Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Start Of A Good Thing
Bought this as a free Kindle download and wasn't disappointed, I enjoyed it and went on to download the two other books in the series. So many crime/thriller books these days try to bring an American feel to their pages but this is truly English. Reading them together the third book is by far my favourite, it feels as though it has more meat on its bones. However this...
Published 16 months ago by LindaMPH

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good pace, interesting story
This is more of an adventure story than a detective mystery, in that it contains a lot more fight scenes than piecing clues together and making deductions, following hunches. The main character is more believable than the psychopath villains, and most of the characters are rather two-dimensional. While this isn't unusual in this genre, I prefer a bit of good in the worst...
Published 20 months ago by Doctor Zeke


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Start Of A Good Thing, 27 April 2013
By 
LindaMPH (Lancs United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Private Lie (Sam Dyke Investigations Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
Bought this as a free Kindle download and wasn't disappointed, I enjoyed it and went on to download the two other books in the series. So many crime/thriller books these days try to bring an American feel to their pages but this is truly English. Reading them together the third book is by far my favourite, it feels as though it has more meat on its bones. However this first book introduces the characters admirably and you get a true sense of the main characters background and values and works a treat in leaving you wanting more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable, 19 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Private Lie (Sam Dyke Investigations Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
2nd in the series of the Sam Dyke detective novels. The 1st book is currently free, good story & well written - this one was only 99p
so well worth buying.
If you want British & detective, give them a go !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amost enjoyable book., 16 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Private Lie (Sam Dyke Investigations Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
Good crime story. I agree it is very similar to Raymond Chandlers style of narration. Try it & see, you won't be disappointed if you enjoy this type of mystery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 13 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Private Lie (Sam Dyke Investigations Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
Downloaded this as a freebie on Kindle, and very pleased that I did. It's a good, well crafted story. The characters are well drawn, with likeable goodies and nasty baddies.

The switch in point of view from 1st person to 3rd person is not always well executed, but Keith Dixon does this particularly well. The fact that it is not only English, but set in the North West, was refreshing and made it all the more enjoyable for me.

I am now going to look for other books by this author - which is surely the whole point of the free downloads. Well worth spending money on further books if there is a charge.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First class all the way, 13 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Private Lie (Sam Dyke Investigations Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
An excellent book with a seamless, breathless, pacy style. The characters had an every day feel but infused with extraordinary menace.

This was my first read of a book by Keith Dixon, but most definitely not my last.

A thoroughly deserved 5 star rating
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sam's the Man, 22 Dec 2012
This review is from: The Private Lie (Sam Dyke Investigations Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
The Private Lie is very well written. The dialogue is superbly done, easy to follow, and believable. I love Sam's dry wit. The plot is quite good without any annoying slow spots. The surroundings, people, situations, etc. are well described and easy to visualize without being overly wordy or drawn out.

As for the characters, Sam is awesome. I really truly like him. He struggles with relationships. He's tough, smart, resourceful, and believable. He screws up, makes mistakes, and wriggles his way out. I did like Dan as well. In respect to Laura, I'm not quite sure why she's in the books. She is Sam's love interest, but for the most part, she's absent. There's not much interaction between the two of them and when there is, it's seems to be mostly quibbling, condescending comments, and criticism. I think the books would be just fine without her unless she became more involved somehow with she and Sam being more of a team. The remaining characters were well drawn and moved the story along.

There was coarse language and violence. There was no sexual content (thank you, Mr. Dixon). I would allow older children to read this, perhaps 16 and up, but I do recommend parents read it first as some may disagree.

The Private Lie is the second Sam Dyke installment. The first is called Altered Life. I suggest they be read in order if possible.

I recommend both of Keith Dixon's Sam Dyke books. I'm looking forward to the next installment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent. a series that keeps on giving, 3 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Private Lie (Sam Dyke Investigations Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
Family features strongly in this book and makes for a really good read. Will be interesting to see how Sam's son develops as we go foward. An excellent read that shows what a good place the County Palatine is to set a crime/thriller. Will be nice to see Sam branch out to the Pennine edge and the Potteries in the future! Plenty of potentiaI reckon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Private Lie. By Keith Dixon, 5 Feb 2014
By 
K. Moore "Keth" (South Yorkshire uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Private Lie (Sam Dyke Investigations Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
Thoroughly enjoyed this book. Robert Crais would have been
Proud to write this. Well worth a read. Keep them coming.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the private life, 12 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Private Lie (Sam Dyke Investigations Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
I like this guy somehow the everyman detective this and altered life great to read would like another if possible
got into them quickly no messing about no over complicated plots, great read all round.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good pace, interesting story, 22 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Private Lie (Sam Dyke Investigations Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
This is more of an adventure story than a detective mystery, in that it contains a lot more fight scenes than piecing clues together and making deductions, following hunches. The main character is more believable than the psychopath villains, and most of the characters are rather two-dimensional. While this isn't unusual in this genre, I prefer a bit of good in the worst of people, and a bit of bad in the hero. Despite these shortcomings, it's not a bad read. Easy on the eyes and has a good pace, so well worth reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews