Customer Reviews


87 Reviews
5 star:
 (44)
4 star:
 (25)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


35 of 37 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lovely, witty read
This is the first book I've read by Freya North in years - it certainly won't be the last. I found this a pleasure to read - sparkling, witty prose with likeable characters and a good plot.

The story is about Vita, trying to make a go of it alone in Pear Tree Cottage after a messy break-up with Tim. Unfortunately she and Tim own a business together - a gift...
Published on 22 Mar 2011 by Sukie

versus
12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Easy Going Quick Read
Devoured this in a couple of days distracting myself from the mayhem of my builders! Enjoyed previous books by Freya North and this was reasonably good. Vita is the main character who at times made me want to throw the book out the window. Most of the time she appears to be living in cloud cuckoo land - reading slushy novels rather than running her business - no wonder...
Published on 14 April 2011 by S. Lumley


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

35 of 37 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lovely, witty read, 22 Mar 2011
By 
Sukie (South Coast) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Chances (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is the first book I've read by Freya North in years - it certainly won't be the last. I found this a pleasure to read - sparkling, witty prose with likeable characters and a good plot.

The story is about Vita, trying to make a go of it alone in Pear Tree Cottage after a messy break-up with Tim. Unfortunately she and Tim own a business together - a gift shop - so it's impossible to sever the ties completely. Elsewhere in the town, Oliver, a tree surgeon is still coming to terms with the death of his wife three years ago, and is raising his teenage son alone.

When Vita's pear tree starts causing problems - namely parakeets and wasps - it brings her and Oliver together. A second chance of love might be possible for both of them but will it be a case of once bitten, twice shy?

Freya North has a light touch but knows exactly what she's doing with her characters, and I enjoyed reading this very much. My only criticism is that the tension seemed to drain away halfway through as the outcome was already pretty clear by this point. I also found it irritating the way she switched from past to present tense intermittently, sometimes within the same paragraph. Overall though, this novel is warm and fun, with some great characters and I'd recommend it as an easy summer read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Easy Going Quick Read, 14 April 2011
By 
S. Lumley (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Chances (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Devoured this in a couple of days distracting myself from the mayhem of my builders! Enjoyed previous books by Freya North and this was reasonably good. Vita is the main character who at times made me want to throw the book out the window. Most of the time she appears to be living in cloud cuckoo land - reading slushy novels rather than running her business - no wonder the dastardly Tim cheated on her. However, the author leads you to sympathise with Vitas new and unwanted single status. So she moves rather unenthusiastically in to a house and becomes quite crazy and stressed over some wasps. Hmm! But thanks to the wasps she meets the rather lovely Oliver ... So all in all a fun, undemanding, maybe a tad too predictable, but charming summer read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars more Freya magic..., 13 May 2011
This review is from: Chances (Paperback)
I was really surprised by the luke warm bordering on negative reviews of 'Chances'.
The previous reviewer thinks Ms North should move away from a themed book but I love that she researches different subjects so thoroughly and can spin them into a tale that absorbs the reader on different levels. Yes some of her characters make you want to scream at them at times but isn't that the same of real life?..be so boring if we were all perfect ;)
I was hooked straight away and was unable to put it down until I'd finished -then wished I'd taken more time as I have to wait till her next book !....have already started re-reading 'Pillow Talk' which has been my all time favourite Freya book ....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Chances, 13 April 2011
By 
This review is from: Chances (Paperback)
Loved this book, as I have read a few of Freya North's and not enjoyed them.

Vita lives at Pear Tree Cottage and is getting over her last love Tim, but it is not easy as she owns a busy with Tim.

Oliver is getting over the lose of his wife DeeDee she was killed in a road accident and they have a son together Jonty.

Vita has a problem with her pear tree as it has a wasp problem so she calls someone in to deal with the problem and along comes Oliver. They don't hit it off straight away as they both see other people. But after a second visit they do hit it off.

There are lot's of twists and turns and you are just wanting them both to be together and sometimes you just want to shout at them - Really enjoyed this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must-read book, 22 Dec 2011
This review is from: Chances (Paperback)
I've LOVED reading this. Freya North writes with such warmth, truth and tenderness and although I have loved all her books, I have to say that this is my favourite to date! I have been silently urging on Oliver and Vita, the main characters, in their quest for love, feeling their disappointment and confusion and practically crying at their happinness and joy.
It's fun, feisty, a little sad, has a healthy quota of sex, hopeful and happy. A truly fabulous feel-good-book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly fabulous (as usual!!), 12 April 2011
This review is from: Chances (Paperback)
Another wonderful novel by Freya North!! I can honestly say that I am never disappointed by her novel's and 'Chances' did not fail to delight.

As usual I experienced a range of different emotions throughout reading the book and I immediately warmed to most of the characters (not Tim!!). Even when I started to become slightly irritated by the leading lady - Vita, her best friends went on to put her in her place and give her a bit of a 'dressing down'.

This book is a real 'page turner' and I literally could not put it down. Looking forward to Freya's next novel with much anticipation!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, unputdownable!, 12 April 2011
By 
SIOBHAN MOLONEY (Ennis, Co Clare Ireland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Chances (Paperback)
As ever Freya North knows what her readers want. Chances is a great book, full of great characters and once you get sucked in to reading putting it down to do neccessary things like........eating.........sleeping is tough. Finished it in 2 sittings and felt bereft when I was done. Roll on her next book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another excellent read from Freya!, 11 April 2011
This review is from: Chances (Paperback)
If you have ever:
a) fallen in love with the wrong person
b) put up with someone you care about not caring about you
c) spent hours wishing things in your life could be different
d) deliberated as to whether or not to take a leap of faith
e) been torn as to whether or not to trust your instincts
f) been scared of getting what you've been wishing for
then this book is for you and you'll read it in no time at all!

Yet again, Freya North has written sensitively and insightfully about love, bringing moments of laughter as well as moments of sorrow. Freya never fails to deliver stories to engage and inspire. If you've ever doubted yourself and lacked the confidence to take a chance, then read "Chances" and you might just find your inner strength re-surfaces!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delightful, 10 April 2011
By 
J. Clarkson "Book Worm" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Chances (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This was such a delightful book to read, all about a rather scatty but lovely lady who falls for the wrong man, who betrays her with another woman, then wishes he hadn't. Without giving the plot away she does get her man, but there are twists and turns in the book and her two best friends help her enormously, such that you want to read more about them as well. You get to love Vita for her forgiving nature, because all she wants is to love someone aaah!! You won't want to put this book down until you have finished it. I will definitely read more of Freya North's books. Delightful
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Couldn't put it down, 4 April 2011
This review is from: Chances (Paperback)
As a huge fan of Freya North's previous books, I couldn't wait to get my paws on Chances, and it didn't disappoint. Vita is such a likeable character, going through a really rough time following the break up of a long term relationship with, quite frankly, a toe-rag! Oliver is still struggling with the grief from the loss of his wife 3 years earlier, but fate brings them together. The author always manages to create characters that really seem to come to life. The book was both amusing and touching, and I found myself quite in love with Oliver - yum yum! A gorgeous, thought-provoking read. Bring on the next one Freya!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Chances
Chances by Freya North
2.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews