Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Life-changing!
An absolute bible for anyone in the creative field. Or any other field, for that matter. All I ever needed as an artist is in there: how to slay that dragon of procrastination and self-doubt, how to overcome the fear of success and how to get over that dreaded finish line when you've come 99% and suddenly lose faith. Read it. You won't be disappointed.
Published 2 months ago by Eliza Kettner

versus
24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Some people will find it inspirational
It is very good of the author and Seth Godin to offer this for free on the Kindle.

Many people have found Steven Pressfield's book " The war of Art" to be very useful in overcoming resistance or procrastination and " Do the work" is basically a distillation of that book.

I do have very mixed feelings about his approach. For overcoming writers block I...
Published on 26 April 2011 by The Emperor


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Some people will find it inspirational, 26 April 2011
By 
The Emperor (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Do the Work (Kindle Edition)
It is very good of the author and Seth Godin to offer this for free on the Kindle.

Many people have found Steven Pressfield's book " The war of Art" to be very useful in overcoming resistance or procrastination and " Do the work" is basically a distillation of that book.

I do have very mixed feelings about his approach. For overcoming writers block I have found it to be somewhat useful . Even successful and prolific writers sometimes have problems and seeing this resistance as something to be fought and overcome can be quite helpful.

However I did find the writing to be overwrought, self-dramatising and often very inconsistent. Also it seemed a bit too personal to the author.

I have found books that give far more practical advice to be a lot more useful. Pressfield's approach only seems to deal with one possible reason for procrastination.

The psychologist Albert Ellis in his Rational Emotive Behaviour Therapy approach has a lot of methods to deal with "Low Frustration Tolerance" (which seems similar to resistance) and these seem to be much more useful than the mystical approach that book uses.

For areas other than dealing with a writer's block I think that his ideas might actually be harmful and de-motivating. He makes everything seem really difficult and not really enjoyable. It hardly makes you want to start work on a potentially difficult project!

Edit: I wrote this review when it was available for a free download and gave it three stars. It is currently very poor value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 31 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Endless collection of truisms, 27 April 2011
By 
Rusen Ciprian (Bucharest, Romania) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Do the Work (Kindle Edition)
This is one of the worst books I have ever read. Simply a collection of truisms, flat words and ideas thrown at the reader. A serious lack of helpful ideas. Just a series of stupid sentences like:
"Resistance is the shadow cast by the innovative self's sun"
"The enemy is Resistance"
"Break the sheet of foolscap into three parts: beginning, middle, and end."
It felt like an endless series of encouragements with no value: You can do it, do it, resistance is the enemy, fight the resistance, do it. And worst of all the book encourages people not to plan, not to think, not to prepare. Just DO IT!
That's how many companies went bankrupt - they did not think, they just did it. In the stupidest possible ways.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good advice but not too deep!, 21 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Do the Work (Hardcover)
Good advice about how to approach writing a play. Not so useful if you're trying to write a book! I felt as if I was being shouted at - in a good way if that's possible - through a series of one-liners. These were very practical, but all the time I wanted to know more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Short motivational book, 26 Oct 2011
By 
Mole "Mole" (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Do the Work (Kindle Edition)
It's a fact that there are some people that can quickly get to grips with new plans, and within a short period they can be well on their way within a given project. Others find it much harder to get started and may take considerable time to do much more than the most basic steps if they achieve anything at all. For all of the second group of people, this book tries to help you get yourself into the swing of things as quickly as possible.

As far as it goes, it's not too bad; I found some of the aphorisms quite useful. However, I wouldn't describe it as unique; there are many other books (some much longer and more detailed) that I feel provide better advice and much more of it. However, the most important thing is if the reader finds it of value, and that comes down to personal taste.

I downloaded it when it was free, but it seems that it now comes with a price tag, and I'm not entirely sure that I feel it worth even the relatively low price currently listed. However, I did enjoy reading it, so I still feel comfortable giving it 3 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Life-changing!, 28 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Do the Work (Kindle Edition)
An absolute bible for anyone in the creative field. Or any other field, for that matter. All I ever needed as an artist is in there: how to slay that dragon of procrastination and self-doubt, how to overcome the fear of success and how to get over that dreaded finish line when you've come 99% and suddenly lose faith. Read it. You won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A handbook to have by my side, 26 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Do the Work (Kindle Edition)
What I love about this book & War Of Art is they are short, too the point and keep reminding you that they represent the resistance in so much as they represent good intentions and determination. You cant avoid the fact that you are reading them because there is something you heart calls you to do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars useful to any artist, 26 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Do the Work (Kindle Edition)
The strength of the book is the guidance on struggles against one's own demons.
The style is very stirring, but overly so in parts. I would recommend, esp. To anyone undertaking
Writing a book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just read it for the 3rd time, 18 Nov 2013
This review is from: Do the Work (Kindle Edition)
My time is precious so the fact I read it again says a lot. If you struggle with fear or you're an artist of any kind you'll probably love this book. Inspiring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Short & Precise, 2 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Do the Work (Hardcover)
In a short bullet-style word attack Pressfield is able to "press" a tremendous amount of valid points and helpers on each page that will help you get out of the chair, out into the world and funnel your energy and motivation in the right direction. It's an easy read but a book that you want to read again and again. Well done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hu(man) know thyself, 5 Mar 2013
This review is from: Do the Work (Kindle Edition)
To the point guidance on connecting, nurturing and expressing our creative spirit and slaying the dragon of resistance on the way. Read it in one sitting. Then read it again. Write between pauses. Then write some more..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0x10c0da08)

This product

Do the Work
Do the Work by Steven Pressfield
3.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews