Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mostly sturdy, works well
First of all, as other reviewers have said, you want to get the 6 litre straining bag to go with this - it'll keep the fruit inside the press as you squeeze it and helps with the clearing up afterwards. Why they don't include one with this item I have no idea.

The metal parts of this press are good and sturdy and there was never any doubt in my mind that it...
Published 18 months ago by Far from Cardiff

versus
11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Could be better
Agree that instructions for use are very poor - the picture on the front is just plain wrong. Also it should be sold with straining bag as it is useless without something to line the inside. We didn't realise this until we came to use it - had to improvise with tea towels which were too thick so ended up with very little juice from an awful of pears! Have now ordered the...
Published 18 months ago by GKM


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mostly sturdy, works well, 2 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fruit Press (6 Litre)
First of all, as other reviewers have said, you want to get the 6 litre straining bag to go with this - it'll keep the fruit inside the press as you squeeze it and helps with the clearing up afterwards. Why they don't include one with this item I have no idea.

The metal parts of this press are good and sturdy and there was never any doubt in my mind that it could cope with the pressure I was putting on it. Be a little careful with the wooden slats - they're screwed onto the two bands and I accidentally pressed on one a bit too hard and pushed it away from the screw. I'm sure it's easily repaired and it didn't get in the way of further pressing.

The metal parts are painted a lovely, glossy red - and this WILL get chipped and scraped as you use it. Just accept it - it's inevitable.

Not shown in the photo is the fact that there are screw holes on each of the feet of the stand. Save yourselves a lot of time and screw the press onto something - we had a large board we could use, big enough that we could place it on the floor, sit on it, and then you'll find it much, much easier to tighten the press as tight as you've got strength for, which will improve the amount of juice you get out of it.

You will need additional wooden blocks, especially if the press is not full of fruit when you start. I "borrowed" some wooden cubes from Number 3 son's toy basket, which worked really well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fruity and Juicy, 24 Oct. 2011
This review is from: Fruit Press (6 Litre)
Long laboreous wotrk at first but when the first drop fall out your mind races ahead and start thinking of making cider next year, I found it easier to cut the apples small an keep on adding to it when the juices stop coming out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Could be better, 26 Sept. 2013
This review is from: Fruit Press (6 Litre)
Agree that instructions for use are very poor - the picture on the front is just plain wrong. Also it should be sold with straining bag as it is useless without something to line the inside. We didn't realise this until we came to use it - had to improvise with tea towels which were too thick so ended up with very little juice from an awful of pears! Have now ordered the straining bag separately but too late for this year's crop. For what it's worth, I tried to put this review on the Selections site and they refused to upload it!Fruit Press (6 Litre)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 5 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fruit Press (6 Litre)
Great value for the price, does the job it says on the box. Would recommend to any one for pressing fruit in bulk
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It is good for pressing apples., 20 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fruit Press (6 Litre)
Apples are the only fruit I've pressed so far. Easy to set up and use, the 6 litre size filled to the top produced 2 liters of juice. However, I did put two extra little blocks of wood under the screw to achieve this.
I did not screw the press down to the floor as suggested by the maker because I managed to press the fruit sufficiently without using the lever bar. This might be necessary if it is used on a sloppy surface.
It was very easy to clean after use and soon dried out beside the central heating radiator
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy to use - brilliant, 2 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fruit Press (6 Litre)
Fantastic! Easy to use and easy to assemble, this press was perfect for small scale home brewing of cider. I bought this along with a mesh bag from the same supplier which came in useful for disposing of the pulp afterwards, and stopping any bits of wayward pulp from squeezing its way through the wooden slats. The press seems high quality – it is all hardwood, and with some care I can foresee lasting a considerable length of time.

I would have liked an extra couple of blocks to allow more compression of the apples, but I improvised with wood lying around the garden and that seemed to be successful.

From the first drop of juice (which you won’t be able to resist tasting), it’s easy to use and I can’t wait to taste the finished cider (the apple juice was incredible.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fruit press working well!, 6 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fruit Press (6 Litre)
Great service and great product. Could do with more wooden blocks though! Press has been flat out since I got it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fruit Press - its good but..., 17 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fruit Press (6 Litre)
Really pleased with it - only downside is you have to order the bags separately and didn't know till it arrived
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fruit press, 14 Jan. 2013
By 
S. Carrington "Sue" (Craven Arms) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fruit Press (6 Litre)
Instructions for assembly and use were very difficult to follow. The diagrams did not show the same shaped pieces as they actually were.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic product, worked a treat, 29 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fruit Press (6 Litre)
Every year we collect apples and press for cider. We usually make a contraption from scaffolding and car jacks which has varying results. So after much consideration i decided to get this little press.

The only thing you dont get is a pulp bag but i used a cheap pillow case for this. After crushing the apples in a tub with a hammer i was very surprised how much juice this little press got out of them. Needless to say its not as messy as a home-made device and is easy to clean up i just chucked out the used pillow case and rinsed every thing with a little warm soapy water. Its very sturdy. There are holes in the feet so you can screw it to a work bench ( i didn't use this i just clamped it between my knees when it got to hard to turn the handle) All the metal work on mine is paint red and looks lovely in its new home the corner of the kitchen.

Highly recommended to anyone into apple and pear juicing.
Strength - 10/10
appearance - 10/10
Easy of use - 7/10 (no instruction leaflet but you would have to be very challenged not to understand how to work it)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fruit Press (6 Litre)
Fruit Press (6 Litre) by Selections
£65.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews