Customer Reviews


78 Reviews
5 star:
 (47)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


52 of 55 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic debut - clever, cutting fantasy
Among Thieves is the debut novel from Douglas Hulick. Set in the grimy fantasy city of Ildrecca, it is the tale of Drothe, a hooded-assassin type and member of the city's underworld legion of criminal "Kin".

With a scruffy, dual-wielding piratical looking gentleman and a cover quote from Brent Weeks, the reader can be excused for thinking this is your standard...
Published on 2 April 2011 by J. Shurin

versus
14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad, needs a bit of polishing
In an increasing busy sub-genre, that of the loveable(?) rogue, this isn't a bad entry for a first attempt. There would appear to be plenty mileage in the characters in here but they need drawing out more and the world depicted is all a bit generic. I also think that the author lays on the action a bit too thick at times as the hero immediately jumps from one peril to...
Published on 30 May 2011 by Big Jim


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

52 of 55 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic debut - clever, cutting fantasy, 2 April 2011
By 
J. Shurin "carnivore" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Among Thieves is the debut novel from Douglas Hulick. Set in the grimy fantasy city of Ildrecca, it is the tale of Drothe, a hooded-assassin type and member of the city's underworld legion of criminal "Kin".

With a scruffy, dual-wielding piratical looking gentleman and a cover quote from Brent Weeks, the reader can be excused for thinking this is your standard act of adolescent escapism - roguish heroism with a sarcastic protagonist. And, to a certain degree, all of these things are true. But when push comes to shove, Among Thieves is more Locke Lamora than Night Angel. It is a cunning and well-scripted action-adventure with a surprisingly complex character at its heart. I expected guilty pleasure and found genuine entertainment.

Drothe (granted, a rather unfortunate name) is a "Nose". He works as an information-gatherer for one of the city's "Upright Men" gathering information on the city's delicate political scene. Ildrecca is divided up by the gangs of "Upright Men" with the Emperor (the land's proper monarch) and the mysterious Gray Princes playing their own, grander, game in the background. As a Nose, Drothe gets into all sorts of trouble - especially since he's running his own cons on the side. Fortunately, his best friend, Bronze Degan, is often there to bail him out.

If nothing else, Mr. Hulick gets sixteen bonus points and a silver star for not making Drothe exceptional in any way. He's clever, but knows he's not as smart as many of the real players in the Kin's underworld. He's pretty fiesty, but certainly no match for the hardened killers he encounters. He's well-connected, but still a minor part of the Kin. As for supernatural, prophesy-fulfilling powers? Er... he's got night vision (the legacy of an awkward childhood ritual), but most of the time it is more of a hindrance than a help. In fact, Drothe's unique only for his Sam Spade-like ability to be in the right place at the wrong time.

Ildrecca is a fascinating city in a thoroughly complicated world, but, like any well-crafted novel - we only learn about it through the eyes of our protagonist. As Drothe creeps about in search of a missing artifact (a book, of all things), he unravels layer after layer. Mr. Hulick's use of his homebrewed Thieves' Cant is another noteworthy element along this vein. He drops in his criminal slang naturally, letting the reader determine the meaning of each word through context and repetition. Considering the depth of both the world and the vocabulary, the fact that Among Thieves does not come packaged with appendices and glossary is a brave and utterly praise-worthy decision. Among Thieves is about the story, not the world.

Mr. Hulick also has an impressive knack for introducing other characters as people rather than representatives of a particular class, race or skill-set. Even with Drothe's enemies, we know them for their personal impact on Drothe and Among Thieves, rather than as more meaningful Big Bads. Despite the far-reaching consequences of Drothe's adventures, Among Thieves is kept as a very focused and personal story.

There are still a few bugs to work out. As mentioned above, Drothe does mostly advance through accident. He's charmingly self-aware of this, but, even so, mostly of his plotting and problem-solving takes place one episodic chapter at a time. In future books, with Drothe as an established character, it would be interesting to see him behave in a less reactive fashion.

Among Thieves is, if you'll forgive the cliche, a promising debut. Mr. Hulick has the hard stuff nailed. He's written a tight, jaunty story and filled it with a large cast of memorable personalities. Mr. Hulick has also created one of the most interesting fantasy landscapes in a long time - a land of interfering angels, shadow governments and immortal monarchs - but he keeps his priorities straight and makes sure that the world-building never takes over. At the conclusion of Among Thieves, anything could happen next, and I can't wait to find out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Urban Fantasy Debut of 2011?, 5 Oct 2011
This review is from: Among Thieves: A Tale of the Kin (Tale of the Kin 1) (Kindle Edition)
Definitely my favourite.

I'm not a big fan of unassuming main characters that can never do anything wrong. Drothe is the opposite: he's good at what he does, but in the book he gets way over his head; and he knows it. He's not an expert fighter, and usually gets by either through luck or his good friend Bronze Degan.

I couldn't fault anything in this book - the characters are all awesome, the city of Ildrecca, although it needs to be further fleshed out, is alive, with the Ten Ways cordon particularly well described, and the storyline is equally personal and epic.

If you liked 'The Lies of Locke Lamora' then you'd definitely enjoy this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great writing, and completely enthralling. Read it!, 26 April 2011
Well, I would put this one on pair with writers such as Abercrombie.
It fits very well into this new wave of dark/realism that seems to have swept fantasy lately...
Action is bloody, gritted and intense. The distinction between evil/good does not make much sense because of the genuine realism of protagonists. This makes them all the more believable and likeable.
One difference though: instead of swapping between points of views at every chapter like seems to be the contemporary fashion, the story focuses on this one complex and very likeable character in a fist person view.
The author got that simple but difficult act perfectly balanced, and it works extremely well!
I was getting tired of these panoramic views of the same story where you had to go from uninteresting to even less interesting characters...
I literally could not put the book down...
Hats off to Douglas Hulick !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Right up my (dark, rat-infested) alley!, 12 Jan 2012
This review is from: Among Thieves: A Tale of the Kin (Tale of the Kin 1) (Kindle Edition)
Among Thieves is the story of Drothe (no surname - he's too cool for that!), a "Nose" or informant in the pay of one of the crimelords of Ildrecca, the capital of a Renaissance-like empire. There are hints of a wider world outside, but the action of the book is confined to the city itself, particularly the seedier quarters where a "shadow empire" of organised crime holds sway. Drothe works for an Upright Man, one of the lower-level bosses who have carved up the city between them but who are themselves pawns in a larger game played by the Gray Princes, near-legendary figures known only by epithets such as "Longreach" or "The Piper's Son". Hulick's use of historical thieves' cant, supplemented by invented slang, gives shape to what could otherwise be a bewildering array of forgers, fences and hired muscle, as Drothe investigates what seems to be a minor mystery (an undecipherable code found on a smuggler) and finds himself way in over his head.

This is certainly the most action-packed book I've read since The Swords of Albion - poor Drothe rarely escapes a chapter without another chase or fight (and a good deal of resultant pain and injury). The pace develops gently at first, allowing the reader time to get to know the world, but by the halfway mark the plot revelations and action set-pieces are coming thick and fast. The fight scenes in particular are very detailed - Hulick is an aficionado of renaissance swordsmanship - indeed almost a little too detailed and blow-by-blow, but this is first-person narrative so I'm willing to cut Drothe a little slack for being hyperaware in combat. I know from firsthand experience (not fighting, I must add) how time really does seem to slow down when your adrenaline spikes!

It's not all swordplay, however; this is a world of magic too, from minor charms used by the criminal fraternity to spells of earth-shattering power forbidden to all but the emperor. Mostly, though, magic seems to cause more problems than it solves - an approach I heartily endorse.

Overall, a cracking debut, and I'm really looking forward to reading the sequel, Sworn in Steel, which is due out summer 2012.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A new kid on the block..., 18 Oct 2011
By 
I'll be honest - I get a bit blasé about claims that a new writer is `the best thing since Scott Lynch/Brent Weeks/Joe Abercrombie' - all of which have been said about Douglas Hulick, who has been heaped with praise for his debut novel Among Thieves.

Hulick certainly went with the notion of starting this tale of nefarious dealings with a bang - a torture scene where his protagonist is the torturer. It's a big risk. And a testament to Hulick's writing skill that despite such a start, I ended up thoroughly liking Drothe, who turns out to be a dependable chap - in a squirrelly, sneaking back-handed way.... The story is told in first person viewpoint. As well as getting to know Drothe's interestingly complex character, we also are treated to a front row seat as this Nose is pitchforked into the middle of a plot with more twists than a corkscrew.

Hulick's other strength is his depiction of the world. Ildrecca is wonderfully described, particularly the revolting slum that is Ten Ways. This is a complex world, with plenty of politics and religion, along with a magic called glimmer. However, we learn of it in manageable slices as the plot whips along - there's no dreary two-page exposition. I also love the way that some of Drothe's assumptions are completely undercut by the end of the book. In addition to Drothe, there is an entertaining cast of characters - as this is apparently the start of a series, I'm looking forward to seeing more of Christiana, Drothe's enigmatic sister, who has managed to marry into nobility.

An aspect of the book that I particularly enjoyed, was Hulick's use of language. This is something, in my opinion, not enough fantasy/science fiction authors consider sufficiently. It always grates with me when I hear a 20th century idiom roll off the tongue of an otherworldly wizard, or a posthuman character travelling faster-than-light. Hulick addresses this issue with his Cant. There are those readers who profess to have found it off-putting and claim that it got in the way of the story. I'm scratching my head over that one. Once I got into the rhythm of the writing, I found that I rarely had to stop and think about exactly what was being said - and if I did, surely it isn't necessarily a major problem? If he'd made the whole language completely impenetrable, I could see why readers might have grounds for protesting, but in the act of picking up a book I expect to engage with it. As a reader, I do prefer an author who presupposes that I am intelligent and capable of joining up some of the dots myself.

The fight scenes are well handled - although if I've got a grizzle, there's probably a couple too many for my taste - however that said, I'm aware that solid fans of this sub-genre really appreciate all the dashing and slashing with sharp, pointy weapons. And the major twist at the end was one I really didn't see coming. All in all, for once I find myself nodding at the favourable comparisons with Lynch, Weeks et al... In fact, chaps, I think you'll need to look to your laurels. If this series fulfils its promise - I can see newcomer Hulick being a real contender.
10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An adventure, 25 July 2011
By 
Tightly written and gripping from the first few pages, this book was a pleasant surprise.
I enjoyed the first person narration, as it brought me very close to Drothe, his thoughts, attitudes, and language.
The latter is very direct and creates a film noir atmoshpere.

Drothe's adventures get more and more complicated, as what starts off as a relic theft and a gang skirmish, develops into an all-encopassing conspiracy. Drothe, being a realistic character, stumbles from clue to clue and survives with the help of friends and allies. However, hes is not a puppet. He makes the best possible decisions with the information available at each point in the narration, and fights his ways through an unlimited appearance of enemies and assassins. Everytime he starts off to go from A to B, something happens and Drothe is forced to adjust his strategy ending up in C. And the reader follows him through this maze of street connections, knife and sword fights and magic.

I loved the book and can't wait for the next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad, needs a bit of polishing, 30 May 2011
By 
Big Jim "Big Jim" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
In an increasing busy sub-genre, that of the loveable(?) rogue, this isn't a bad entry for a first attempt. There would appear to be plenty mileage in the characters in here but they need drawing out more and the world depicted is all a bit generic. I also think that the author lays on the action a bit too thick at times as the hero immediately jumps from one peril to another sometimes literally. This means that the book is very much plot driven and I would hope that in future volumes the characters and the world given room to breathe. I get the impresion that this has been written with one eye on the screen rather than as a straight novel but it is a decent if a tad formulaic,romp.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A superb read, 13 Jan 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Among Thieves: A Tale of the Kin (Tale of the Kin 1) (Kindle Edition)
The world of books (and especially fantasy fiction it seems) is full of new authors trying to get our faithful attention. Like many readers, I need to read as much as I need to drink water to stay alive - it's a life-long passion. So what a pleasure it has been to encounter a story that while certainly of a genre, still has a fresh feel.

A very engaging story. I don't provide reviews on all the books I buy and I _very_ rarely give 5 stars (for books), however this story was good enough (once I'd finished!) to get me out of my early Sunday morning bed and write this.

I am very much looking forward to the next volume (apparently being released this summer).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyed, 17 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Among Thieves: A Tale of the Kin (Tale of the Kin 1) (Kindle Edition)
Good plot. Kept my interest throughout with engaging characters. Good twists to the end. I look forward to future developments.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just plain cool, 2 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Among Thieves: A Tale of the Kin (Tale of the Kin 1) (Kindle Edition)
Enjoyed this so much... sometimes hapless but always cool, Drothe is a character you just want to keep reading about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews