Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Alex did it again
I have to warn you, I'm a fan of Arctic Monkeys so everything that Alex touches turns to gold in my eyes. Ergo, if you like Arctic Monkeys and Alex's work in general, I think you will be pleased with this EP.

Even though it's rather short (it is EP after all and not an album) it has really nice sound and feels complete. It sure does remind me of The Last Shadow...
Published on 17 Mar. 2011 by Filip

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Decent little album but no arctic monkeys.
Definitely recommended, but don't expect an arctic monkeys album. The record showcases alex turners voice over anything else, with less rocky riffs and sounds.
Published 6 months ago by Corky Butcher


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Phenomenal., 20 Aug. 2011
By 
B. Jameson (Leeds) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This soundtrack is simply brilliant.
Alex Turner's vocals work so well with the overall theme of the film while the songs are simply lovely.
After watching the film for the first time the other day I had to order this soundtrack straight away.
Granted there are only 6 songs and it's up to you to decide if it is worth the money but for me it definitely is.
I'd recommend to Arctic Monkeys fans aswell who enjoy acoustic music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful music from a real talent!, 14 Sept. 2013
By 
Amazon Customer (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Although fairly far away from the familiar sound of the Arctic Monkeys, Alex Turner was really allowed to show once gain what a diverse songwriter he is with this project, the soundtrack to 'Submarine'. My favourite tracks are 'Stuck on the Puzzle', and the much superior version of 'Piledriver Waltz', later re-recorded with his band and released on the Arctic's 'Suck it and See' album.

If I'm honest, I bought this EP long before I got to see the movie (which was very good), because these tracks hold up in their own right. I still enjoy this collection of folksy, moody and engaging tunes written and delivered by one of the best musical talents out there at the moment. Please buy 'Submarine' the soundtrack, it really is good. Short, but very, very sweet!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great gift, 10 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought it as a birthday present! Lovely, thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great little EP, 2 Oct. 2012
By 
Mr. R. Kurz (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I watched the film, loved it's quirkyness, and was moved by the music. This EP is an absolute bargain, and despite being considerably shorter than an album (obviously) is something that I regularly play. Moody, reflective, intelligent and melancholy, this instantly became a favourite of mine
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 15 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent stuff from Alex Turner as usual.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Short but sweet, 17 Jun. 2014
Charming lyrics, beautifully simple songs. It compliments the film perfectly& Importantly there's none of Alex Turner's now trademark arrogance. Would definitely recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure Genius, 4 Oct. 2011
I am loving this CD! It is perfection. Turner's best work yet! I would even buy this if you haven't watched the film, yes, it's that good. Trust me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Short, but great, 5 July 2011
This is a beautiful collection of songs.
I am not keen on Arctic Monkeys, but love the songs on this CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 26 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Hauntingly beautiful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very Strong Effort, 30 May 2011
By 
Kingcrimsonprog "Kingcrimsonprog" (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
The Submarine EP from Arctic Monkeys' frontman Alex Turner is a very strong and wholly enjoyable release that is certainly worth checking out if you have an interest in either the artist or indeed the film.

The EP is short and sweet, with no fat or unnecessary padding and Alex's usual standard of lyrical excellence is present and correct, making the EP worth investigating for that alone anyway.
There are no complaints to be made on the production or performance fronts and the quality of songwriting is fairly high all around.

To summarize; This collection of lyrically interesting, mostly acoustic numbers is a welcome addition to anyone's music collection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Submarine (Original Songs)
Buy MP3 Album£4.29
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews