Customer Reviews


67 Reviews
5 star:
 (56)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best films ever to be made
I've watched this film so many times and it never fails to evoke the same intensity of emotion. Tom Hanks is absolutely outstanding; the whole cast have been superbly selected. The relationship between Andrew Beckett (Hanks) and Joe Miller (Washington) develops before your very eyes, the scene in the library being the catalyst, when Miller realises that discrimination and...
Published on 7 Mar 2002 by Mrs. G. M. Glover

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Respectible.
This is a film that I have a lot of respect for but not one that I particularly like. It is impossible not to admire the films ambition and Hanks and Washington give probably the best performances of their careers to date nd the supporting cast are all very good.Obviously it's very moving but unfortunately I did find the film dragged on a little.

I say this...
Published 3 months ago by H.E.Cox


‹ Previous | 1 2 37 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Philadelphia, 2 Sep 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Philadelphia [DVD] [1994] (DVD)
This film is great. It tells of a story about andrew Beckett (Hanks) who gets fired from his firm for having AIDS, despite Becckett being a great lawyer. So he decides to sew his old firm. In this process he eventually ends up at Joe miller's door(Washington). Miller is a well known lawyer advertised on Tv alot. Despite what we want to happen, Miller turns him down mostly because he is gay. However, a few days later Miller sees the way Andy gets treated when at the library looking up on gay rights and AIDS. So Miller decides to help Andy in his pursuit to get justice over his firm.
What follows after this is a remarkable battle with peoples opinions about the illness and a remarkable final ten minutes which evokes a response of sadness and then joy at the final outcome. What the viewer will take from this film is a scence of justce being served. The viewer will also see just how fragile human life is. This film is a one of a kind, star plot, star cast and an incredible soundtrack. U should have this film tucked away neatly at home along with the soundtrack. Thanks for readin'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The greatest actors in a moving masterpiece, 10 July 2004
By 
Margaret Aitken (Glasgow, Scotland United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Philadelphia [DVD] [1994] (DVD)
For me, this film takes on a modern day version of the kind of prejudice faced by black people in the past. Like Andy says in the film- one of the greatest things about being a lawyer is the feeling aroused when you know you have contributed to justice being done. When watching the film, you feel just that- justice is done against those who are making a mockery of the system. Absolutely fantastic film with a soundtrack to match.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good start., 15 Nov 2005
By 
Themis-Athena (from somewhere between California and Germany) - See all my reviews
"This is the essence of discrimination: Formulating opinions about others not based on their individual merits, but rather on their membership in a group with assumed characteristics." (School Board of Nassau County v. Arline, 480 U.S. 273 (1987) (Brennan, J.), on remand, 692 F. Supp. 1286 (M.D. Fla. 1988)). This rule, reaffirmed by the landmark Supreme Court decision which, over the dissent of Chief Justice Rehnquist and Justice Scalia, first recognized the infection with a contagious disease (tuberculosis) as an actionable handicap under federal law, forms the initial bond between star litigator Andrew Beckett (Tom Hanks) and ambulance chaser Joe Miller (Denzel Washington), the unlikely team at the center of this movie. Because through these words, black attorney Miller begins to realize that his colleague Beckett faces a handicap which, in essence, is not so different from that confronted by many of his fellow African Americans. And because this is an incredibly effectively scripted Hollywood movie, we, the audience, easily get the point as well; even if we're white, and even if we're not gay and/or suffering from AIDS like Beckett.
Of course, the insidiousness of the AIDS virus places those afflicted with it in a class of their own, and while the movie spares its viewers the pictures of some of the virus's most graphic effects, it does go to considerable length to show the physical decline associated with it - not only in the person of Beckett himself, for whose role Hanks literally almost starved himself. Some of the patients surrounding him in the movie's earlier emergency room scenes really were AIDS patients, whom Hanks had approached when preparing for the movie, and who had subsequently agreed to participate; and as Hanks emphasized during an appearance in Bravo TV's "Inside the Actors' Studio," not all of them are still alive. - Denzel Washington's appropriately named Joe Miller, middle class everyman in everything but the color of his skin (one of the movie's obvious bows to political correctness), displays an attitude uncomfortably familiar to many of us; shunning gays in general and the HIV-infected Beckett in particular, out of a mixture of ignorance about AIDS, prejudice against those suffering from it, and prejudice against gays. Both Hanks and Washington give strikingly emotional, profound performances that rank among the best in their respective careers - Hanks deservedly won both the Oscar and the Golden Globe for his portrayal of Beckett, but Washington unfairly wasn't even nominated for either. Yet, neither of them would have been able to shine as much as they do without their exceptional supporting cast; to name just two, Jason Robards, commanding as ever as Beckett's homophobic former boss (and role model!), and Antonio Banderas as his devoted lover.
By the time of "Philadelphia"'s release, some of the early myths about AIDS had begun to disappear, and the yearly growing numbers of newly infected patients had brought it out of its erstwhile obscurity as "the gay plague." But indepth knowledge was still far from widespread, and therefore the movie not only brought awareness to the disease in general, but also made a couple of important points, from educating the public about the disease's method of transmission to emphasizing that it is by no means limited to gays and can even be contracted in something as life-affirming as a blood transfusion. (Indeed, several European countries were rocked by transfusion-related AIDS scandals right around the time of the movie's release). One of "Philadelphia"'s most quietly powerful scenes is the testimony of a female witness who was infected by just such a transfusion, and who emphasizes that having AIDS is not a matter of sin or morality: "I don't consider myself any different from anyone else with this disease. I'm not guilty, I'm not innocent, I'm just trying to survive," she responds when asked to confirm that in her case "there was no behavior on [her] part" involved and contracting AIDS was something she was "unable to avoid." - Moreover, four years before Ellen DeGeneres rocked the showboat with a kiss during an episode of her sitcom, and Kevin Kline and Magnum macho Tom Selleck locked lips in "In and Out" (the screenplay of which was inspired by Hanks's Oscar acceptance speech for "Philadelphia"), it was by no means a given that a movie would get away with letting Hanks and Banderas exchange acts of tenderness from caresses and kisses on the hand to a slow dance at a gay party.
Given "Philadelphia"'s fundamental message and the memorable performances of its protagonists, it is a pity that the movie doesn't entirely avoid Hollywood pitfalls, such as its soggy ending with grease literally dripping off the screen and the undeniable taste of a sugar-coated afterthought, transmitting the message that even dying of AIDS is really not so terrible, at least for the surviving family who can still unite around the television set and wallow in their memories of their lost loved one. And while I do buy Joe Miller's transformation from a (somewhat stereotypical) homophobic male to a reluctant supporter of gay rights, I don't really see why Beckett suddenly assumes a cliche gay look the second he has been fired; not to mention that I suspect not everybody in his situation would have enjoyed such overwhelming support from his family.
But ultimately, it is the movie's overarching message that counts. "Ain't no angel gonna greet me; it's just you and I my friend ... and my clothes don't fit me no more: I walked a thousand miles just to slip this skin," sings Bruce Springsteen, the movie's other Oscar winner, in "Philadelphia"'s title song. And Justice Brennan wrote in the Supreme Court's Arline decision that in amending federal law, Congress was motivated by "discrimination stemming not only from simple prejudice, but also from archaic attitudes and laws." This movie goes a long way in dispelling such attitudes. It alone isn't enough - but it is, as Andrew Beckett jokes about the 1000 lawyers chained together at the bottom of the ocean, a good start.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A truely magnificent film, 8 Mar 2006
By 
Mr. N. Wildman "nickwildman2" (Beds, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Like many people I suspect, I thought that Tom Hanks was only suited to slightly goofy efforts such as Big. How wrong I was! This film demonstrates what a great serious actor Tom Hanks is.
Tom plays Andrew Beckett, a gay lawyer who is suffering from aids. The film takes us through the harrowing legal process as Andrew sues his former employers for wrongful dismissal. This story line takes a backseat however as the main bulk of the film is spent dealing with other issues. Firstly, Andrew coming to terms with his impending mortality and his lawyer, the magnificent Denzel Washington comes to terms with his homophobia.
All in all, this film is truly thought provoking and very moving. An absolute masterpiece which deserves all the praise it gets!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Absolute Stunner, 1 Dec 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Philadelphia [VHS] (VHS Tape)
There is no doubt about it. This film is a masterpiece. If not for the acting ability of both Tom Hanks and Denzel Washington, for it's successful ability to tackle the still touchy subject of AIDS during the time in which it did.
This is a moving story, that won't fail to touch the heart and create awarness in anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent film and with a very fast delivery time arrived before it was due, 13 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
this is a great film, tom hanks and denzel washington play the characters they portray very very well, a well thought out storyline and it reaches deep inside of you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Respectible., 7 Jan 2014
This is a film that I have a lot of respect for but not one that I particularly like. It is impossible not to admire the films ambition and Hanks and Washington give probably the best performances of their careers to date nd the supporting cast are all very good.Obviously it's very moving but unfortunately I did find the film dragged on a little.

I say this with regret but If you take out the fact that it's the first film about AIDS the second half of the film is just a typical courtroom drama. I also felt the film lacked re-playability. This is not the sort of film you will want to watch more that once.

Don't let me put you off watching this. I'm glad I watched it. I just feel that with a couple of tweaks it could be a great movie instead of a good one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great gift, 6 Jan 2014
By 
Mrs. P. Long "Pauline Long ( Poleen )" (Wirral England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was for my brother-in law he was absolutley delighted with this as he is a bi Tom Hanks fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully Sensitive, Amazing soundtrack, Excellent acting., 2 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philadelphia [DVD] (DVD)
A very sensitive deeply moving story so beautifully acted by Tom Hanks, Denzel Washington , Antonio Banderas and the rest of the crew. heart-breaking.
Thought provoking....a most complimentary soundtrack.
Could recommend it to all ages. Not an action thriller. Prepare to feel moved, maybe even to cry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A good story indeed, it will move anyone with compassion!, 13 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Highly recommended - an excellent story, makes sense of loving human relationships, hanks is superb and is great in role!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 37 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb26d3e64)

This product

Philadelphia [DVD]
Philadelphia [DVD] by Tak Fujimoto (DVD - 2011)
6.77
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews