Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure Unadulterated Space Opera?
If you want spaceships battling amongst the stars doing impossible things. If you want a hero of the old fashioned sort, a heroine of the modern sort and monsters from beyond Earth's atmosphere. If you want a really enjoyable read that doesn't cause you to start re-evaluating everything all at once.

This is book for you.

It has vague ideas first...
Published 17 months ago by A. Butler

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Hmm, sort of OK (finished it anyway)
Well, of the vast quantity of mediocre kindle stuff this is an OK example. Won't bother with the later books in the series though, life's too short.

The good: OK heroes, speed of plot development/ pace of events pretty quick all along, narrative readable, nice details here and there.

The bad: Shallow characters, instant mega-solutions, prose as...
Published 22 months ago by C Richards


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure Unadulterated Space Opera?, 22 Feb 2013
By 
A. Butler "tanj666" (Coventry, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love Conquers All (Annihilation Series Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
If you want spaceships battling amongst the stars doing impossible things. If you want a hero of the old fashioned sort, a heroine of the modern sort and monsters from beyond Earth's atmosphere. If you want a really enjoyable read that doesn't cause you to start re-evaluating everything all at once.

This is book for you.

It has vague ideas first seen in EE Doc Smith's classic Lensman and Skylark series. Bigger is better! Bigger, faster, more weapons, more damage. "Bus-bars as thick as your leg" kind of stuff.

Beside classic space opera storyline, there is monstrous emotional content too. Heart achingly simple story elements that get you welling-up with tears.

If you like EE Doc Smith, Jack Williamson et-al, there's a new name in town (actually a bunch of people).

If you want a complicated, cerebral, high science novel, look elsewhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Hmm, sort of OK (finished it anyway), 18 Sep 2012
By 
C Richards "Graaf" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love Conquers All (Annihilation Series Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
Well, of the vast quantity of mediocre kindle stuff this is an OK example. Won't bother with the later books in the series though, life's too short.

The good: OK heroes, speed of plot development/ pace of events pretty quick all along, narrative readable, nice details here and there.

The bad: Shallow characters, instant mega-solutions, prose as shallow as the characters, thin/ inconsistent back plot, significant events wrapped up with little detail or description. Galactic alliances whose thought processes, planning and logic wouldn't suit an 8 year old. Lots of deus-ex machina resolutions... (eg. God like powers drop onto scene with no effort, integration or credible basis).

Not a wasted day but nothing very much gained on balance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars On the borderline..., 4 May 2012
By 
K. Sandbach (Sheffield, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love Conquers All (Annihilation Series Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
I like sci-fi to have a pretty high level of scientific / technological credibility, and this book doesn't quite get there, although it does try to. But the narrative flies along at a good pace, and I didn't find too many jarring text errors (maybe the author has uploaded a partially corrected version since the previous reviews were written).

I can best describe this as "feel-good sci-fi" which is a pretty strange blend of genres, but it just about works. Don't expect any characters to exhibit any signs of deviousness, darkness, hidden agendas etc. Everyone turns out to be Jolly Nice Chaps / Girls in the end even if they didn't appear so at first impression. Even the bad guys are not really bad deep down, just misguided.

Overall I'd say a fun read, not demanding, slightly overpriced ... but just about good enough that I went ahead and bought book 2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Like the Curates egg ......, 10 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love Conquers All (Annihilation Series Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
.... its good in parts. Good narrative, an invulnerable superhero, stilted conversation, battles that never go wrong with amazing weapons and ships, tremendous action and infuriating format errors ( scenes should not change at the end of a paragraph without some indication ) but I liked it. Lets hope the rest of the trilogy is as good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Another one aimed at the younger reader?, 6 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love Conquers All (Annihilation Series Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed but it was rather light and fluffy. Not a lot of depth or development. Will not buy the next in series but do recommend for a younger person who is just starting in the world of Science Fiction
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars well contructed book, 10 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love Conquers All (Annihilation Series Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
good intro and an interesting storyline, different from the normal with a good bit of storyline to go with the action
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Badly written and appalling physics, 12 Feb 2013
By 
J. S. Cox (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love Conquers All (Annihilation Series Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
I wasn't looking for anything intellectual and Amazon recommended this to me. I regret my purchase. The writing style reminded me of stories I wrote for homework when I was 15, and that is not a good thing. But there was an interesting idea in the first few pages so I kept with it. I finally gave up maybe 20 pages later when the > 10,000,000% efficient solar panel was introduced without any hint that this breaks the laws of physics as we know them.

There might be a passable story and universe in there somewhere but I couldn't bear to try and find it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The start - possibly a better title for this book., 6 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love Conquers All (Annihilation Series Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
Never read a book so avidly nor with such gusto. A whole range of emotions in one book. Really enjoyed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great but not very solid, 17 Nov 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love Conquers All (Annihilation Series Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
This is a great story to read. You immediatly begin to love Tag from the get go and the menchanics of this new world are interesting and fun. However the whole book is too.... easy. I like when the main is superior by a large margin, which they are, however everything they do seems too easy, too simple and WAY to fast paced. The first books is okay with it's speed however the following books speed through the plot at an almost dizzying pace. Another issue is that the author doesnt clearly set out who is saying what, how they are saying it and when their thougts end and when the conversation begins. The final annoying thing is the unreal reactions and actions of the characters. The author ocassionally points this out however the ammount of deviation from human values, and the unlikely hood of the aliens reactions, makes the book feel boring as the whole book is too positive.

This may look like a bad picture however I personally enjoyed the characters and the plot and I felt the light heartedness, although often miss placed, makes the book easier to read. However I do not believe it is for everyone. I wouldn't recommend it to people who enjoy realistic fictional books with realistic characters however it is still a good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A series of repeats - the whole series, 17 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love Conquers All (Annihilation Series Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
Since this is a series rather than one book, it seems fair to give an overview of the lot, as Amazon don't otherwise seem to provide for that despite the increasing number of series being published in Kindle.
I bought this and the rest of the series with some Amazon vouchers I got, as it appeared to be an interesting group. In itself the first book was a good enough read, with the title being borne out in the ending. However, the author then goes on to repeat the same overall plot pattern in the subsequent books to the extent that you end up knowing how it will end, so there are very few real twists and turns as the series progresses until the end which again is flagged up as the later books progress.
It's an OK read. Not by any means intellectually demanding to say the least. Would I have bought it in other circumstances? Probably not after the first book or two.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews