Customer Reviews


76 Reviews
5 star:
 (65)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best films ever to be made
I've watched this film so many times and it never fails to evoke the same intensity of emotion. Tom Hanks is absolutely outstanding; the whole cast have been superbly selected. The relationship between Andrew Beckett (Hanks) and Joe Miller (Washington) develops before your very eyes, the scene in the library being the catalyst, when Miller realises that discrimination and...
Published on 7 Mar 2002 by Mrs. G. M. Glover

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Philadelphia (DVD)
Not that easy to get these days I wanted it to replace an old video copy my wife had, what can I say good copy fair price.
Published 14 months ago by Griff


‹ Previous | 16 7 8 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Replacing my videos!!, 18 May 2010
By 
F. Norburn - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Philadelphia [DVD] [1994] (DVD)
I have always loved this film, a real weepy and an eye opener. Luckily the attitudes to HIV have changed a bit since this film was made, Tom Hanks and Denzil Washington are brilliant portraying the thoughts in the 1980's when the film was originally made.
Enjoy and think.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Thought prevoking, 13 Dec 2009
By 
N. E. BURDETT (Salisbury, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A film that deals with all kinds of issues. Probably Tom Hanks best ever performance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Missed opportunity - wasted talent, 3 Sep 2008
This review is from: Philadelphia [DVD] [1994] (DVD)
Tom Hanks, Denzel Washington, a courtroom drama, a major social issue ... what could go wrong?

Well, let's start with the positives. A truly stunning performance from Hanks, and his Oscar was well deserved. It's worth watching the film just for Hanks.

Denzel Washington was ... okay. One of my favourite actors, Washington gave it his best, but the character written for him was rather drab. The energy and passion he was later able to bring to his character in "Crimson Tide" (where again, he was fighting for what he believed was right) simply wasn't possible with this script.

The courtroom "drama" was a serious let-down. Nothing happened! I wasn't expecting (and I wouldn't have wanted) some vital piece of evidence to be rushed in at the last moment, but much was made of "did the law firm know about Hanks's condition" ... and that wasn't proven one way or the other during the trial.

The issue of who knew what within the law firm was very badly handled throughout. Jason Robard's character was clearly VERY impressed by Hanks ... then he fired him! He would NOT have fired Hanks simply on the basis of a misplaced file (which was found in time) ... especially without even letting Hanks have his say ... so he clearly knew about Hanks's condition, and fired him on that basis. So why did we then have Robard's saying to one of the other partners "Did you know about his condition? For heaven's sake! You did!" (or words to that effect) making it appear that Robards and the others DIDN'T actually know?

With no drama in the courtroom and the case just lumbering along, we suddenly just cut to the verdict! No summing up when any lawyer worth his money would have posed the issue of why Hanks had been given a top case if he was rubbish. That issue was lost in the muddy waters of the courtroom despite the fact that the entire case hinged on the premise that the law firm wouldn't have given Hanks a high profile case if, as they claimed, he'd been fairly useless. That was obvious from the outset, and to be expected to believe that the top law firm in Philadelphia wouldn't have worked that one out, and settled out of court, was absolutely ludicrous.

Finally, for a film which was trying to tackle the stereotyping and misrepresentation of homosexuals, why on earth did they show a gay party with lots of guys dressed up in sailors' outfits, and a group singing "Mr. Sandman, bring me a dream; Make him the cutest boy that I've ever seen"? It seemed as though they were using the stereotypical images of homosexuals to make sure we KNEW it was a gay party. A real "own goal" in my opinion!

Overall, a missed opportunity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars touchy subject., 6 Aug 2014
By 
GECKO 5 "Landerson" (EDINBURGH, SCOTLAND) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A firm favourite. Great acting from all and a very strong story. As always Tom Hanks is brilliant in this role. Saw it year's ago and still want to watch it today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Two men fighting for the same thing, justice, 19 Jan 2005
By 
aurtherwood (Dumfries, Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Philadelphia [DVD] [1994] (DVD)
Nobody would ever have thought that you could make a film that explores the two subjects of Homosexuality and AIDS, and also expose society's prejudice for them, but Jonathan Demme, along with screenwriter Ron Nyswaner, made a film exactly like that. Teaming up Tom Hanks and Denzel Washinghton who star as as two lawyers who fight the legal system and society's prejudice to expose the hate and fear of AIDS and Homosexuality in one of the most original and amazing movies ever to grace the silver screen.
Andrew Beckett (Hanks), a promising young lawyer who works for the legal company of Wyant-Wheeler. Headed by Charles Wheeler (Robards), Andrw is accepted as a senior partner with the company's higher-ups. Everything seems to go smoothly for Andrew, that is until he is fired by his partners for misplacing an important document. The real reason is it's because Andrew is homosexual and his partners dicover that he is HIV-positive. Determined to see justice done, Andrew goes through lawyer after lawyer to represent him, until he goes to small-time personal injury lawyer Joe Miller (Washington), who Andrew worked with on an earlier case, and asks him to represent him. Joe initially refuses, but after seeing how homosexuals are treated, Miler agrees and the two men set off to launch a heroic and amazing struggle that sees justice done, with very sad consequences.
Tom Hanks and Denzel Washington easily give the standout performances in this picture of prejudice, hate and fear of homosexuals and AIDS. This film not only makes you wonder, it makes you think of what you're views toward the gays in the world are like, they may be a fellow colleague, or a fellow school student or may even be a member of you're own family. Hanks portrayl of Beckett shows that homosexuality doesn't change a man or woman, it makes them as equal to anyone whose straight or bisexual. Jonathan Demme has made a film that doesn't only bring two of the finest actors in the world together, he shows that the the willpower is one of the strongest powers in all the world, that a person can change their view of gays or AIDS and they can grow to see them as normal people.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars philadelphia, 8 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
loved the dvd watched it in cinema many years ago and tom hanks is superb
in it very moving plus the music is good
alexandra
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gritty in places, 3 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philadelphia [DVD] (DVD)
gripping drama and so well acted. Tom Hanks is a consumate professional. Gritty in places.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A film to change your life, 27 Jun 2005
By 
J. R. Roberts "themozzer" (Chigwell) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Philadelphia [DVD] [1994] (DVD)
I can honestly say that few films have actually changed my life but this is one that did.
I grew up with AIDS adverts on the tele but nothing prepared me for the emotional rollercoaster I felt watching this film.
Dealing with such an issue in a caring and sensative way it makes you care about the people in the film. Not just Hanks (at his usual brilliant self) but also his partner and his family and friends.
This is a must see movie for people of all ages.
Youngsters should see it to understand not only the terrible effect that AIDS has but also how to deal with people who might be a bit different from you.
I cant rate this movie high enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not as powerful as I expected, 9 April 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Hollywood's first big mainstream movie about ramifications of AIDS, anti-gay prejudice, bigotry, and sexual discrimination at workplace is a bold attempt, sometimes intense and thought-provoking experience full of social commentaries, but it falls short of being a true classic at the end.

Let's start with positives: Yeah, central performances are great. There are few films that depend so much on acting as "Philadelphia" does. Hanks is nothing but fabulous, as is Washington, so while both performances are top-notch. To take the advantage of the stardom and artistry of both actors to the hilt, the plot is character-driven. Demme brings well the main characters into focus. He gave them some powerful scenes in which to reveal their innermost feelings, achieving the intended emotional truth. The court scenes are well-made and well-executed. The final scenes are a good mixture of bouyancy and poignancy, and are delicately handled.

But, the film has a lot of credibility problems. It's impossible to believe that Andrew was turned away by several lawyers before finding Joe Miller, a homophobic, store-front ambulance-chaser. It is ridiculous to see that he couldn't find a hotshot lawyer on such a "juicy" case. While Andrew and Joe are fully fleshed out with emotions and motivations, Andy's employers are portrayed as WASPy, homophobic monsters. The script makes them less than one-dimensional, nasty egocentrics in that I had the feeling that two "real" people were assailed by cardboard cutout figures, all played like a necessity of the plot. Furthermore, Andy's family was unbelievably strong and supportive, even during the height of the AIDS scare in the 1980s, when everyone who had the disease was stigmatized, shunned, made redundant, or treated as lepers by the society. Really it was too sugary. Also, some melodramaric excesses, or trademark "Hollywoodized" moments such as the showpiece scene in which Andy interpreting a passionate aria sung was so apparently designed to win Hanks an Oscar.

To sum up, "Philadelphia" is a big, commercial film, elevated by the names of its cast. Albeit little less conventional and devoid of the taste and quality of an independent film, it's well worth a look. (3.4/5.0)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 16 Aug 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brilliant acting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 16 7 8 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Philadelphia [DVD]
Philadelphia [DVD] by Jonathan Demme (DVD - 2011)
8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews