Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars51
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£12.78+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 April 2013
I recently watched a popumentary on Sky's arts channel about the Hollies. A great band all round that I would put in the same category as the Liverpool's Searchers. The album contains too numerous to mention tracks and I like most of them. To be honest I would believe that after Graham Nash left the group, they then went on the decline with perhaps a handful of six average hits but think this is down to Tony Hicks an excellent guitarist who held the group together during this period. A top five marks.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2015
The Hollies were among the best of British groups in the 60s - characterised by a combination of close vocal harmonies combined with a tough Northern beat group sound . Their best known hit singles still sound remarkably fresh and innovative - quite a feat after the best part of 50 years! Their early albums are a mix of original songs and cover versions - their stage act on vinyl. Some of it sounds a bit dated and recorded in a hurry. The later albums (Evolution/Butterfly) are frankly disappointing - trite hippy/trippy lyrics, too much orchestration and unmemorable songs. They somehow lost their original identifiable sound. Nonetheless this is a good value box set with interesting information about recording dates and original release details. Probably for completists only - for a more concise appreciation of their work can I recommend the At Abbey Road CDs covering the same period.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2015
Since I got my first iPod I have been gradually building up a collection of the songs that I remember from my formative years, mostly the sixties and seventies. Reading Graham Nash's autobiography I started to search the iPod to listen to the songs that he was writing about again and found that I had but one Hollies track on there.
This CD remedied that omission and I am so glad that I added it to my collection. The Hollies sound of the Clarke, Hicks & Nash era is unmistakable with Alan's voice leading and the close harmonies of his band mates. Why it took so long to add this album I don't know.
You have all of the classics here and there is so much variety and inventiveness in the writing (some from Graham Gould, later of 10cc).
An essential part of the soundtrack to the sixties.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2013
This cd collection is very enjoyable to listen to, however one wishes for the original mono / stereo mixes that us "old people" people remember on the radio. Bottom line great listen on revisionist history of a great band.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2013
An excellent look back at this great group from the 60's/70's. There is a fantastic range of songs right from the early days available on this compilation collection and I enjoyed every moment listening again to their many hits!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 December 2014
Wow, the entire recorded output from 1963 to 1968 housed in a lovely package with lovely Parlophone 7" style label discs and a detailed booklet with a great interview with Graham Nash and many great photos. My only minor quibble is that the tracks are not remotely close to chronological order, the individual original album tracks are split up all over the place and mixed up with the singles, B-sides, etc which for the connoisseur who is likely to buy this CD is not the best way to listen to it. The later discs are fascinating showing the band's experimental side away from the earlier pop (which is equally great). 6 discs, 158 tracks for £12, I'm still smiling at the price and even more at the music.
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2013
I have always followed the Hollies, so with this collection you get everything they made/released between 1963 and 1968, some of them i had not heard before.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 June 2013
Excellent boxed set. Some really great songs and some suprizes too. The harmonys are all there even on the early songs, Play it again...
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 May 2013
Big Hollies fan but am now pining for the running order of the original cds. You know what should come next but- it's another track. Worth having for the Live tracks at the end. Pity some tracks were only in mono come on EMI!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 December 2014
Underrated band from the sixties. Known mostly these days for Graham Nash leaving to join Crosby Stills & Nash.
Lots of great pop songs many of which still sound fresh.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)