Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dvd
Really enjoyed this film , I would recommend that you watch Kiddulthood first though, as it is a follow on from that film. 9/10
Published on 28 Aug 2009 by Nadine Hopton

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Could have done better Blood
I thought the first film was excellent, which I caught on TV accidently whilst channel hoping, so bought both the original and this sequel on the strength of the first film. Although i think the film deals bravely with a subject matter that is very much in the public consciousness with the surge in youth violence, and it deals with the subject in a sensitive way as well...
Published on 10 Jan 2010 by E. Culpin


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Could have done better Blood, 10 Jan 2010
By 
E. Culpin "Ronag" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Adulthood [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
I thought the first film was excellent, which I caught on TV accidently whilst channel hoping, so bought both the original and this sequel on the strength of the first film. Although i think the film deals bravely with a subject matter that is very much in the public consciousness with the surge in youth violence, and it deals with the subject in a sensitive way as well as being very stylised. Unfortunately it failed to have the same impact the first film had. I think it's worth watching, but whereas I can say I could watch the first film over and over, this sequel I don't think I would want to see more than once. SOME of the actors are great including the guy who plays Moony, and I love Noel Clarke so there is an extra star in there just for him alone:)

In a nutshell - it's......... OK!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dvd, 28 Aug 2009
By 
Nadine Hopton - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Adulthood [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
Really enjoyed this film , I would recommend that you watch Kiddulthood first though, as it is a follow on from that film. 9/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Follow up!, 2 Feb 2009
By 
This review is from: Adulthood [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
Excellent follow up to Kidulthood. We see the difference six years make and the paths the characters from the first instalment take. Not usually a fan of the kind of music that accompanies the film but have to say that it does give the film and extra bounce to it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "I'm legally an adult ...I've never felt more like a kid", 27 July 2011
By 
@GeekZilla9000 "I am completely operational a... (Doncaster, Yorkshire, UK.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
After writing and acting in Kidulthood, Noel Clarke seizes full creative control by also directing the sequel. With most of the original cast back along with some new faces, Adulthood shows us how the transition from teen to adult has affected the lives of those on the rough London estate. The film begins with a quick recap of the events from the last film, and then six years later we see a shooting on the estate - it doesn't look like things have really changed...

Sam is now a free man after serving 6 years in prison for the killing of Trevor. He walks out of prison and into a city where his previous actions have not been forgotten, within hours he's sporting a knife wound from a revenge attack. With the promise of further revenge we see Sam struggling with his hard-to-break violent habits and a desire to put it all behind him. Although the film follows several characters, Sam is the central figure and despite his tough guy image he is carrying a lot of emotional baggage.

As with Kidulthood, on the surface Adulthood looks like a film desperate to look like a cool Brit-flick - but there's substance here. As well as macho posturing and punches, there are bombshells and tears to come from the hard-men. For characters who find it so difficult to open up and discus their insecurities there are times where they philosophise and reflect on past events. While a lot of the kids don't seem to have grown up much, some are less nave and have matured - through flashbacks we see how some of Sam's experiences in prison turned him from the hard kid on the block into a little boy on the wing and it's made him realise that the world is a much bigger place than the London estate which seemed to be the centre of the universe.

For those who consider Adulthood to tar youths as all being sex, drugs and violence obsessed sociopaths, Clarke gives us fantastic moments which sweep the stereotypes aside to show us that there is hope for all kids, incidents such as showing a gang of lads acting macho on the bus - but giving their seat up for a mum and her little boy, or seeing one of the boys from the last film working as a community support officer for the police - we should never easily dismiss someone because of their background. The performances are excellent here, particularly Clarke himself and Scarlett Alice Johnson whose scenes are the most intensely dark, yet tender of the film. Aided by the depth and the realism of their depictions, both Sam and Lexi are absolutely plausible and could easily exist on any street.

Noel Clarke's directing talent is clearly led by strong artistic vision as scenes tend to be nicely framed and in keeping with the tone of the moment. The film looks modern but if it's guilty of anything then it perhaps tries a bit too hard to include as much as possible, the split screen works well and shows how different events are happening at the same time or linked together, but the mock Matrix-style 360-cam seemed a little unnecessary. This Blu-Ray release, again, looks great. The naturalistic style works well and the gritty backdrops provide lots of detail to be brought out in high-definition. Where the speech in the prequel was sometimes a bit quiet compared to the music, it is perfectly clear here and never drowned out - essential when it's often rapidfire and occasionally mumbled in that fake pseudo-gangsta accent, d'ya get me?

In a nutshell: At first this felt like a poor sequel to a rather good debut film, but as the story progresses we get a satisfying conclusion which is in-keeping with all which has gone before. This has a more optimistic note and you get the sense that many of the characters want change, and some are now independent enough to make it happen in their lives.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Technically OK, loathsome characters & plot, 9 Dec 2010
By 
This review is from: Adulthood [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
The London tourist board probably weren't too happy with Adulthood or the "prequel", Kidulthood. London is portrayed as pretty much a poster-child for zero-tolerance policing, with unrestrained violent youth common on the streets. What makes this more unsettling is that the cast & crew interviews don't lead me to believe the cast were actually doing very much in the way of "acting" in either film. As with the first film, the script & direction are fine and the plot, if pretty predictable, hangs together without too much issue. It's a pretty straightforward "revenge" flick, though, and you will have seen it all before in a different setting.

3 stars, then, with the 3rd for technical merit alone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect viewing for Middle England, 23 Nov 2008
This review is from: Adulthood [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
What this film is great for is its sociological potency. It is important that the section of society that the movie deals with has a voice, and "Adulthood", like its predecessor "Kidulthood", both go to great lengths to give this (growing) section of society a voice.

Middle England cannot ignore movies like this. The youth portrayed in this film vary little to real life. The UK faces a major shortage in labour in the up and coming years - "Kidulthood" and "Adulthood" shows why. Expect immigration aplenty to plug the labour gaps, whilst these kids go around trying to assert just who is the real 'bad man'.

The UK is in a current state of malaise, it is in need of a shot-in-the-arm. What kind of shot is open to debate. "Adulthood", and its predecessor "Kidulthood" are both good starting points in trekking the answer.

In short then WATCH IT.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 12 Oct 2008
By 
Caleb Williams (Liverpool) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
6 years after the incidents of Kidulthood, Sam (Noel Clark) is released from prison a new man. He regrets what he does and wants to move on with his life, the only problem being is that some of the friends and family of Trife haven't forgotten. Since that dreadful night, everyone involved has been forced to do some growing up but some of those have grown up with the bitterness and anger boiling up inside them.

Jay (Adam Deacon), one of the closest friends of Trife is truly after revenge so he pays someone to kill Sam. Along the way, knowing that people are after him Sam seeks to not only find out who's trying to kill him but make amends for the lives he's destroyed.

This is a truly immensely real film, it doesn't hold back in showing you the violent lives of London's inner city youth. I never thought I'd root for the bad guy but seeing the power in Noels performance, playing a man who truly wants to end the violence it truly came through. Although the actors are playing kids in late teens to early twenties, I was surprised by the age of some of the actors especially Noel. Maybe it's just his acting power but with him being 33 I was genuinely surprised that I couldn't actually question the age of the character he was playing.

Anyway, enough of that. I'll just wrap it up with this. People will say that this is a negative view of inner city childhood and doesn't accurately portray the lives of such kids. Others will say it's possibly the most accurate depiction you're going to get in a nation wide movie. I would go with the latter, it's frighteningly realistic and somewhat unfortunate. Noel Clark is a truly talented man, not just as an actor but as a writer/director.

I would strongly recommend this to any film fan, fans of the original Kidulthood or just kids looking to learn a thing or two. In regards to tackling this type of culture, why not show this film in schools? It may not have the biggest impact but it would certainly show the repercussions of such behaviour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars sharp and shocking sequel, 31 Oct 2008
By 
This review is from: Adulthood [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
Sam (Clarke) is released from prison 6 years after he killed Trife. Now old faces are warning him that someone is going to hurt him and his mother.

Kidulthood powered itself to the media's attention with its strong and controversial look at a group of young youths in London and its sequel Adulthood continues the look at what is regarded at a stereotypical teenager.

Clarke stunned critics with his hard approach to real life Britain in his first film and how the general public react to seeing teenagers who wear a hoodie and swear every other word. Though Clarke's view of the stereotype is exaggerated he has hit the nail on the head with the behaviour of modern teens. The way teens treat adults and how teens are so inconsiderate of others is a very accurate portrayal of the typical teenager and the film creates that hard realism by using such figures.

Criminals, druggies, and thugs are all in these two films and give viewers a good look at what British teenage life is like.

In context of the last film, Sam's return was always going to spark anger with friends of Trife's and Clarke has grabbed the concepts of revenge and human emotion and twisted the ordinary revenge into powerful shock.

Adulthood is a coming of age drama as we see characters from Kidulthood grown up with their own lives at university or with their family. Seeing the change in characters makes the viewer feel associated with the story as the realism behind the change in circumstances is an occurrence that happens with everyone.

The plot uses issues of loyalty, hatred and coming of age to get the point of realism across to the audience. The strong focusing upon such issues fulfils the drama genre and creates that ultimate hard real life sad feeling. The plot is consistent but the dialogue feels very repetitive and is often hard to comprehend with the constant use of slang. The performances and facial reactions are enough to make the issues understandable, in particular Clarke who you can empathize with.

There are a few predictable and repetitive moments but there is a surprise around every other corner which makes this enjoyable.

Clarke's direction is the best part of this film. Sharp and fast, Clarke has created one of the finest directed British films to date with appropriate use of high and low angled shots in the context. The splitting screen likewise is a great technique, a unique and diverse approach that feels like an observation of the teenager's lives.

Adulthood is a true sequel, strong and realistic with plenty in store to shock and excite.

8/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 15 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Adulthood [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
Son loved this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dvd, 10 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Adulthood [DVD] (DVD)
I am happy with the movie it is worth the watch I would recommend to friends and family good value
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Adulthood [DVD]
Adulthood [DVD] by Noel Clarke (DVD - 2009)
5.16
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews