Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great entertainment
These short stories give three different insights into the often obsessive mind of the cycle enthusiast. At turns bleak, redemptive and often hilarious they may bewilder the outsider but should raise a smile of recognition on the face of anyone who's ever been captured by the thrill of two wheeled adventure.
Published on 26 April 2011 by Gavier

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars wanted to love this book
This book is not professionally edited and is written in a school essay style with forced and sometimes jarring use of literrary tools and repetition of the authors favourite words and phrases. Having said that the first two stories are worth a quick read but keep your expectations low.
I really hope the author has continued writing but should seek out constructive...
Published 4 months ago by Quality Guy


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great entertainment, 26 April 2011
By 
Gavier (Shoreham, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Three Bent Links (Kindle Edition)
These short stories give three different insights into the often obsessive mind of the cycle enthusiast. At turns bleak, redemptive and often hilarious they may bewilder the outsider but should raise a smile of recognition on the face of anyone who's ever been captured by the thrill of two wheeled adventure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars From [...], 4 Jan 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Three Bent Links (Kindle Edition)
The book consists of three, very loosely linked short stories (each is around 14,000 words) with a different cyclist the subject of each. In some respects the triptych represents an extended taxonomy of cyclists. When rolled out by newspapers, this is a generally tiered format. But Wyatt has enough original insights for this to work.

Harry, his first subject, a solo mountain bike explorer, has a cycling life that is almost secret from both colleagues and girlfriend. His lone forays into the Welsh Mountains nonetheless allows him primordial release. Story two, that of Brian, is of a cyclist-hating commuter who, dumped by his wife, deprived of his driving licence and sobering up, experiences a profound change of life. The best of the three, though, is Morris, a racer whose best competitive performances are on his journeys to and from work in central London.

The last of these culminates in a piece of writing that stands comparison with the most gripping accounts of cycling. There is plenty that will be familiar to anyone who has commuted in a big city, but is infused with a deranged quality that had me on the edge of my seat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant stories, 7 Jun 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Three Bent Links (Kindle Edition)
I loved all three stories in this book. I liked Morris story the most as racing is an inherent nature in me and I too like to race during my commute into work. The descriptions and narrations are something that I have not seen done before.

Hope you enjoy these stories as much as I did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars wanted to love this book, 9 Aug 2014
This review is from: Three Bent Links (Kindle Edition)
This book is not professionally edited and is written in a school essay style with forced and sometimes jarring use of literrary tools and repetition of the authors favourite words and phrases. Having said that the first two stories are worth a quick read but keep your expectations low.
I really hope the author has continued writing but should seek out constructive feedback to improve (something I would do here if I wasn't typimg this on a Kindle).
Oh, one final comment for the author, please avoid preaching in any futur works. The first two stories read like an Aesop Fable I was waiting for the moral whilst the final story was weak for all but any sad snooty car (and most other cyclists) hating racer. If you recognise yourself in the last story you are the cycling version of the BMW drivers you hate so much and probably even drive one to the golf club;-)
Rant over. Worth a read. Make your own mind up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Emotive, original cycling fiction, 9 Mar 2012
By 
Dave Barter - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Three Bent Links (Kindle Edition)
Jon used to write a regular column for a mountain bike magazine. It was gritty, in your face and yet inspirational and is sadly missed by many. Therefore, it was a pleasure to find out that he had made the jump into fiction and published "Three Bent Links" as a kindle book. I bought it ages ago and then became distracted by a failed attempt to read Moby Dick. Last week I gave up and returned to Jon's book and I'm very glad that I did. Jon has encapsulated almost the entire range of cycling emotions into his three stories taking us through pleasure, pain, rage, whimsy, competitiveness in an engaging and accessible style. You know that there is a lot of Jon in each of his tales and it's this that makes it well worth the read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars only a cyclist.... :), 13 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Three Bent Links (Kindle Edition)
Could write that.

Probably a Pompino owner....

Enjoyed it apart from the gearie bits. Inspired to go for a ride right now
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars I can see why this is self published..., 1 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Three Bent Links (Kindle Edition)
Absolutely awful writing. This is what I'd expect a 11-15 year old student to write for an English Lit essay. The stories are really contrived and uninteresting. Glad it was only 77p - which says a lot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Book Review, 7 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Three Bent Links (Kindle Edition)
Really enjoyed this. a great insight into the escapism that cycling can give you. But i was quite shocked at the gruesome ending
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Don't bother, 29 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Three Bent Links (Kindle Edition)
Waste of time, halfway through the first story I had to check to see if I had bought a kid's book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Bitter sweet, 5 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Three Bent Links (Kindle Edition)
Being a big softy I enjoyed the sweet more than the bitter, but a good book to dip into when you need a lift
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Three Bent Links
Three Bent Links by Jon Wyatt
£0.77
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews