Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars clearly written, easy to follow
Clearly written, easy to follow clinical manual and a good synopsis of schema therapy for someone who hasn't been formally trained in it.
Published on 24 Jan 2012 by E. L. Riggs

versus
4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but a little too patronising and written with an austerity
I did like this. Would rather give it 3.5 stars than three, but many things took away its power. 1. Clearly imagery etc. heavily borrows from many other psychotherapies and these are not named. Hypnosis, regression, inner child work, psychodrama etc. But almost suggest this unique and innovative practice is completely new when it is reinventing the wheel. 2...
Published on 14 Nov 2011 by Amazon Customer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars clearly written, easy to follow, 24 Jan 2012
By 
E. L. Riggs - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Clearly written, easy to follow clinical manual and a good synopsis of schema therapy for someone who hasn't been formally trained in it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Really useful introductory text, 18 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am a Trainee Forensic Psychologist and bought this book as a basic introductory text to understand more about schema therapy. I would recommend the book for anyone who is brand new to the idea of schemas and schema therapy.

However, I found some parts of the book a little confusing and had to read certain paragraphs several times to get the point being made. In particular, some of the case studies used to illustrate schema surrender, avoidance and overcompensation were difficult to follow - after reading through a few times I did not feel they always added to my understanding of the coping styles. I also thought the section on schema modes was not brilliantly clear - I think this could be because modes are quite a complex concept to understand. Perhaps the format of the book (explaining the basics of schema therapy in 30 brief chapters) does not lend itself well to this.

Overall, I think this is a good reference book to have on the bookshelf for undergraduate, postgraduate and doctoral-level students, as well as practitioners. However, to get a more thorough understanding of the intricacies of schema therapy, I will need to read further afield.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good, 4 Feb 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Schema Therapy: Distinctive Features (CBT Distinctive Features) (Kindle Edition)
Explains the distinctive features well. That's it really. It does what it says on the tin. If you're not interested in CBT and Schema therapy, you won't like it, but if you do, you will.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Schema therapy: distinctive features, 17 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Schema Therapy: Distinctive Features (CBT Distinctive Features) a good introduction to the shema therapy but if you want more client-frendly approach I would recommend Reinventing your life by Jeffrey Young.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Having just done a CBT course, this seemed to ..., 7 July 2014
By 
Deruwa (Bournemouth, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Schema Therapy: Distinctive Features (CBT Distinctive Features) (Kindle Edition)
Having just done a CBT course, this seemed to be the next step. A very interesting read even of you're not involved in therapy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very Interesting, 15 Mar 2013
By 
Nickrs (Montgomeryshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I don't like psychology, never have, I had to do a year of it at University and slept through most of it! Although I think this book is aimed at CBT practitioners whether they be clinical psychologist, CPNs or counsellors, I bought it because I wanted to know as much about Schemas as the professional who was trying to find out why I hated myself. I was quite surprised as it actually makes quite a lot of sense and is useful as an introduction to the theory. Not a book to read cover to cover, I dipped in and re-read and cross referenced and to be honest I have found it quite enlightening and not particularly boring to read. Four stars because I would have liked a bit more theory on top of the case studies. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but a little too patronising and written with an austerity, 14 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I did like this. Would rather give it 3.5 stars than three, but many things took away its power. 1. Clearly imagery etc. heavily borrows from many other psychotherapies and these are not named. Hypnosis, regression, inner child work, psychodrama etc. But almost suggest this unique and innovative practice is completely new when it is reinventing the wheel. 2. Overtly technical and presumptuous on many levels of diagnosis and sometimes the language is dehumanized and lacks the descriptive quality you might hope from a piece of work that seeks to inspire practitioners. 3. It is evident that there are many advantages over traditional CBT, but as the compassionate therapy book in this series suggests, the drive towards 'healthy adult schema' could be quite unforgiving of the client and instigate more self-loathing. Is there one main model of a 'healthy adult'? And who defines these values? Is this always possible or indeed right for all people? It seems to me, some attention to the mindfulness and compassion based theories would make a useful integration. However, was useful to look at schemas and the overdriving impacts that these have on people and some of the ways that could be beneficial to access these.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews