Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Would you trust a dead body with this man?
This is a revised version of a review I first published on my blog as there's no way Amazon would publish it in its original form. There are also spoilers with regards to the ownership of body parts. If you don't like spoilers, skip this review.

I printed a couple of photos in the blog and went on to say that unfortunately I couldn't find any more striking...
Published on 3 May 2012 by Ian Williams

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Not Even Herbert West Can Reanimate This One
The original Re Animator was pure trash class, the second film paled considerably, but this third outing is quite dire.

The magic isn't here and Jeffrey Combs seems almost disinerested in proceedings. Indeed there are plenty of long drawn out scenes where his character does not appear.

The film lacks all of the fun of the first and second films, and...
Published 14 months ago by Colonel Decker


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Would you trust a dead body with this man?, 3 May 2012
By 
Ian Williams "ianw" (Sunderland, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beyond Re-Animator [Fantastic Factory Collection] (Arrow Video) [DVD] (DVD)
This is a revised version of a review I first published on my blog as there's no way Amazon would publish it in its original form. There are also spoilers with regards to the ownership of body parts. If you don't like spoilers, skip this review.

I printed a couple of photos in the blog and went on to say that unfortunately I couldn't find any more striking images such as the bisected man swinging along bars chasing after our anti-hero because he stole, killed and re-animated his pet rat. Or of the fight between the rat and the re-animated severed sausage. (It isn't a sausage.)

It opens with one of Dr Herbert West's failed experiments (no lower jaw but he still tries to drink from a carton of milk with messy results) killing a young woman and watched her younger brother who picks up a syringe of the glowing green re-animator serum dropped by West as he's hauled away by the police.

Fifteen years later a young doctor (the grown up younger brother and played by Jason Barry) arrives at a seedy prison (which looks suspiciously like Spain where the movie was actually made) to be the new doctor but actually to work with doctor prisoner West (the inimitable Jeffrey Combs) to refine the re-animator serum and help the world. The inmates are a bunch of psychos (who look rather Spanish which is not to say the Spanish all look like psychos) and the warden -an authoritarian lecherous sadist- is far worse than any of them -and a fine vile performance indeed from Simon Andreu who sensibly sails over the top at every opportunity. Also on the scene is Laura Olney (the talented Elsa Pataky, a well-known Spanish actress) a young journalist trying to do a piece on the prison. She starts out relatively mousy and ends up, let's just say it's a little reminiscent of Barbara Crampton in bondage gear in From Beyond. In between, she and the young doctor become close. (Surprise fact: she's married to the younger Chris Hemsworth aka Thor.)

Needless to say, anything involving the purely self-serving Herbert West goes disastrously, comically, violently, and gorily wrong. Just about everyone in the prison ends up injected with the re-animator serum and the serum which was designed to, but doesn't, stop the side-effects. Blood and body parts litter the screen. Our heroine develops a secondary psychopathic personality and if you wondered how the re-animated sausage ended up on its own with only a hungry rat for company I think you can make a good guess. The warden, partly infused with a rat, roams around alternately beating people to death and trying to do rude things to the heroine and if you wondered who the sausage belonged to... And everyone gets their deserts, both just and unjust except, for guess who who wanders off into the night in search of another sequel.

So you can see why I enjoyed it. Okay, so it isn't as good as the first two but it's equally a long way from being a disappointment.

The DVD from Arrow comes with a 50 minute interview with Brian Yuzna about the series, a booklet which features an interview Jeffrey Combs, and other bits of stuff. Nice package. And don't forget to watch the end credits
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 12 Sep 2008
This review is from: Beyond Re-Animator [DVD] (DVD)
jeffery combs takes up his defining roll once again in what is in my opinion the best film of the 3 reanimator films... a definate must watch
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Uncut with great features!!!, 17 April 2012
By 
Aaron Pynn - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beyond Re-Animator [Fantastic Factory Collection] (Arrow Video) [DVD] (DVD)
Great follow up to Bride and much better IMHO. This is the uncut version in case you are wondering. Really wild stuff as always and watch for the ending of this film.
There's a 50 minute long documentary called All In The Head. It really gives a complete and comprehensive look at the entire Re-Animator franchise. You'll find out why the movies turned out the way they did. Why there hasn't been a remake yet. And you'll even learn about some Re-Animatior scripts that almost got made.
This was a last minute buy to round out a purchase and I am so glad I got it.
As always there's reversible cover art, 12 page booklet, and a fold out poster of the original cover art.
You also get the original trailer and an audio commentary by director Brian Yuzna.
A must for Re-Animator fans!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A worthy sequel to a cult classic., 4 July 2010
This review is from: Beyond Re-Animator [DVD] (DVD)
As fan of the original 'Re-Animator', and after the disappointing sequel 'Bride of Re-Animator', I was somewhat sceptical about this third instalment in the series, but I have to admit this is an intelligent, fresh, funny, and energetic film which takes everything that made the first film great and improves on it.
Jeffrey Combs is back as mad scientist Herbert West and the storyline picks up 13 years later, where Dr West is confined in prison for his past crimes. On the arrival of Howard Phillips the new prison doctor, (who by chance was a follower of West and his research); West is invited to become his medical assistant. Now with advanced capabilities and improved ideas for re-animating the dead, West and Phillips set out to perfect the process, the only problem is they get caught up in a prison break which escalates into an all out gore filled bloody battle with the undead.
If you've never seen the original, then you'll probably want to watch 'Re-Animator' before renting 'Beyond Re-Animator', but of you were a fan of the original this is a worthy sequel and definitely worth checking out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Schlocky return for mad scientist, 18 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beyond Re-Animator [Fantastic Factory Collection] (Arrow Video) [DVD] (DVD)
First off, this was made in Spain on a miniscule budget, and it shows. However, it's also a lot of fun, and if you enjoyed the first one, this should please you no end. Jeffrey Coombs resurrects a fan-favourite role, and there's the usual undead shenanigans and eye-popping, entrail-spurting goodness we've come to expect from Herbert West's antics. My recommendation? Get some beer, get some pizza, put your feet up and disengage your brain - you'll enjoy this a lot more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Schlocky return for a great mad scientist, 18 Sep 2013
This review is from: Beyond Re-Animator [DVD] (DVD)
First off, this was made in Spain on a miniscule budget, and it shows. However, it's also a lot of fun, and if you enjoyed the first one, this should please you no end. Jeffrey Coombs resurrects a fan-favourite role, and there's the usual undead shenanigans and eye-popping, entrail-spurting goodness we've come to expect from Herbert West's antics. My recommendation? Get some beer, get some pizza, put your feet up and disengage your brain - you'll enjoy this a lot more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Not Even Herbert West Can Reanimate This One, 1 Aug 2013
This review is from: Beyond Re-Animator [Fantastic Factory Collection] (Arrow Video) [DVD] (DVD)
The original Re Animator was pure trash class, the second film paled considerably, but this third outing is quite dire.

The magic isn't here and Jeffrey Combs seems almost disinerested in proceedings. Indeed there are plenty of long drawn out scenes where his character does not appear.

The film lacks all of the fun of the first and second films, and it all seems so forced. Director Brian Yuzna did his best with a sloppy story and having to shoot in Spain, with a full on Spanish cast. There is a great tongue in cheek throwback to the original's charm but this takes 81 mins. And whilst the film does redeem itself somewhat in the final quarter of an hour, it can't hide behind the fact that the film is actually a bore with wooden actors.

There is no way the film deserves 4 star ratings.

As for this Arrow package, it's good. The extras contain a superb interview with Yuzna who remembers his varied career. Artwork and overall presentation as you would expect from Arrow is top notch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Reasonable sequel, 7 Jan 2005
By 
Jane Aland (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Beyond Re-Animator [DVD] (DVD)
After a long gap (13 years!) the classic horror film Re-Animator finally gets another sequel (this is part 3 if you're counting). While keeping the essentials of the original Beyond Re-Animator adds some new spins to the zombie formula in the form of 'nanoplasma', the missing electrical ingredient that (in theory) stops the re-animated dead from turning into rabid killers. It's important that the film pushes forward with some new ideas to keep things fresh, but I can't say I was particularly enamoured of the nanoplasma device, as it ultimately leads to some of the most cheesy and embarrassing 'body swap' moments of the film, with the warden turned into a human rat being particularly poor. Elsewhere Jeffrey Combs turns in his usual great performance as Herbert West, though his ever-unwilling sidekick Dan Cain is sadly missing, replaced here by a character called Howard Philip (obviously a nod to original inspiration HP Lovecraft). Plus points for Beyond Re-Animator are the fantastic special effects, which range from a jawless zombies wildly flapping tongue to a junkie who overdoes on re-agent literally exploding over the screen. There are also some very OTT scenes seemingly designed to make the film offensive to the mainstream. Fans of Re-Animator will find plenty of enjoyable moments here, but the film as a whole is a little to disjointed to really succeed in it's own right.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Doctor is in!, 6 Oct 2014
By 
feeper (South Carolina) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beyond Re-Animator [Fantastic Factory Collection] (Arrow Video) [DVD] (DVD)
This movie is over the top fun. If you have seen the first two, you will not be disappointed. I hope there is another sequel in the works.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another great sequel to a classic movie!, 5 Mar 2004
This review is from: Beyond Re-Animator [DVD] (DVD)
If you're a fan of the original 'Re-Animator' movie then you'll find plenty here to enjoy. As long as you're happy to see a bit of gore & keep your tongue firmly planted in your cheek then you're sure to enjoy this horror/comedy. Jeffrey Combs is fantastic, as always, in his role as Herbert West....you just can't help but like the maniacal doctor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Beyond Re-Animator [Fantastic Factory Collection] (Arrow Video) [DVD]
£2.80
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews