Customer Reviews


118 Reviews
5 star:
 (62)
4 star:
 (31)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


181 of 186 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Life on the edge
I used to be afraid of just hammering my thumb...now I have the added thrill ride of dodging a Tomohawk to the face ! I've never felt so alive........
Published 10 months ago by Ajit Nayar

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars As expected for the price.
I guess my review should be a lot harsher, but when I bought this I knew exactly what to expect from it.

I bought this cause I needed a pocket axe, nothing more, and as an axe/hammer, this thing works perfectly fine... BUT! If you're expecting to receive a functional multi-tool and use it's knife blade, saw or screwdriver, you'll be severely disappointed...
Published 1 month ago by Elrond Smith


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

181 of 186 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Life on the edge, 27 Sep 2013
This review is from: Am-Tech 12-in-1 Multi-Function Tool with Axe Head (DIY & Tools)
I used to be afraid of just hammering my thumb...now I have the added thrill ride of dodging a Tomohawk to the face ! I've never felt so alive........
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars As expected for the price., 1 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Am-Tech 12-in-1 Multi-Function Tool with Axe Head (DIY & Tools)
I guess my review should be a lot harsher, but when I bought this I knew exactly what to expect from it.

I bought this cause I needed a pocket axe, nothing more, and as an axe/hammer, this thing works perfectly fine... BUT! If you're expecting to receive a functional multi-tool and use it's knife blade, saw or screwdriver, you'll be severely disappointed.

Let's start with the material. The steel is s***. The axe blade is quite thick and doesn't need to be razor sharp to do its job, so that's not a problem. The problem is if you want to use anything other than the axe/hammer.
The metal is poorly cut and still has "pores" from the irregular polishing. It is very soft, up to the point where using the wire cutters to cut garden wire leaves massive dents in it. Edge retention is horrible and the knife blade is rendered useless.

Now the actual parts. EVERYTHING needs to be sharpened before it is ready to use, even the axe. I could hold this thing by the knife blade and bash it against the table and it still wouldn't leave the tiniest cut. The screwdriver is irregular and wouldn't fit inside any proper screw of this planet. the metal loop,keeping the tool closed to use the hammer/axe is useless as it slides off and gets bent out of shape and the entire thing is held together quite loosely.

In conclusion, what redeeming features are there? Well, the hammer works... I guess the axe does too, despite me having to sharpen it way too often. And the price is low and pretty decent, although paying more for something like this would be a ripoff.

In any case, know that buying this, you get what you pay for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


44 of 49 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good for the price. But some drawbacks., 7 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Am-Tech 12-in-1 Multi-Function Tool with Axe Head (DIY & Tools)
On the positive side, the tools on this are all mostly of reasonable quality for a multitool this inexpensive. The axe is very sharp and works quite well. The hammer is also quite effective. The knife blades and saw are quite sharp. And the screwdriver and spanner are both ok.

On the negative side. The pliers/wire cutters are not all that good, especially the wirecutters which don't really work. But the gripping part of the pliers can be useful for pulling out nails. The axe has a flimsy plastic guard to put over the blade when not in use, and it fell apart very quickly, forcing me to improvise a makeshift one.

Perhaps the biggest drawback to this, is that there is no mechanism to hold the fold out tools in place when they are unfolded, there is no spring mechanism like on a Swiss army knife, or lock to hold them in place. So you have to be very careful when using the fold out tools that they do not fold back on your fingers! Because of that I cannot give this five stars.

However, overall, given the low price this is a pretty good piece of kit, the axe and hammer, the main features of this are worth the price on their own, just don't expect Swiss army knife quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars am tech 12 in 1 multi tool, 21 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Am-Tech 12-in-1 Multi-Function Tool with Axe Head (DIY & Tools)
Totally. Brilliant i have a caravan and this small tool come into its own brilliant small and compact but perfect for small job's highly recommend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 2 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Am-Tech 12-in-1 Multi-Function Tool with Axe Head (DIY & Tools)
Arrived 2 days before ETA
A substantial piece of kit. Suprisingly the knife blade is more like a Swiss Army Knife in thickness, unlike most multi tools which are normall y thicker with a V shape grind to the edge.
The supplied pouch is rubbish, it needs a head only drop through pouch but considering the price it's fair enough, I'll just get something else
Not only would I suggest you buy it but give full marks to the supplier
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Looks impressive but functionally useless for most jobs, 18 Aug 2014
This review is from: Am-Tech 12-in-1 Multi-Function Tool with Axe Head (DIY & Tools)
Looks impressive but functionally useless for most jobs. The construction is cheap (as expected - it's a cheap product) to the point where it actually deforms when you try to use it. The blades aren't locked in any meaningful way so they won't stay rigid and in line with the handle, making them dangerous to use without extreme care to the point of uselessness.

It's not a tool to buy to use regularly. It's a tool you buy so you can have just in case you have absolutely nothing else to hand to do what you're trying to do. That's not to say I haven't used it, but if you try to use the axe blade for small hatchet jobs you're going to have a bad day; the hammer's next to useless because when you hit something with it, the handle springs apart.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars nice little tool, 23 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Am-Tech 12-in-1 Multi-Function Tool with Axe Head (DIY & Tools)
Very good tool and sharp to. I recently spent 4 hours in A&E as my brother said the blade was very dull, I threw it at the floor and the ax bit stuck right in my foot (proved him wrong).

Nice little tools and again these are very sharp and work fine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great bit of kit, 20 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Am-Tech 12-in-1 Multi-Function Tool with Axe Head (DIY & Tools)
Having read other reviews I was a little bit wary of this item.
I got it for camping and it is ideal. It is so Sharp (dangerously so) and apart from an uncomfortable handle it would have got 5 stars.
Recommended to campers, fishermen, hikers and all but it is VERY sharp **** from me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent value for money tool, 28 Nov 2012
By 
R. Grover "Rohin" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Am-Tech 12-in-1 Multi-Function Tool with Axe Head (DIY & Tools)
Excellent small but powerfull tool, full value for money. Works well for most of at/out home jobs. Nife is pretty sharp. Needs to be handel with care as handel accessories tends to come out as lock is bit good bu using a rubber band solve the issue..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars you get what you pay for, 26 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Am-Tech 12-in-1 Multi-Function Tool with Axe Head (DIY & Tools)
the line above says it all. i've got a feeling of the metal that it would snap if used for anything 'real'. also maybe a shop stocks them. it feels like it

i bought a gerber mini knife at the same time for about the same price. better steel
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews