Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Please make available in European format
We love all the Jesse Stone films that we have seen so far and I'd give them all 5 stars but Thin Ice, Innocents Lost and No Remorse remain elusive because they are only viewable in NTSC. Wish someone in the United States would realise that there are people living in the UK and Europe who would like to buy and view these movies. Why make the first four available but not...
Published on 23 Jun 2012 by Mad About Books

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Welcome continuation of much loved characters, lacking narrative drive
Tom Selleck returns in what has to now be considered one of his finest roles, as Robert Parker's damaged Chief of Police of a remote Massachusetts town. Or actually, following the events of the previous movie, now the former Chief of Police. As always, the pleasure of watching these movies is not so much what happens, as what doesn't happen.. there's no action set...
Published on 11 Mar 2012 by Mr. Stephen Kennedy


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Please make available in European format, 23 Jun 2012
This review is from: Jesse Stone: Innocents Lost [DVD] [2011] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
We love all the Jesse Stone films that we have seen so far and I'd give them all 5 stars but Thin Ice, Innocents Lost and No Remorse remain elusive because they are only viewable in NTSC. Wish someone in the United States would realise that there are people living in the UK and Europe who would like to buy and view these movies. Why make the first four available but not the last three. Doesn't make sense to me. Tried to write to the production company but nobody replied.

May 2013: Since posting this review I have managed to record the above three films onto Dvd from the television so now have the complete set including the chilling Stone Cold. Looking forward to the next film from the Selleck locker.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Welcome continuation of much loved characters, lacking narrative drive, 11 Mar 2012
By 
Mr. Stephen Kennedy "skenn1701a" (Doha, Qatar) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Jesse Stone: Innocents Lost [DVD] [2011] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
Tom Selleck returns in what has to now be considered one of his finest roles, as Robert Parker's damaged Chief of Police of a remote Massachusetts town. Or actually, following the events of the previous movie, now the former Chief of Police. As always, the pleasure of watching these movies is not so much what happens, as what doesn't happen.. there's no action set piece, no car chase.. just a flawed individual trying to do what he does best, while coming to terms with his failed marriage and subsequent drinking problem. This time round, it is the apparent suicide of a young woman who gets Stone investigating. His mentor like relationship with the girl is explored in flashback, against his search for the truth in present day for how such an unlikely event could occur. Needless to say, foul play becomes evident, and Stone has to do what a man has to do in his own unique style to see the bad guys brought to justice.
Tom Selleck is still terrific in the role, spending long moments swirling the whiskey in his tumbler while facing off against his dog who he decides `has intimacy issues'. The dog actually gets close to outperforming the humans at times, with those mournful face-offs against Selleck. Having said that Selleck has `nailed the role' (to quote Parker himself), with Jesse no longer the Chief of Police, the plot machinations to get him sleuthing again seem somehow a little more contrived and not as naturalistic as we have come to expect, and the movie somehow feels lacking in focus. There's the usual cameos of characters from the series (Saul Rubinek, William Devane) who add to a sense of worthiness to the production, and giving the movie enough of a lived in feel to be worth spending time on for an hour and a half. The gentle soundtrack adds to a well worn feel of a place and people you are happy to join the company of, but you might struggle to remember much about it the next day, other than its well developed sense of mood.
So I would say, if you're new to Jesse Stone, go back to the start and watch Jesse Stone: Night Passage [DVD] [2007] and Stone Cold [DVD] [2005] first, if you're already a fan you're still going to enjoy spending more time with these uniquely introspective characters, but here's hoping the show regains some narrative drive before its next outing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Seventh in the series, 10 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jesse Stone: Innocents Lost [DVD] [2011] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
For anyone wanting to watch the Jessie Stone films in order this is the seventh film. Shame we couldnt find it in region 2 but works fine on a multi-region dvd player
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Jesse Stone - Innocents Lost, 24 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jesse Stone: Innocents Lost [DVD] [2011] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
I could not operate the three DVD tapes on my player as they were not for this viewing zone. I was about to return the when I realised that I could view them on my laptop computer. Not perfect but I can still enjoy my DVDs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant series, 13 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jesse Stone: Innocents Lost [DVD] [2011] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
I have always liked Tom Selleck, and not just for Magnum. This is a wonderful series- LAPD Homicide policeman- drink problem and is fired. Turns up for Chief of police job in small town-Paradise. Despite smelling like a brewery, he is hired, and the series follows several cases . Paradise has a dark underside, and characters played by great actors. Not least- the canine parts! Each is a complete episode, but worth watching from the beginning- Jesse Stone is a troubled man, and his character shows this as the series progresses.
Hope the last one-"Benefit of the doubt" comes out soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Tom Selleck is amazing, 11 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jesse Stone: Innocents Lost [DVD] [2011] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
Tom Selleck in these made for television movies is simply brilliant. Well actored throughout, very huministic stories and characters that are so watchable and entertaining. The seller was very good, prompt delivery on order.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Tom Selleck at his best !, 2 May 2014
By 
Trond Jansson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jesse Stone: Innocents Lost [DVD] [2011] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
The films about Jesse Stone, is one of Tom Selleck`s best performance as an actor . And a great storyline all together makes this movie, and the other ones in the series, to a memorable and enjoyable time for all his fans !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars AN EXCELLENT SERIES, 4 Feb 2014
By 
J. Pang (Surrey, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jesse Stone: Innocents Lost [DVD] [2011] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
Well worth watching this refreshing, innovative approach to TV crime series. I wish the series wasn't so short (only 8 films made).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Series, 8 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jesse Stone: Innocents Lost [DVD] [2011] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
I really enjoy this series.. having watched it several times it still enthrals! Great storylines, great acting & Tom Selleck's superb - as always!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Tom Selleck at is best, 21 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jesse Stone: Innocents Lost [DVD] [2011] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
Tom Selleck at is best
Jesse Stone is different to the usual series, by the atmosphere, the intensity of the acting,
and of course by the performance of Tom Selleck…
too bad the network does not seem willing to continue the series..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews