Customer Reviews


136 Reviews
5 star:
 (106)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


36 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No bones of contention
There are a lot of this type of show out there - CSI being the biggest. But this is the best. The police procedure is there, the science is there, the flashy visuals are there. But what sets this apart from others is the humanity that the characters possess. The interactions, the banter, the fun that they have. But even more, there is also a lot of heart here too. And the...
Published on 6 Jun. 2006 by Stephen Amos

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Read the books, ignore the films.
If you are a fan of the books then stay clear of this rubbish. In this version Temp should be dressed in Superwoman clothes. Its all just ridiculous nonsense. Nothing like the wonderful books. More like what I refer to as "Yankee Bulls..t
Published 8 months ago by CelticMorning


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

36 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No bones of contention, 6 Jun. 2006
This review is from: Bones - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
There are a lot of this type of show out there - CSI being the biggest. But this is the best. The police procedure is there, the science is there, the flashy visuals are there. But what sets this apart from others is the humanity that the characters possess. The interactions, the banter, the fun that they have. But even more, there is also a lot of heart here too. And the relationship between 'Bones' and Booth - you have to wonder where they'll take it, and that's the fun of it.

On top of this, Bones is not afraid to tackle issues - Homelessness, immigration, with out ever getting preachy.

Love it and can't wait till season two.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


67 of 71 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I must say I ended preferring "Bones" to CSI, 10 Sept. 2007
By 
Maciej "Darth Maciek" (Darth Maciek is out there...) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bones - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
If you are a fan of CSI (and who is not?), you will probably look sceptically at this show, which seems to following in the tracks of this major franchise. Well, you would be wrong. "Bones" does much better than just following - from the first episode it actually switches to its own ways and, if put in parallel with the venerable CSI, it could very well take the lead. And here is why.

First, there is Bones herself. She is incredibly inteligent, succesful, pretty, liberated, courageous woman, fully in control of her life and perfectly able to kick a bad guy's a.. without any problem if needed. In one word, she is a genius (like Grissom), but she also has a serious case of social autism, which makes many of her interactions with the regular society histerically funny. As a forensic anthropologist she clearly is very comfortable around the skeletons - but her relations with living are not half that succesful. And when the recent deceased are concerned, just wait for the scene when Booth takes her for an autopsy...

Then, there is agent Booth. I always liked very much David Boreanaz ("Buffy", "Angel") but I was a little concerned if he still can play without turning into a vampire every two minutes or so... well, he can!! His caracter is great - he is clearly a macho, good cop but clearly not genius (unlike people he works with), in principle just a honest, simple guy - but with some secrets in his past, very much in control of his life and having some really funny habits. Quite smart, handsome and with sense of humour - Booth is surprisingly likeable.

Then there is the relation between Bones and Booth - I must say that I enjoy watching it almost as much as the one that existed between Mulder an Scully. They are soooo different that they simply can not stop bickering and both being smart and having sense of humour (although for Bones it is a little... skeletal) they exchanges are a delight. Just wait to see the episode in which Bones is charged with murder!

There is more. Other members of the team working in the criminal anthropology lab are as irresistible as the main characters - there is Zack, the genius young anthropologist, who is even less adapted to life in society than Bones. There is Dr Jack Hodgins, "slime and bugs guy", who actually is almost normal - the stress is on word "almost". Finally there is Angela, an adorable Eurasian girl, who actually is an artist as much as a scientist - she designed software for graphic projects and adapted it for the reconstruction of faces and bodies from remains. She is the merriest and most normal person in the lab - although the way she gets the attention of clercs in crowded offices will probably surprise you...

Stories are good, some of them very hard. The atmosphere is less gloomy that in CSI and there is definitely much more humour. After watching Grissom and his team for years I really was ready for something new, as smart as CSI, but freshier, funnier, less macabre and - surprise - even more original. I bought the first season and swallowed it in a couple of evenings. I can't wait to buy the second.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Worth buying., 11 Mar. 2008
This review is from: Bones - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Bones is very different to other popular American shows like CSI, Lost and Dexter. Rather than being slick, shiny and plot obsessed it concentrates on character development and humour, a welcome change in my opinion.

For anyone wondering about whether to buy this DVD, you should. It is cheap, entertaining and funny. The female characters, such as Brennan, are complex and unusual rather than being shallow, blonde caricatures. Brennan is smart but awkward socially; a brilliant central character. Bones, the FBI agent, is also great. He is very funny and the relationship between them is a brilliant backbone to the show.

This is, however, not one of the best shows ever on T.V. It is well worth watching but by no means a masterpiece. Some of the supporting cast are irritating and the show lacks a mythology and story arc. Additionally, the emotions of the characters, and the relationships between them, are not left to develop through the story as much as they should be. Far too often the characters are forced to explain their, and others, motivations in slightly stilted, and often embarrassing, dialogue.

In spite of this, I would recommend this DVD whole-heartedly. I enjoyed it much more than I expected. Its characters, humour and charm more than make up for the occasional deficiency in the script.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Watch out CSI., 7 Nov. 2006
By 
Angela Speck "Pop_culture_geek" (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bones - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
I highly recommend this series. Books and TV shows which have a forensic anthropology/pathology basis are a passion of mine, and I'm thrilled to find a new series which succeeds in this area.

"Bones" combines excellent scientific fact with interesting human relationships. Emily Deschanel has been criticised at times for playing the role of Temperance Brennan a little "straight", but as the series develops, so does she and her personality shines through. It doesn't hurt that David Boreanaz is as delicious as ever, and plays the very human, cool FBI agent as a perfect balance to Brennan's geek. There is of course enough chemistry between them to keep us viewers hooked.

Kathy Reichs, the author who created the character of Temperance Brennan, is a consultant on the show, and plays a vital role in ensuring accuracy for the scientific side of things.

If you liked CSI, you'll love this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


101 of 108 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bones Rocks!, 21 July 2006
This review is from: Bones - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Bones really is very good, I must admit I watched it for the first time, quite simply because there was nothing better on, and I was very sceptical thinking it would be a cheap CSI rip-off.

However, I was pleasantly suprised, like many say, it can be difficult to sum up, but I think it breaks down like this;

- The character background and development of Lost

- The science of CSI

- The sexual tension of The X Files (back in the day when it was Mulder and Scully, will they/wont they?)

- The emotion and dramatic twists of 24 (not always, but the last episode has it all) and;

- The bickering comedy of something like Scrubs

Ok a comparison to Scrubs may be a little out there but there are a number of witty jokes and the humerous (pun intended) rivalry between the characters is good for a regular chuckle, particularly Bones' attempts to get her partner, Booth, to let her have a gun of her own, despite her trigger happy ways.

All in all, I would really recommend it, as I describe above, it takes the best parts of some brilliant shows and turns them into something very special.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cracking stuff, 23 April 2007
This review is from: Bones - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
I was only aware of this programme after being a Kathy Reich fan for a number of years.

Having also been a fan of Buffy and Angel I was in no way phased when this emerged from the television hell that is todays listings. I read several reviews and saw the trailers before buying and I was undoubtably impressed. As this is only recently available to watch on Digital TV.

David Boreanz shows himself in a new light, whilst steering himself away from the Science fiction bracket and into the Science bracket and showing what a pretty good actor he is. I appreciated Emily Deschanel's portrayal of Temperance Brennan as the superb scientist that she is and when she integrates herself along with the other scientists it becomes clear that she is a born leader, albeit a tad young, for such a character. That was the only unrealistic thing about the programme, the ages of the characters I did not think that they corresponded with the wealth of experience and learning that they would have gained, but this is a minor foible.

There are some excellent episodes here and if you were in any doubt it does have some heart and compassion and makes a point of denoting this regardless of the main character's apparent heartlessness, which is just an inadequate capacity to deal with human emotion in tragic circumstances.

I hope that should you choose to buy, that you will approach it with an open mind and you might just be surprised.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent! More please!!!, 12 Aug. 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bones - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
As someone put it "Bones is a sexed-up CSi". They won't wrong there!

I found an episode (the second in the series) on Sky3 and after watching a few minutes worth, I was hooked! It was gruesome in places, heartfelt, strong, sexy and funny which made this series pratically perfect in my eyes!

For those who are confused, Bones is a the lead character's nickname (though she loathes it!), a forensic anthropologist Dr. Temperance Brennan, who has been "sold out" (as she puts it) to the FBI to solve bizarre, heart-tugging and down-right weird cases with Agent Booth and her team of scientists (a geek, the bug/slime conspiracy theorist, the liberal artist who enbraces life and a archaelogist) sometimes know as Squints (not lovingly, I must add). Add in some dark humour, sexily tension and characters that have human flaws and Bones is the outcome

Saying that, the series was based on Kathy Reich books and real-life advertures, but expect this series to be based on her books, you may be disappointed. I'm going to read the book series, but I have been warned, so I'm warning you!

But I love this series! Bring on Series 2 on DVD!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 6 Mar. 2007
By 
Julie Burns "nalex1013" (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bones - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
This is a fabulous show with smart stories, very entertaining acting, can be hugely funny and has a fab cast. A must see. It took me a few episodes to really get it but I was glad I stuck with it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 39 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not like the books - but still very good, 4 Dec. 2006
By 
Iain S. Palin (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Bones - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Readers of Kathy Reichs' novels about forensic anthropologist Tempe Brennan should not watch this expecting it to be the same as the books, because it's very different. Not worse, just different.

The venue has been moved from the book Brennan's Charlotte, North Carolina and Monreal, Quebec, to Washington DC, where Brennan has been given a new personality and back-story, a glitzy lab worthy of "CSI Miami", a set of brilliant, wise-cracking, and personally dysfunctional side-kicks, and a partner-in-investigation in the form of smouldering-but-humorous David Boreanaz, who after his long TV life as a vampire ("Buffy", "Angel") has been reborn as an FBI man.

The series has clearly been designed with the viewership of "CSI" and "NCIS" in mind, and I don't object to that because I enjoy them too. The stories are well-crafted, the scripting is generally excellent, and so what if the plots get a bit contrived on occasion, and some of the team's equipment seems to owe more to "Star Trek" than Planet Earth (forensic lab directors would probably kill for Miss Montenegro's holographic device), after all, it is fiction and entertainment.

Watch the series - it's very good - but read Kathy Reichs' books too, they're very good in a whole different way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars At it's best, a very entertaining series., 18 Jun. 2007
By 
Laura Dick "lauzybabes" (Newcastle, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bones - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Initially, I wasn't convinced about this series, especially since earlier episodes can sometimes feel a bit slow and stilted; however, a few episodes in, the pace quickens and it really becomes very engrossing TV.

Comparisons with the CSI franchise are somewhat unfair since they are so well established, but at it's best 'Bones' does stand up to it's counterparts.

The science is all still there but there's the added bonus of more humour and more emotion both in the individual episode's characters and stories but also in the long-term characters. The chemistry between Brennan and Booth and (developing between) Angela and Hodges also makes for excellent intrigue in the "will they, won't they?" style.

Altogether, a very watchable, entertaining and interesting series in a slightly different vein to other forensic dramas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bones - Season 1 [DVD]
Bones - Season 1 [DVD] by Emily Deschanel (DVD - 2009)
£18.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews