Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Shop now Learn more

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 April 2012
First of all the major difference between Windows Premium and Professional for the home user is that Professional allows seamless use of programs designed for XP platforms so your older programs are not redundant.

Having just built my first computer I decided if I was going to take that plunge I should go for it completely and get a "builders" copy of Windows Professional and I was not disappointed. My intention was to set up and keep the computer for some considerable time anyway. So although an OEM copy isn't transferable as it "ties" to the motherboard that was never a worry for me. Given the saving against a retail version and the competitive price on Amazon it was not a difficult decision! So if you want an operating system with all the features of a retail version but at two thirds the cost and don't have any reservations about restricting it to one computer ... go for this copy!
1212 comments|39 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2013
This was advertised as a Microsoft OEM disc but when opened turned out to be a Dell reinstallation disc for a PC that already has windows 7 on it. I belive other customers have had the same problem. This was purchased from a German supplier and forfilled by amazon. Amazon need to be more careful about what they ship on behalf their suppliers.Not a happy customer.Software returned as it was not fit for purpose. Awaiting refund.
44 comments|43 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2013
Yeah i have just discovered this is not as advertised, yes was a german supplier and does turn out to be a Dell reinstallation disc, hell if i knew that and everyone else would never have purchased, i did wonder why automatic activation did not work so tried manual activation and that's when i discovered the major issue so is COUTERFEIT and not impressed, did previously purchase a 32 bit version and that was through amazon but was english and worked great, hearing the words from DELL say it is activated already on another computer in another country was so depressing, i stated Amazon and they literally laughed, seems this is not a first then, amazed and bemused is an understatement. It should be noted for the first 30 days all was great with no issues, installed and worked great then you are hit with "your copy of windows in NOT genuine, aaaaarrrrggggghhhhh. Yes very angry and annoyed.

UPDATE: Contacted Amazon and to my surpise was offered a full refund so in the process of that now, great work Amazon.
33 comments|21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2014
Bought on behalf of someone else who installed it fine with a provided authorisation code. Now they get told every time they log in that their version is no longer valid and a new authorisation code is required.

I have recently contacted the seller, but have yet to be sent a response.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2014
I bought this for a new build but when I inserted the disc it worked fine until it was time to copy files and then I would get an error, checked Google and it is that the drive struggles to get the files from the disc to the hard drive whole, they are either missing something or corrupted. As this was ages ago while I was still getting the pieces together for the build it has gone by the return by date, I received a dell reinstallation disc from a German supplier, fulfilled by amazon, this purchase was a joke.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2012
I am running this through Parallels on my MacBook Pro and have had no problems what so ever.

Specs:
Processor 2.6 GHz Intel Core i7
Memory 8 GB 1600 MHz DDR3
Graphics NVIDIA GeForce GT 650M 1024 MB
Software OS X 10.8.1
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2013
The software installed with out problem and updated itself automatically. When it prompted for the activation key the supplied product key was not accepted. The Microsoft activation software reported that the product key didn't match the product. In my experience, OEM software generally has "OEM" in the product key. This key did not have that. The only option available was to purchase a replacement license. The cost of that would have been the same as the original purchase price of the product.

Because of the failed activation and the cost of getting a replacement licence I am returning the product and removing it from my PC.

Out of interest I downloaded and ran the Microsoft product verification tool. It reported that 'some components' of the activation software had been tampered with or were corrupt. Again the only option given was to purchase a replacement licence.
0Comment|18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2013
Arrived quickly and installed the 64-bit version without any problems what-so-ever. Previously downloaded 64 bit Vista drivers from the Dell website using the original driver codes to determine the correct drivers and also the recommended sequence. Once set-up, connected to the i'net and registration was quickly achieved. Although this disk comes with SP1, be prepared for prolonged download sessions as there are hundreds more which don't always install and, MS in their wisdom, will apparently not be producing a SP2.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2013
Dell branded OEM disk. Installed easily and code recognised and accepted straight away. If building and maintaining your own system,why pay microsofts super high retail price
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 November 2014
This is a Dell reinallation disk, not an OEM installation disk and after a month, Windows has told me that its not valid and the product key is not accepted.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See one answered question


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)