Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow!
This is simply a stunning collection that features not only most of the big hits but also many other Lizzy classics that seldom appear on a 'best of'. Together with two cuts from 'Live And Dangerous' and 'Jailbreak' from a BBC session, this album is a perfect companion to Spectrum's earlier compilations 'Whiskey In The Jar', 'The Hero And The Madman' and 'Classic Thin...
Published on 7 April 2011 by D. Turner

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very Thin on Quality of Sound
All the songs on this CD are classics in their own right, and I have no problem with that. I bought it on the strength of that. Like another reviewer said, they bought it in a supermarket for a few pounds. Sounds just the same as me. My complaint is that the sound quality throughout is absolutely awful. It seems that it is only me holding that opinion, but it sounded...
Published 10 months ago by wobberoo


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow!, 7 April 2011
By 
D. Turner (Cardiff, Wales, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Waiting For An Alibi: The Collection (Audio CD)
This is simply a stunning collection that features not only most of the big hits but also many other Lizzy classics that seldom appear on a 'best of'. Together with two cuts from 'Live And Dangerous' and 'Jailbreak' from a BBC session, this album is a perfect companion to Spectrum's earlier compilations 'Whiskey In The Jar', 'The Hero And The Madman' and 'Classic Thin Lizzy'. Whereas these sets concentrated on the earlier studio albums, 'Waiting For An Alibi' is Lizzy at their commercial peak.
Wrapped in truly beautiful artwork, this jewel case release also includes a detailed 8 page booklet with liner notes from compiler Malcolm Dome and some great photo's of Phil and the boys. A perfect partner to the recent 'Yellow Pearl' best of (which focused on Phil's solo material), this album marks yet again Spectrum's vastly improved quality and design. Not only is this a perfect introduction for new listeners and a treat for fans, but at this price, is simply a must have!
Five stars isn't high enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very Thin on Quality of Sound, 3 Nov 2013
By 
wobberoo "wobberoo" (The Bush at Kents Bank, Grange-over-Sands.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Waiting For An Alibi: The Collection (Audio CD)
All the songs on this CD are classics in their own right, and I have no problem with that. I bought it on the strength of that. Like another reviewer said, they bought it in a supermarket for a few pounds. Sounds just the same as me. My complaint is that the sound quality throughout is absolutely awful. It seems that it is only me holding that opinion, but it sounded terrible. Cheap, yes. Cheerful, definitely not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good comp, 20 May 2011
By 
Duncan McDonald "Dunk" (Dundee) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is a good compilation of lizzy tracks on a single disc and well worth the money. It has the usual staples like Back in Town and Jailbreak but also a few less popular tracks like Soldier of Fortune and Opium Trail.

A short, sharp and sweet intro to lizzy for the car but don't dismiss the double Greatest Hits if you want the all round experience. An experience you must try for this is a truly great rock band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Waiting For An Alibi: The Collection, 1 Sep 2014
This review is from: Waiting For An Alibi: The Collection (Audio CD)
This is an excellent collection of 20 tracks.Three of the tracks are live.Most of the tracks are classics.
The information provided via the extensive inner sleeve notes is very good.The sound production on this CD is excellent and even the price of this item was really cheap.I think I paid 3:00.So if you are looking for a really good collection of Thin Lizzy at a great price then buy this.Highly Recommended.You don't need to be 'Waiting For An Alibi' not to by this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 5 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Waiting For An Alibi: The Collection (Audio CD)
Great stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Same classics, new wrapping., 5 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Waiting For An Alibi: The Collection (Audio CD)
Great cd with a good deal of Lizzy classics. Nothing new to be expected for the older fans but good introduction for the new fans
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Loads of classics for mega low bucks, 29 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Waiting For An Alibi: The Collection (Audio CD)
A very decent selection of some classic Thin Lizzy tracks at an extremely low price. Well worth the money, not a duff song in sight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 5 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Waiting For An Alibi: The Collection (Audio CD)
A very good collection of Lizzy hits. Really enjoy listening to most of the tracks on this album. Great, great, great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars great, 23 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Waiting For An Alibi: The Collection (Audio CD)
In my opinion, a great collection album, that has all the songs that I would have picked t put on a collection album, a must have for Thin Lizzy fans
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The one and only Thin Lizzy., 15 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Waiting For An Alibi: The Collection (Audio CD)
What a band what a song writer and front man plus the best drummer ever and Scott and Robbo to boot and if that wasn't a enough a song about Maltesers - fantastic music. Lizzy Lizzy Lizzy!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Waiting For An Alibi: The Collection
Waiting For An Alibi: The Collection by Thin Lizzy (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews