Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A "Quiet Triumph"
Time Out described it as a "Quiet Triumph" and I tend to agree. It's not the best movie ever made but is clever, multi-layered (stories within stories within...) and an interesting, often tongue in cheek, look at acting as a process. It is enjoyable, although slightly uncomfortable in places as Farmiga plays self reliant/involved diva and ego-above-her-status-actress very...
Published on 8 July 2011 by H. M. Anderson

versus
5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars give it a miss and get a decent film
I liked the sound of this film and had very high hopes looking at the excellent cast. But alas, it was mind numbingly boring in terms of plot, script and lack of character development. I felt embarrassed I had selected it for my good lady to watch and expressed my high expectations before pressing the play button. Wooden performances abounded and good acters tried...
Published on 7 Oct. 2011 by M. Gaborak


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A "Quiet Triumph", 8 July 2011
By 
H. M. Anderson (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Henry's Crime [DVD] (DVD)
Time Out described it as a "Quiet Triumph" and I tend to agree. It's not the best movie ever made but is clever, multi-layered (stories within stories within...) and an interesting, often tongue in cheek, look at acting as a process. It is enjoyable, although slightly uncomfortable in places as Farmiga plays self reliant/involved diva and ego-above-her-status-actress very well and with great aplomb. Caan's comic relief as the wannabe lifer adds some one liners and fun to a film that has an old-fashioned serious classic quality both in style and direction (something to do with dimensions of camera angles/screen apparently), and the soundtrack is brilliant. Chekhov's The Cherry Orchard lends a certain gravitas to the proceedings, and a backdrop for the real-life storyline, as does Reeves' deliberate delivery and method metamorphosis from downtrodden bored/boring-but-nice average Joe to cavalier passionate lovestruck criminal-mastermind, which is impressive! I think this film is a slow burner... after watching it, it stayed in my mind and I want to see it again, sure there will be more layers and nuances that I missed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars PLEASE WAIT FOR TICKET AND CHANGE, 12 Sept. 2013
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Henry's Crime [DVD] (DVD)
**WARNING: HEAVY PLOT SYNOPSIS**

Keanu Reeves plays the meek Henry Torne, who works a toll booth in Buffalo. He is having some problems with his wife Debbie (Judy Greer, a young version of Susan Sarandon). He is conned into driving some guys to a baseball game, only as it turns out they rob a bank and Henry is the only one who gets caught. Henry meekly says nothing in his defense and gets sentenced to 3 years. During this time his wife leaves him for another man, which doesn't seem to bother Henry. In prison Henry meets Max Saltzman (James Caan), prison philosopher, barber, and story teller. Caan convinces Henry that if he did the time, he should do the crime.

Henry gets out of jail and appears to have walked home. His wife is pregnant by Joe (Danny Hoch), one of the bank robbers. Joe tries to recruit Henry to sell in his pyramid scheme, er ah multi-level... Henry's belongings are packed into one small box. Henry doesn't seem to mind at all.

Like a moth to a flame Henry is attracted to the bank...as he is walking in the middle of the street he gets hit by a female driver, who was paying no attention while chatting on her cell phone. She immediately gets out of the car and blames the victim.

Henry finally realizes his life's goal: To rob the bank he didn't rob. He goes to Max for help. Max is a lifer. He wants to stay in prison and not get out. At his review board he twitches and says to the panel if he got out he is going to kill their dog. Henry wants Max to get out and help him.

The theater, across from the bank, 80 years ago had a tunnel that went to the bank vault. Julie (Vera Farmiga), the woman who clocked Henry with her car is an actress, performing in "The Cherry Orchard" a play like the movie is both a comedy and tragedy. The metaphors pile up. His job as a toll booth operator symbolizes someone who goes nowhere while watching everyone go somewhere. Before this thing is through Reeves plays Lopakhin, who has come up from nothing and is looking for a change of life. The group of crooks blossoms from 2 to 5 and the play...let's just say it has an alternative ending.

Chick flick, heavy metaphors, F-bomb, sex, no nudity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars give it a miss and get a decent film, 7 Oct. 2011
By 
This review is from: Henry's Crime [DVD] (DVD)
I liked the sound of this film and had very high hopes looking at the excellent cast. But alas, it was mind numbingly boring in terms of plot, script and lack of character development. I felt embarrassed I had selected it for my good lady to watch and expressed my high expectations before pressing the play button. Wooden performances abounded and good acters tried desperately to hide their own frustration woth a shocking script and stupid plot which was so predictable it actually hurt. I hate being hard on films as I love em so much and always try to find something good about them but the only good thing I can say about this film was the camera work was pretty decent....and that's it! Utterly wretched, boring and lacking even the slightest spark of originality and creativity that might have saved it from the oblivion it is surely heading for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Henry's Crime, 17 Feb. 2012
This review is from: Henry's Crime [DVD] (DVD)
This film was totally new to me & I didn't know much about it other than Keanu Reeves took the blame for a bank robbery he didn't do.

At first I thought it a little slow & I wanted to shake the character 'Henry' into fighting back but the film grows & develops into a touching story of the 4 main characters realising their lifes dreams. It is a touching build up of each character realising what they want from life & a their involvement in the unusal way they finally achieve it.

The film was certainly better the 2nd time of watching as I then understood the story line & knew that it would develop into a good, light hearted, entertaining, easy watch film.

I certainly recommend it & thoroughly enjoy watching it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 14 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Henry's Crime [DVD] (DVD)
Item Arrive Promptly And As Described+++++++++
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 18 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Henry's Crime [DVD] (DVD)
Great dvd good watch.👍
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 12 Oct. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Henry's Crime [DVD] (DVD)
Worth a watch
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars God fun watch !, 25 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Henry's Crime [DVD] (DVD)
It's fun to watch and makes you think as well . Love it and James Kahn and keanu reeves are fantastic .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars dreadful, 13 May 2013
By 
Mike "M.G" (Greater Manchester Uk) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Henry's Crime [DVD] (DVD)
This movie is sooo bad that I fell asleep watching it! its absolutely awful the trailer was better than the actual film and keanu reeves mumbling his way through it didn't help and about as funny as piles!!.........
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly fun yet thoughtful caper, 31 Jan. 2012
By 
S. Jones (Devon, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Henry's Crime [DVD] (DVD)
The trailer was fun, but they can be so misleading that I held few hopes of this one.

It had Vera Farmiga, who's one of the best and most undervalued actresses around.

On the downside it had Keanu Reeves, who redefines wooden acting, though he's somehow still amiable despite his limitations.

That he remain reliably plank-like in this film is, I THINK, intended. He's a man drifting through a humdrum life, who bizarrely takes the rap for a bank robbery. After doing his time he decides to do the crime, with the reluctant help of conman James Caan. Laughs ensue.

Caan relentless steals every scene with the ease of a grizzled veteran, and the wonderfully versatile Farmiga enjoys her role as a provincial actress making lottery commercials who dreams of getting a Hollywood break after her lead role on stage in The Cherry Orchard.

The theatre scenes are very amusing, and I imagine there are plenty of actors who would recognise the characters' featured, particularly the comically bullying director.

This is an unusual film, slightly odd and eccentric but entertaining, worthy of your attention if you can tolerate Keanu's brand of `mildly concussed' acting style.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Henry's Crime [DVD]
Henry's Crime [DVD] by Malcolm Venville (DVD - 2011)
£2.75
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews