Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars He's the Man!
These songs, like faberge eggs are masterpieces in miniature.
Just Randy and the piano.
His ability to craft slices of Americana is awesome.
No other writer has his ability, his craftsmanship and his emotional range.
Wistful,laugh-out-loud-funny,heart-wrenching.....nobody comes close!
Buy it and relax in the company of a wise, mordant and...
Published on 10 May 2011 by A. Macpherson

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Should have stopped at Vol 1
After the joys of Vol 1 which was great, this was rather flat and I was disappointed. It would be harsh to say that the money men were scraping the barrel but stop at Vol 1 and leave Randy Newman on a high.
Published on 2 May 2012 by John


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars He's the Man!, 10 May 2011
By 
A. Macpherson "Phoenix" (Kilchoan, Ardnamurchan, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Randy Newman Songbook Vol. 2 (Audio CD)
These songs, like faberge eggs are masterpieces in miniature.
Just Randy and the piano.
His ability to craft slices of Americana is awesome.
No other writer has his ability, his craftsmanship and his emotional range.
Wistful,laugh-out-loud-funny,heart-wrenching.....nobody comes close!
Buy it and relax in the company of a wise, mordant and pin-sharp raconteur and troubador!
Unhesitatingly recommended!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Should have stopped at Vol 1, 2 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Randy Newman Songbook Vol. 2 (Audio CD)
After the joys of Vol 1 which was great, this was rather flat and I was disappointed. It would be harsh to say that the money men were scraping the barrel but stop at Vol 1 and leave Randy Newman on a high.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice, But Superfluous, 11 May 2011
By 
Sordel (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Randy Newman Songbook Vol. 2 (Audio CD)
Much as I like Randy Newman, I wasn't particularly impressed with volume 1 of his songbook, which came out back in 2003. That album seemed to sweep up many of Newman's best songs (including four from the classic Sail Away) but without rivalling the original versions. Consequently, my expectations weren't all that high for the sequel.

In terms of songs, there are of course some real greats here which still shine even without Newman's first-class arrangements. The opener, "Dixie Flyer", was a standout track on Land of Dreams and comes up surprisingly well without strings. With "Birmingham" you don't really miss the arrangement either, and "Last Night I Had A Dream" is actually better stripped down to piano and vocal. "Laugh and Be Happy", from Harps and Angels, is the biggest winner, since the original pastiche arrangement was rather annoying. That said, there are no revelations of the sort that Jimmy Webb was able to pull of when stripping away the orchestrations from his own songs on Ten Easy Pieces.

In terms of production, there is a definite advantage here in that many of the original production styles were "of their time" and have dated badly. A new reading of "My Life Is Good" (which originally featured a lot of electric keyboards and a thin, FM production) is welcome. Unfortunately, the new version cuts short the end of the song, much reducing its impact.

Elsewhere, Newman struggles vocally with his own melodies: noticeably on the gorgeous "Sandman's Coming", which was first sung by Linda Ronstadt on the underrated Faust album. You may argue that comparing Newman's voice with Ronstadt's is asking a lot, but Newman is also up against Harry Nilsson when singing "Yellow Man", "Dayton Ohio - 1903" and "Cowboy". I prefer Nilsson's versions, but Newman's new version of "Cowboy", stripped its 1968 arrangement, is an album highlight here.

It's tempting just to go ahead and give Randy Newman five stars for being one of the best songwriters alive, but if you haven't got the original albums, you'd do better to get those. And if you do have them, you don't really need this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simple; best., 11 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Randy Newman Songbook Vol. 2 (Audio CD)
I have recently bought this volume of Randy Newman's works, along with Volume 2.

It really is 'at home with Randy', just Randy and a piano, the way that, for me, his songs sound best.

Well recorded. Great.

Terry Meadowcroft
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A beautifully performed set of great songs, 21 Jun. 2011
This review is from: Randy Newman Songbook Vol. 2 (Audio CD)
I really like Randy Newman, particularly live, but don't particularly enjoy the arrangements of many of these songs in their original guise, I think many of them have dated badly. Stripped down like this, the quality of the material and Newman the performer just shine through, with bags of personality and wit. You're in the hands of a consumate songwriter from start to finish.
I have to stop to listen to this cd, it doesn't work for me if it's background sound, which is no bad thing.
If you liked the first volume of the songbook don't hesitate, it's a great cd. If you're new to Newman this or Volume 1 is a good place to start.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Randy at his best, 21 Jun. 2011
This review is from: Randy Newman Songbook Vol. 2 (Audio CD)
on a par with volume 1; it's just Randy and his piano so you get the songs in their pure state. Outstanding tracks are Dixie Flyer and Baltimore, though there isn't a bum track on the album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 10 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Randy Newman Songbook Vol. 2 (Audio CD)
Great!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars mr newman at his best, 11 Jun. 2011
This review is from: Randy Newman Songbook Vol. 2 (Audio CD)
this the second volume of his songbook is possibly his best as he includes songs that are a little less well known than the songs on the first volume, Baltimore, My life is Good, Laugh and be Happy and Same Girl which is got to be one of his very best songs of all time make this an enjoyable listen for any fan and a good listen for people who are not so sure about this wonderful songwriter
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Randy Newman Songbook Vol. 2
Randy Newman Songbook Vol. 2 by Randy Newman (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews