Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fab
Very funny dvd bought for my daughter as also got her tickets to go and see him live, she loves it.
Published 10 months ago by sphillips

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Funny, but not as good as the rest.
Jimmy Carr is by far my favourite comedian, and I continue to laugh as his previous DVD despite multiple viewings.

This one however did not have many great moments.

As said in another review, some of the material is repetitive, some of it is just not funny.

The whole dragged out accent sequence was quite boring, as was the 'interview' on...
Published on 26 Nov 2011 by M. Mcdermott


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Funny, but not as good as the rest., 26 Nov 2011
By 
M. Mcdermott - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Jimmy Carr: Being Funny [DVD] (DVD)
Jimmy Carr is by far my favourite comedian, and I continue to laugh as his previous DVD despite multiple viewings.

This one however did not have many great moments.

As said in another review, some of the material is repetitive, some of it is just not funny.

The whole dragged out accent sequence was quite boring, as was the 'interview' on stage, (however that was very funny when done in a past DVD with the Irish lady).

The 'come back' joke was brilliant though.

One thing I noticed about this DVD was Jimmy explained the jokes on occasion, the subtle jokes that some may get and others not were some of his greatest moments, the dryness of the delivery.

To then continue just to clarify for those who may not have got it, made the joke less funny.

I was disappointed as I was looking forward to this release for a while.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Standard is slipping....only slightly...but still slipping!, 21 Nov 2011
By 
Gary Hilton "ursinebrute" (Lancashire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Jimmy Carr: Being Funny [DVD] (DVD)
I adore Jimmy Carr. I have seem him live several times and own all his previous DVD's. And as much as it pains me to say it, I feel this is the weakest entry so far.

For the first time ever I noticed several gags have already been used before, and I personally feel there is an over reliance on the visual cartoons that we have seen Jimmy make increasing use of on the overhead projection screens. They even use the autocue as a warm up act....AGAIN! It's just beginning to feel a bit tired and there weren't any great stand out moments for me. Perhaps because this is his 7th DVD then maybe I am simply getting used to his style of delivery and his deadpan one liners, but it just feels a bit lacking.

Don't get me wrong, this isn't a bad DVD; just not as good as some of his previous ones. There is enjoyment to be had here and an average Jimmy Carr DVD is better than most tripe other comics churn out at Christmas, but some of his earlier stuff felt more edgy and daring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fab, 15 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jimmy Carr: Being Funny [DVD] (DVD)
Very funny dvd bought for my daughter as also got her tickets to go and see him live, she loves it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great DVD, 21 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jimmy Carr: Being Funny [DVD] (DVD)
Amazing stand up DVD and even better live. Any Jimmy Carr fan should definitely purchase this DVD. Very good product, very prompt dispatch and delivery and all in all a very satisfied customer as a result. Thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Birthday present, 2 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jimmy Carr: Being Funny [DVD] (DVD)
Bought as present for friend at work. Her favourite comedian and will probably by her other DVDs of him on her next birthday.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars top class, 19 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jimmy Carr: Being Funny [DVD] (DVD)
very funny, been to see him twice and got most of his dvds, a must watch. cant wait for the next one
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Jimmy Carr. Being Funny, 12 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jimmy Carr: Being Funny [DVD] (DVD)
Those that like Jimmy Carr this is another funny DVD . Fast delivery . I would recommend this for a bit of fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 8 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jimmy Carr: Being Funny [DVD] (DVD)
Arrived a few days before it was expected to. Was bought as a gift and he absolutely loves it. Would recommend to anyone if you have seen him before.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Present, 25 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jimmy Carr: Being Funny [DVD] (DVD)
Requested by daughter in law for son's birthday, greatly appreciated by both of them and added to his collection of DVDs
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Funny, 24 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jimmy Carr: Being Funny [DVD] (DVD)
Bought this as a gift and has been enjoyed by several people including myself, great iir you love his sense of humour, good quality, disc and case in perfect condition
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xabf2b3cc)

This product

Jimmy Carr: Being Funny [DVD]
Jimmy Carr: Being Funny [DVD] by Jimmy Carr (DVD - 2011)
7.63
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews