Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


39 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you like first wave English punk, you must read this.
If, like me, you missed the first wave of punk (hey, I was only born in 1973!), but fell in love with the music later, you gotta read this book.
Savage tells the tale of English punk (with some reference to what was happening in the USA, but as the title says, this is _England's_ Dreaming), starting from the backgrounds of those involved, through to the end of the...
Published on 26 July 2001

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Okay..ish
Strange book, I got bored 3/4 through and it took me about a year to finish, well I think I finished it, Im still undecided whether I enjoyed it or not...parts were ok, other part no so...it tends to 'ramble' a bit.
Published 17 months ago by Steve


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars A great book about Punk, 21 Aug 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: England's Dreaming (Paperback)
Excellent service via Amazon-Thankyou.Read this book several times when it was first published.My favourite book on Punk and I've read a few.'Please kill me' by Legs McNeil is great from the American side of things if you are not sure what to read once you have finished this.Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb behind the scenes account, 10 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: England's Dreaming: The "Sex Pistols" and Punk Rock (Kindle Edition)
Read this on hols and can remember the events as if it were yesterday. Jon Savage's brilliant behind the scenes account of the rise and fall of the Sex Pistols (and other related punk bands) as they emerged from the avant garde scene in New York, superbly put into the context of anarchist political theory, and then onwards to the sad fate of Sid Vicious. A great read and you don't need to be aged 50 or so to enjoy the tale of the best band ever
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Okay..ish, 21 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: England's Dreaming: The "Sex Pistols" and Punk Rock (Kindle Edition)
Strange book, I got bored 3/4 through and it took me about a year to finish, well I think I finished it, Im still undecided whether I enjoyed it or not...parts were ok, other part no so...it tends to 'ramble' a bit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good book about the history of the pistols., 7 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: England's Dreaming: The "Sex Pistols" and Punk Rock (Kindle Edition)
Very well written with lots of information that covers everything that happened from the very first to the very last day of there life's together.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A classic of its genre, 30 Mar 2013
By 
P. Woodwards "Bon Viver" (Colchester, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: England's Dreaming (Paperback)
A very well written book. Mr Savage is meticulously thorough & his attention detail is faultless. Highly recommended for those that lived through the punk or those that wish to learn more about this turbulent & pivotal period of popular culture.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great stuff!, 4 Oct 2012
This review is from: England's Dreaming: The "Sex Pistols" and Punk Rock (Kindle Edition)
Excellent book, well written, informative and plenty to get you feeling like you've been transported back to the 70's. Great for anyone interested in the punk explosion!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Punk's Definitive Account, 29 Sep 2012
By 
Keith M - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: England's Dreaming (Paperback)
Music journalist Jon Savage's 1991 account of the rise and fall of punk rock (with its focus on the Sex Pistols) is certainly the best book I have read on the subject, and indeed is one of the impressive music books per se that I have come across. Savage's book presents a comprehensive history of UK (and, to a lesser extent, US) punk (and its near indistinguishable sister, new wave), featuring commentary on the subject from a whole plethora of contributors (musicians, journalists, social commentators, etc) and concluding at the point of the death of Sid Vicious and the legal battle that ensued between Malcolm McLaren and John Lydon (early 1979).

The book initially charts the life story of arch opportunist McClaren, his early influences (the situationist movement, Edwardian fashion, etc), his King's Road shop incarnations (Let It Rock, Sex, Seditionaries), his relationship with Vivienne Westwood, his flirting with the early US punk scene (New York Dolls, etc) and the formation of the Sex Pistols. From the point that the movement began to take off during 1976 and thereafter, Savage's book contains quotes from pretty much everyone who was anyone in the nascent scene including members of The Clash, The Damned, X-Ray Spex, Buzzcocks, Siouxsie and the Banshees, Eater, Penetration, The Adverts, The Heartbreakers, The Saints, Subway Sect, Generation X, etc. There are also compelling sections on the Bill Grundy TV episode (and its violent aftermath), the links between punk and anti-racist politics (RAR, ANL), the inter-band rivalries that existed and the final implosion of the Pistols in the wake of the disastrous US tour.

Savage's book provides a brilliant dissection of the causes and potential legacies of this key period in youth culture and music. For me, there are many key events and themes arising from England's Dreaming, including Savage's account of the devastating regret still felt (some 15 years after the event) by erstwhile Television front man, Richard Hell, following his decision to turn down McLaren's offer of fronting the Sex Pistols, and McLaren's absolute obsession in the pursuit of controversy, such as in his decision to focus on venues in the redneck south of the USA for the Sex Pistols tour, rather than those in the more accommodating north of the country. As well as the more serious passages, the book also has many hilarious moments, including the account of Steve Jones' previous burgling career during which he (allegedly) stole David Bowie's entire PA system (having hidden overnight in the Hammersmith Odeon) and the priceless quote from perennial joker Captain Sensible, who, on discovering that The Damned's manager Jake Riviera was concealing the truth about the Sex Pistols being banned on various dates on the Anarchy In The UK tour, quipped, 'We came out of it looking like a bunch of tossers, which we were, but not in that sense.'

Essential reading for anyone interested in this key period in the UK's musical and cultural history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars informative and a great read, 25 Jan 2012
This review is from: England's Dreaming (Paperback)
very informative book that i used to write my dissertation, i found out more things about the sex pistols and punk than i have from any other book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The essential read if you're interested in punk history, 10 April 2010
This review is from: England's Dreaming (Paperback)
Jon Savage's book is the most erudite and best researched history of the pre-punk and early UK punk scene. There is really no other book you need to read on the subject (and, trust me, I've read many others!). Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very, very good informative read., 22 April 2006
By 
Mr. D. W. Mcconnell "opal_luna_saturnine" (Buckinghamshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: England's Dreaming (Paperback)
This book must be at the top of the pile when it comes to the history of punk, and the Sex Pistols. There is a wealth of information here - and details of the socioeconomic background of the nation's history that inspired these angry young men (and women). This book was the main source of my dissertation on how the Sex Pistols changed the face of music. Invaluable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews