Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding film!
Easily the best film I have seen this year. It is great to see a film that is not afraid to deal with real life as opposed to fantasy. All the actors did a great job in their respective performances, and I must say that Vera Farmiga is one of the most interesting as well as attractive actresses I have seen.

There is no point in me discussing the story as that...
Published on 28 July 2011 by A. A. Kopel

versus
5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars give it a miss and get a decent film
I liked the sound of this film and had very high hopes looking at the excellent cast. But alas, it was mind numbingly boring in terms of plot, script and lack of character development. I felt embarrassed I had selected it for my good lady to watch and expressed my high expectations before pressing the play button. Wooden performances abounded and good acters tried...
Published on 7 Oct 2011 by M. Gaborak


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding film!, 28 July 2011
By 
A. A. Kopel (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Henry's Crime [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Easily the best film I have seen this year. It is great to see a film that is not afraid to deal with real life as opposed to fantasy. All the actors did a great job in their respective performances, and I must say that Vera Farmiga is one of the most interesting as well as attractive actresses I have seen.

There is no point in me discussing the story as that takes away from the surprise, so I will focus on why I believe this movie is excellent.

I am so glad this film got made and Henry's Crime shows that an intelligent story can grab your attention way more than a by the numbers action-based film. It is witty, funny, has tension and the way the characters interact is well written as well as acted.

Keanu Reeves chooses interesting films to star in and is no vanity actor. He is very natural and in my opinion adds to the story's believability. Great work and Keanu is a fine actor. I think the media's stereotype of him is so outdated and factually incorrect.

The locations are wonderful and add to the story. You feel like you live in that town once the film gets going and will definitely find a character in the story you will relate to.

So, an excellent story, brilliantly directed and everyone involved deserves the praise.

Save your money by buying this rather than renting. It gets better with repeated viewing and a film that belongs in your library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A "Quiet Triumph", 8 July 2011
By 
H. M. Anderson (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Henry's Crime [DVD] (DVD)
Time Out described it as a "Quiet Triumph" and I tend to agree. It's not the best movie ever made but is clever, multi-layered (stories within stories within...) and an interesting, often tongue in cheek, look at acting as a process. It is enjoyable, although slightly uncomfortable in places as Farmiga plays self reliant/involved diva and ego-above-her-status-actress very well and with great aplomb. Caan's comic relief as the wannabe lifer adds some one liners and fun to a film that has an old-fashioned serious classic quality both in style and direction (something to do with dimensions of camera angles/screen apparently), and the soundtrack is brilliant. Chekhov's The Cherry Orchard lends a certain gravitas to the proceedings, and a backdrop for the real-life storyline, as does Reeves' deliberate delivery and method metamorphosis from downtrodden bored/boring-but-nice average Joe to cavalier passionate lovestruck criminal-mastermind, which is impressive! I think this film is a slow burner... after watching it, it stayed in my mind and I want to see it again, sure there will be more layers and nuances that I missed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars PLEASE WAIT FOR TICKET AND CHANGE, 12 Sep 2013
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Henry's Crime [DVD] (DVD)
**WARNING: HEAVY PLOT SYNOPSIS**

Keanu Reeves plays the meek Henry Torne, who works a toll booth in Buffalo. He is having some problems with his wife Debbie (Judy Greer, a young version of Susan Sarandon). He is conned into driving some guys to a baseball game, only as it turns out they rob a bank and Henry is the only one who gets caught. Henry meekly says nothing in his defense and gets sentenced to 3 years. During this time his wife leaves him for another man, which doesn't seem to bother Henry. In prison Henry meets Max Saltzman (James Caan), prison philosopher, barber, and story teller. Caan convinces Henry that if he did the time, he should do the crime.

Henry gets out of jail and appears to have walked home. His wife is pregnant by Joe (Danny Hoch), one of the bank robbers. Joe tries to recruit Henry to sell in his pyramid scheme, er ah multi-level... Henry's belongings are packed into one small box. Henry doesn't seem to mind at all.

Like a moth to a flame Henry is attracted to the bank...as he is walking in the middle of the street he gets hit by a female driver, who was paying no attention while chatting on her cell phone. She immediately gets out of the car and blames the victim.

Henry finally realizes his life's goal: To rob the bank he didn't rob. He goes to Max for help. Max is a lifer. He wants to stay in prison and not get out. At his review board he twitches and says to the panel if he got out he is going to kill their dog. Henry wants Max to get out and help him.

The theater, across from the bank, 80 years ago had a tunnel that went to the bank vault. Julie (Vera Farmiga), the woman who clocked Henry with her car is an actress, performing in "The Cherry Orchard" a play like the movie is both a comedy and tragedy. The metaphors pile up. His job as a toll booth operator symbolizes someone who goes nowhere while watching everyone go somewhere. Before this thing is through Reeves plays Lopakhin, who has come up from nothing and is looking for a change of life. The group of crooks blossoms from 2 to 5 and the play...let's just say it has an alternative ending.

Chick flick, heavy metaphors, F-bomb, sex, no nudity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars give it a miss and get a decent film, 7 Oct 2011
By 
This review is from: Henry's Crime [DVD] (DVD)
I liked the sound of this film and had very high hopes looking at the excellent cast. But alas, it was mind numbingly boring in terms of plot, script and lack of character development. I felt embarrassed I had selected it for my good lady to watch and expressed my high expectations before pressing the play button. Wooden performances abounded and good acters tried desperately to hide their own frustration woth a shocking script and stupid plot which was so predictable it actually hurt. I hate being hard on films as I love em so much and always try to find something good about them but the only good thing I can say about this film was the camera work was pretty decent....and that's it! Utterly wretched, boring and lacking even the slightest spark of originality and creativity that might have saved it from the oblivion it is surely heading for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Henry's Crime, 17 Feb 2012
This review is from: Henry's Crime [DVD] (DVD)
This film was totally new to me & I didn't know much about it other than Keanu Reeves took the blame for a bank robbery he didn't do.

At first I thought it a little slow & I wanted to shake the character 'Henry' into fighting back but the film grows & develops into a touching story of the 4 main characters realising their lifes dreams. It is a touching build up of each character realising what they want from life & a their involvement in the unusal way they finally achieve it.

The film was certainly better the 2nd time of watching as I then understood the story line & knew that it would develop into a good, light hearted, entertaining, easy watch film.

I certainly recommend it & thoroughly enjoy watching it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 14 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Henry's Crime [DVD] (DVD)
Item Arrive Promptly And As Described+++++++++
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 18 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Henry's Crime [DVD] (DVD)
Great dvd good watch.👍
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not Fun All The Way, 4 Sep 2011
By 
A. D. Gherson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Henry's Crime [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
It starts slow about a man who has the bad luck of being in the wrong place but eventually he wins through to make this good solid entertainment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars It was ok, 16 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Henry's Crime [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
It was an ok film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 12 Oct 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Henry's Crime [DVD] (DVD)
Worth a watch
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Henry's Crime [DVD]
Henry's Crime [DVD] by Malcolm Venville (DVD - 2011)
£2.24
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews