Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars26
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£3.78+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 April 2011
This is simply a stunning collection that features not only most of the big hits but also many other Lizzy classics that seldom appear on a 'best of'. Together with two cuts from 'Live And Dangerous' and 'Jailbreak' from a BBC session, this album is a perfect companion to Spectrum's earlier compilations 'Whiskey In The Jar', 'The Hero And The Madman' and 'Classic Thin Lizzy'. Whereas these sets concentrated on the earlier studio albums, 'Waiting For An Alibi' is Lizzy at their commercial peak.
Wrapped in truly beautiful artwork, this jewel case release also includes a detailed 8 page booklet with liner notes from compiler Malcolm Dome and some great photo's of Phil and the boys. A perfect partner to the recent 'Yellow Pearl' best of (which focused on Phil's solo material), this album marks yet again Spectrum's vastly improved quality and design. Not only is this a perfect introduction for new listeners and a treat for fans, but at this price, is simply a must have!
Five stars isn't high enough.
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2014
This is an excellent collection of 20 tracks.Three of the tracks are live.Most of the tracks are classics.
The information provided via the extensive inner sleeve notes is very good.The sound production on this CD is excellent and even the price of this item was really cheap.I think I paid £3:00.So if you are looking for a really good collection of Thin Lizzy at a great price then buy this.Highly Recommended.You don't need to be 'Waiting For An Alibi' not to by this!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2013
All the songs on this CD are classics in their own right, and I have no problem with that. I bought it on the strength of that. Like another reviewer said, they bought it in a supermarket for a few pounds. Sounds just the same as me. My complaint is that the sound quality throughout is absolutely awful. It seems that it is only me holding that opinion, but it sounded terrible. Cheap, yes. Cheerful, definitely not.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 June 2011
I PICKED THIS UP FOR THREE POUNDS !!! IN ASDA OF ALL PLACES,BUT I WOULD STILL HAVE
BEEN PLEASED WITH THIS COLLECTION AT FOUR TIMES THE PRICE.SO WHAT DO YOU GET FOR
YOUR MONEY ? 20 TRACKS WHICH COVER THEIR CAREER FROM THEIR EARLY DAYS AS A THREE
PIECE TO THEIR FINAL LINE UP WITH JOHNSYKES ON GUITAR.YOU GET TO HEAR MOST OF THE
GUITAR PLAYERS THAT PLAYED FOR LIZZY THROUGHOUT THEIR CAREER (ERIC BELL,BRIAN
ROBERTSON,GARY MOORE,SNOWY WHITE,JOHN SYKES AND THE EVER PRESENT SCOTT GORHAM)YOU
GET A VERY GOOD BOOKLET WITH PLENTY OF PICTURES OF THE BAND AND LINER NOTES BY
MALCOLM DOME OF KERRANG.I MUST MAKE SPECIAL MENTION OF THE SOUND QUALITY,IT IS
EXCELLENT THROUGHOUT,THE LINER NOTES STATE THAT MATERPIECE MASTERING WERE
RESPONSIBLE AND THEY DESERVE A LOT OF CREDIT.I HAVE A WEST GERMAN PRESSING OF THE
LIZZY KILLERS COMPILATION WHICH SOUNDS FANTASTIC,THIS COMPILATION IS EASILY IN THE
SAME CLASS(JUST LISTEN TO DANCING IN THE MOONLIGHT AT HIGH VOLUME-WOW !!!)TO SUM UP
THE ONLY THING CHEAP IS THE PRICE.THIS IS AN EXCELLENT COMPILATION FOR LISTENING TO IN THE CAR.JUST A FEW SMALL NIGGLES,STILL IN LOVE WITH YOU IS THE STUDIO VERSION,NOT THE DEFINITIVE LIVE VERSION FROM LIVE AND DANGEROUS,WHISKEY IN THE JAR
APPEARS TO BE THE EDITED SINGLE VERSION,NOT THE FULL LENGTH VERSION AVAILABLE
ELSEWHERE.WELL DONE TO SPECTRUM MUSIC WHO ARE THE PEOPLE BEHIND THIS RELEASE.I HAVE PURCHASED SOME OF THEIR OTHER ROCK COMPILATIONS RECENTLY (RAINBOW/DIO AND RUSH)ALL OF WHICH I WOULD RECOMMEND,BUT AS A HUGE LIZZY FAN,THIS THIN LIZZY COMPILATION IS THE PICK OF THE BUNCH.
11 comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2014
Great cd with a good deal of Lizzy classics. Nothing new to be expected for the older fans but good introduction for the new fans
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 December 2013
A very good collection of Lizzy hits. Really enjoy listening to most of the tracks on this album. Great, great, great!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2016
Lizzy are my favourite band. The music here is peerless. But not the songs I'd choose. Bought for the car.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 November 2014
the tracks keep jumping not a very good copy
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2015
A great gift for any Thin Lizzy fan!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 2015
Great value good cd great service
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)