jenna does her best to ruin their relationship, Tara's husband is drinking heavily, and Holly tries to find a man, only to fall for neighbour Tom, who already has a girlfriend.
Nothing very much happens until halfway through, when Rose drops a bombshell at her Ruby Wedding party. The second half is a little more lively, but even so, there is a lot of talk and very little action. And none of the characters, apart from Holly, really come to life.
It is also annoying that virtually every page - and this is not an exaggeration - have missing punctuation or silly errors. And why are two characters - a girl Holly went to school with and Tom's girlfriend - both given the name Caroline?
I was a huge Cathy Kelly fan but unfortunately Just Between Us givs the impression it was rushed out in time for the Christmas market without much thought.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just Between Us, 30 April 2003
This review is from: Just Between Us (Paperback)
What more can I say, this book was a wonderful read and I could not put it down. Beautifully written and you feel like you are there in Kinvarra. Well worth the read, I have passed it on to a few people and they have said the same thing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, but not gripping, 12 Sept. 2003
By 
Kirsty (South Yorkshire, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Just Between Us (Paperback)
'Just between us' is the second book I have read by Cathy Kelly and I wasn't disappointed by this effort. Despite enjoying 'What she wants' more than 'Just between us', it was a good read by a good novelist. The story centers around the family of Rose Miller, her three daughters Stella, Tara and Holly, her rather evil sister in law Adele and her slightly unfaithful husband Hugh. Every charcter is written beautifully with traits that we all mere humans have! I found the plot rather predictable and some of the charcters grated on me slightly (Stella in particular), however it was a good plot written by a excellent author. Well done Miss Kelly on writing another top novel!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Cathy Kelly does it again, 18 Dec. 2003
This review is from: Just Between Us (Paperback)
Another one of Cathy Kellys moving family dramas. A little slow to start where the beginning of the book devotes a chapter to each new character. However once the introductions are out of the way the story picks up and Cathy Kelly does not disappoint.
This is an easy to read book, which as is usual with Cathy Kelly, includes some trait in a character or plot in the story that everyone can identify with, if not directly then through someone we know. She touches, albeit lightly, on serious topics of adultery, alcoholism and being a single parent without sterotyping and no-one is made out to be a villian.
As usual the ending is happy without being sickening and unrealistic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Just Between Us!, 31 July 2009
This review is from: Just Between Us (Paperback)
The main characters in this book are grandmother Rose, glamorous and well known, spends her days with charity work. She is married to Hugh, wealthy with a good career. This book is about the lead up to their 40th wedding anniversary.

Rose and Hugh have 3 daughters. Stella is the oldest, is a single mum and works as a solicitor. The second daughter Tara is a script writer, married to a `Brad Pitt Lookalike' and the youngest, and probably most likeable Holly is searching for love and works in a department store. Holly not being very confident doesn't realise how beautiful she is.

This book was okay but not as enjoyable as some of Kelly's other books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Just Between Us
Just Between Us by Cathy Kelly
£0.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews