Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kiss Me Quick
Detective Vince Treadwell is an honest detective - one of a rare few in 1964 London it seems. When he is called to a murder in a soho club, both the club owner and Vince's fellow detective are only keen to get him out of the way so they can sort things amicably out between them, and avoid Vince seeing the money change hands. Stumbling on what he believes is a snuff...
Published on 22 Mar. 2012 by S Riaz

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars solid but little over-elaborated
Kiss Me Quick is very much a story of an isolated, maverick, brilliant cop against his own corrupt bosses and the criminal underworld. Vincent Treadwell is an engaging lead character, with his movie star looks, sense of morality and reckless bravery. The other lead characters - Bobbie, Jack Regent, Henry Pierce, Vaughan - are all well penned, full of life and fleshed out...
Published on 6 May 2012 by Rob Kitchin


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kiss Me Quick, 22 Mar. 2012
By 
S Riaz "S Riaz" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kiss Me Quick (Kindle Edition)
Detective Vince Treadwell is an honest detective - one of a rare few in 1964 London it seems. When he is called to a murder in a soho club, both the club owner and Vince's fellow detective are only keen to get him out of the way so they can sort things amicably out between them, and avoid Vince seeing the money change hands. Stumbling on what he believes is a snuff film, Vince ends up in a coma for three weeks and awakes to suggestions he has made the whole thing up. Sent to Brighton, his home town, to recover (and avoid bad feelings at his station for accusing a fellow cop of being crooked), he is given the case file of a corpse found with no head or hands. Could this be a start of the career in homicide which he covets? The local cops in Brighton do not seem any more accomodating, or less bent, than those he left behind in Soho and nobody seems very keen on his investigating.

This is an intelligently written and atmospheric novel, with a realistic feel for the place and time it is written in. There are truly creepy gangsters, an attractive gangsters moll, drugs, Mods and Rockers fighting on the beach (when asked which he is, Vince uses the real life line uttered by Ringo Starr in the sixties - "a mocker") and a small time criminal who just happens to be Vince's brother. The author rarely uses real characters, but I particularly liked his music impressario, Dickie Eton, who was said to be trained by Larry Parnes and was an almost perfect replica of an early sixties manager. There is a second book in this series The Gilded Edge, which I have pre-ordered. Hopefully there will be many more, as Vince is a great character and this is a very enjoyable setting and era for a mystery series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Brilliant New Detective Series, 25 Oct. 2011
By 
EMLYN REES (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kiss Me Quick (Kindle Edition)
This is the first book of what looks set to be a brilliant new detective series set in the 1960's. It's the story of London copper, Vince Treadwell, who's sent down to Brighton to investigate what looks like a dead end murder, but turns out to be anything but.

The time period is convincingly evoked, not just in terms of music and fashion, but in terms of the morals and language of the characters. Brighton, too, springs to life. It's where I live and it's impossible now, having read this book, to walk around without thinking that the events described in Kiss Me Quick are anything other than real.

The book's hero, Vince Treadwell, is an excellently realised creation. A cop who's as hard as the villains he's up against, who grew up among them and who knows how they think. He's tough and cool, but with an Achilles heel of romanticism that just might prove his downfall. Think Michael's Caine's Harry Palmer meets Paul Weller as detective. Vince is pretty much someone any bloke would kill to be and a lot of women would like to meet.

The villains he's up against - Jack Regent and Henry Pierce - are nightmare-inducing in their ruthlessness. But they're no cartoon cut-outs. More the kind of professional psychopaths you just pray you never meet.

It's no surprise to read that author, Danny Miller, cut his teeth as a screenwriter. The plotting is intricate and continually surprising. A gem of an ending too. One that leaves you itching for more. This is a real page-turner which will keep you guessing right to the very end. Roll on book two. I, for one, will be snapping it up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Miller captures the sleaze and the excitement of 60s Brighton, 30 Mar. 2013
By 
Danuta Reah (Sheffield UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Kiss Me Quick (Paperback)
Danny Miller's debut crime novel, Kiss Me Quick, was deservedly highly commended in the UK Crime Writers' Association Dagger Awards, being pipped at the post for the John Creasey New Blood Dagger by SJ Watson's Before I Go To Sleep.
Kiss Me Quick is set in 1960s England, and introduces Vince Treadwell, a young Detective Inspector. Treadwell is first seen falling foul of a corrupt senior officer in London's Soho sex industry, (60s Soho was more known for sleaze that for trendy eateries and clubs). This results in Treadwell's being sent to Brighton on the south coast.
Treadwell is a native of Brighton, and is all too familiar with the power of gangster Jack Regent who disappeared after apparently being involved in a knife killing. His job is to track Regent down in the chaos of organised crime, dodgy heroin on the streets and the riots involving gangs of Mods and Rockers that were a feature of south coast seaside resorts in the early 60s.
Treadwell has to walk a fine line between the criminals he is pursuing, Regent himself, Regent's psychopathic henchman Francis Pearce, his own brother Vaughan, a heroin addict who has in the past worked for Pearce, and Regent's girlfriend, Bobby, with whom Treadwell becomes romantically involved. Corruption within the police force means that he is unable to trust the people who should be backing him: his superiors in Brighton and in London itself. Treadwell is in a dark and dangerous world and must move fast, but with great care.
Miller captures the sleaze and the excitement of 60s Brighton, and the moral ambiguities of a police force that was far less accountable and far less controlled than it is today. There are some errors: heroin addiction was comparatively rare in 1964, doctors were able to prescribe freely up to 1965 which meant that addicts were less dependent on dealers. Heroin trafficking was not the big business it is today. The heroin addicts Treadwell encounters are more akin to current users than UK addicts of the period. The Mods and Rockers riots, though they occurred, were relatively small scale and blown up by a sensationalist press. Nonetheless, Miller paints a believable and vivid picture of 1960s England. The plot is as crowded as a Brighton beach on a sunny summer Sunday, but the book is a highly enjoyable page turner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent 60's noir, 25 Mar. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kiss Me Quick (Paperback)
This book is a crime thriller, and it's a pretty dark and viceral one. It starts off with a prologue in 1939, where the villain of the piece commits a vicious double murder. We then fast forward to 1964, and a sharp suited rookie detective called Vince Treadwell investigates a murder in Soho, that seemingly goes nowhere. Vince Treadwell is then sent down to Brighton to solve the murder of a man who's been washed up on the beach - decapitated. As I said, pretty dark. But not unremittingly so.

It's a very stylish thriller, with a love story mixed in too, excellent prose, and very funny in places. All the characters who inhabit the book are really well drawn, the main villain's henchman, Henry Pierce, being a real standout - he's terrifying and funny at the same time! And the era with the mods and rockers fighting it out on the beach is well described and adds to the atmosphere of the book. It's densly plotted, but all the strands of the story come together for a really powerful ending. If this is to be a series featuring Vince Tredwell, who makes for a young and lively detective, then I'd definitely read the next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More Vince please., 10 Mar. 2012
By 
Y. Johnston - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Kiss Me Quick (Paperback)
I thoroughly enjoyed this novel. It was well written with a great 'retro' 1960s feel. Yes, I did spot the odd anachronism but I was happy to overlook such as none was of real importance to the story. I think Danny Miller has created a refreshingly new type of detective here. For one thing, he's teetotal. But he is by no means free of emotional baggage. An interesting character and I hope to read more about him.
My only criticism - rather too much eye-related gore.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice 'n' sleazy, 4 April 2011
This review is from: Kiss Me Quick (Kindle Edition)
This is Brighton Rock for the 1960s - and what the 2011 cinematic remake of Brighton Rock wanted to be.
Danny Miller perfectly characterises the kind of low-life you will find if you just step off the seafront and look behind the glittering facade of Brighton. And as Miller makes clear, the low-life isn't all on one side of the law - the stench of police corruption in this tale is as sickening as that from a bucket of bait fish on a sunny afternoon.
The central character, Vince Treadwell, is a well-drawn, fully-rounded, and plausible hero figure - Vince has flaws in his psyche but not as many as do his adversaries, his colleagues, and his friends and family. Like Vince you'll fall for hard-faced, if ultimately vulnerable, women, tread warily around truly scary villains, and despair of the machinations of those who are supposed to uphold what's right and proper. Kiss Me Quick is an excellent debut novel - I look forward to reading more from Danny Miller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brighton Rocks, 22 Mar. 2011
This review is from: Kiss Me Quick (Paperback)
It's great to be able to identify with the places & the atmosphere of brighton (even though I am more 70's & 80's)

Very well researched & very cool reference points - got soho & brighton spot on - great characters - very rich...seedy...dark ....I could go on

if you're in to crime thrillers or a real snapshot of 60's Brighton underworld its a great read - recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Cracking read, 19 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kiss Me Quick (Kindle Edition)
This book was recommended to me by a retired police officer who said the storey is as if he had re read his own diaries of that period . A well written story the characters true to the erra .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good holiday read, 20 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kiss Me Quick (Kindle Edition)
a good read, especially at 99p via the daily kindle deal. kept me turning the pages and not drifting off and having to re read paragraphs, for me with my very low boredom threshold that's a good sign. found the characters not quite believable or empathetic.

if you're after holiday reads and like uk detectives then buy it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars solid but little over-elaborated, 6 May 2012
By 
Rob Kitchin - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Kiss Me Quick (Kindle Edition)
Kiss Me Quick is very much a story of an isolated, maverick, brilliant cop against his own corrupt bosses and the criminal underworld. Vincent Treadwell is an engaging lead character, with his movie star looks, sense of morality and reckless bravery. The other lead characters - Bobbie, Jack Regent, Henry Pierce, Vaughan - are all well penned, full of life and fleshed out with strong back stories. Although the book is very much rooted in the town, somewhat oddly I didn't really get a feel for Brighton, its geography or sense of place beyond it being a seaside resort. What I did get was a vivid sense of time. Miller does a good job at recreating the early 1960s and the feel and vibe of the time. These are the two real strengths of the book: the characterization and the historical rootedness. The plot was interesting if a little cumbersome at times, but it was generally engaging, tense and rose to a crescendo. For the most part the storytelling was solid enough, but was a little over-elaborated in places for my taste. Overall an enjoyable read and I'd be interested in catching up with Detective Treadwell's next case.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Kiss Me Quick
Kiss Me Quick by Danny Miller
£4.27
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews