Customer Reviews


179 Reviews
5 star:
 (119)
4 star:
 (45)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A bit weaker than the previous two, but still has the magic.
If you're looking at this book, chances are, you've read the previous two and are going to buy it anyway. The finale is here and by and large it does not dissappoint. The earlier battles in the book drag a little, but there are some welcome surprises that keep you on your toes and later on, the story makes you want to keep reading to the bitter end. The hooks dig deep...
Published on 29 Jan. 2012 by Reader

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good read as with the previous two
I found all the books in the series enjoyable with a few jarring exceptions in the use of words. Perhaps the D'akaran could have been a little more fully explained along with their reasons for acting as they did and why they wanted to take over the world. The characters of the humans, wizards, and malthropes were well written. The word effect was used many times when it...
Published on 4 Jun. 2012 by eeileenalana


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good read as with the previous two, 4 Jun. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Battle of Verril (The Book of Deacon series 3) (Kindle Edition)
I found all the books in the series enjoyable with a few jarring exceptions in the use of words. Perhaps the D'akaran could have been a little more fully explained along with their reasons for acting as they did and why they wanted to take over the world. The characters of the humans, wizards, and malthropes were well written. The word effect was used many times when it should have been affect. There were more doves flying round than in a medieval castles dovecote. Things don't "dove" to the side or away from something, dive or dived away are the correct words to use. The occassional missed word makes nonsense of a sentence. On the plus side we were not treated to many "gottens" instead of got and no nerve jangling awesomes.

All in all these books are an enjoyable read in which to lose yourself for a few hours. I would like to keep Myn for myself along with the mystival staff of the wizard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A bit weaker than the previous two, but still has the magic., 29 Jan. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Battle of Verril (The Book of Deacon series 3) (Kindle Edition)
If you're looking at this book, chances are, you've read the previous two and are going to buy it anyway. The finale is here and by and large it does not dissappoint. The earlier battles in the book drag a little, but there are some welcome surprises that keep you on your toes and later on, the story makes you want to keep reading to the bitter end. The hooks dig deep into your mind and keep you hooked. I would definitely reccomend this author and this book. So if you've read the first two books, I strongly reccomend you read this one and if you haven't, go and get the first two and dive into a wonderful trillogy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Deacon Series, 13 Jun. 2012
By 
D. Batiste (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Battle of Verril (The Book of Deacon series 3) (Kindle Edition)
Having bought the trilogy which I read from cover to cover. I thought that I should at least make some form of comment. I enjoyed these books immensely and thought that the writing was excellent. I found that I was reading more than I have ever done before and could not put these books down till they were finished. I thought that these books should be read by everyone who likes a good adventure story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Completion, 15 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Battle of Verril (The Book of Deacon series 3) (Kindle Edition)
Good to complete the series I shall look out for more books by Joseph, not my favourite author but very readable and spins a good yarn.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Third in the trilogy, 9 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Battle of Verril (The Book of Deacon series 3) (Kindle Edition)
I read this book to find out what would happen to the hero's and the world in which they lived. General I found it a good read and difficult to put down. Some areas were a little disappointing and some descriptions of evil characters were difficult to picture, possibly because they were too unrealistic. Still it would be a good read for the beach if your into wizards and magic, though not in a Harry Potter kind of way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Reasonable read, 8 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Battle of Verril (The Book of Deacon series 3) (Kindle Edition)
A tad too much explanation in places, but the ending could have been better, otherwise not too bad a series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I prefered the first book., 30 Jan. 2013
This review is from: The Battle of Verril (The Book of Deacon series 3) (Kindle Edition)
It is a good read. However there was a lot tgings that made sense. And I found that the author did not give enough description of the character's feelings, too much description of the battles.
I really liked one part but then lost interest.
However, I recomend the first book in these series: the book of Deacin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Little Disappointing, 25 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Battle of Verril (The Book of Deacon series 3) (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed the first two books in the trilogy. Yes, there were a few errors here and there, as noted by other reviewers, but not enough to stop me reading. I found the characters engaging, the world intriguing and the plot moved along with enough twists and turns to keep me interested and wanting to know what happened next. I was eagerly looking forward to the final book.

Unfortunately, I found the third book did not hold my interest in quite the same way. It seemed to me that the author had used up most of his new & orignal plot lines in the first two books and his only idea was to move his characters from one battle to another until he had written anough to fill a book. Slightly harsh, as there were some interesting plot developments during the book, but they seemd to be rushed through and were overshadowed by the rather overlong battle descriptions.

On the whole, I am glad I bought these 3 books and will certainly be looking at other books by the same author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A powerful conclusion, 20 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Battle of Verril (The Book of Deacon series 3) (Kindle Edition)
To be honest, if you've read the other 2 books you're going to buy this one because, really, you have no choice. You couldn't possibly leave the characters, and the world, in the state they're in! But I will say that this book is in no way carried by the previous two: it holds just as much, if not more, tension, creates and solves secrets and riddles at an incredible pace and offers a satisfying but heart wrenching conclusion. Each and every character becomes a friend you don't know how you lived without before. An incredible end to an amazing series: cannot recommend it highly enough!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a fantastic epic scale trilogy, 30 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Battle of Verril (The Book of Deacon series 3) (Kindle Edition)
The story begins with a seemingly unimportant character struggling alone through a bare existence. As her experience expands so too does the entire world that she exists in. The tale becomes more and more addictive and it is a tale that becomes harder and harder to put down. A real page turner of epic proportions and a thoroughly enjoyable book. There are moments of awful darkness but also characters and instances of incredible humour too. It is one of those books that you cannot wait to turn the page but you feel you should slow down so it lasts a little longer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews