Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars28
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£8.91
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 February 2004
In 1973 nothing it seemed could stop the truly stellar Alice Cooper Group. Nothing except the fact that the time of Muscle they were clearly falling apart.
Packaged almost as controversially as Billion Dollar Babies it was never going to consolidate it.
Muscle though daring in the courting of different musical styles is a patchy affair. The garage sound is still there but the compositions are lazy. Me, I like music with my decadence. Muscle has flashes of inspiration but too few.Guitar solos are frequent but choppy, the songs seem hastily written.
The interesting "Woman Machine" closes the album "Big Apple Dreamin" has opened on two of the higher moments outside of the title track. Classic standard is acheived on "Teenage Lament" a superb semi acoustic remake of "Eighteen" it is probably their most underated song.
But the irony is almost an audible one,there would be many a teenage lament for the passing of the Alice Cooper Group. A bittersweet farewell album for the band that saved my adolescence from ruination.
Alice sings " My Hearts a Muscle Of Love". Mine's a muscle of pain.
11 comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2015
a very underated cd worth having
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2015
Good CD arrived on time
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2004
In 1973 nothing it seemed could stop the truly stellar Alice Cooper Group. Nothing except the fact that the time of Muscle they were clearly falling apart.
Packaged almost as controversially as Billion Dollar Babies it was never going to consolidate it.
Muscle though daring in the courting of different musical styles is a patchy affair. The garage sound is still there but the compositions are lazy. Me, I like music with my decadence. Muscle has flashes of inspiration but too few.Guitar solos are frequent but choppy, the songs seem hastily written.
The interesting "Woman Machine" closes the album "Big Apple Dreamin" has opened on two of the higher moments outside of the title track. Classic standard is acheived on "Teenage Lament" a superb semi acoustic remake of "Eighteen" it is probably their most underated song.
But the irony is almost an audible one,there would be many a teenage lament for the passing of the Alice Cooper Group. A bittersweet farewell album for the band that saved my adolescence from ruination.
Alice sings " My Hearts a Muscle Of Love". Mine's a muscle of pain.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2015
fine product
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2007
A lot of people expected a great deal from this album.

Following the three truly great Alice albums (Love It To death, Killer and Billion Dollar Babies), it had in it's original vinyl form, a fascinating and lush cover.

This extraordinary sleeve promised so much and seemed to reveal a bold step away from the unique theatrical horror vibe the band had made it's own. Remember, the Billion Dollar Babies' magnificent green alligator skin wallet cover had not only a photograph of a grimly painted live baby but a huge billion dollar bill inside. It set a standard to follow.

But let's face it, packaging alone is not enough.

On playing this album you can immediately tell that the band is in trouble. Success had truly gotten to them and it shows.

However, there is one wonderful track on this album that struggles to surface from the unhappy mess: 'Hard Hearted Alice'. It displays all the beautiful melodic elements that the original Alice Cooper Band were so capable of.

Let's not forget, the name 'Alice Cooper' originally applied to the whole band and not just the singer.

Michael Bruce, Glen Buxton, Denis Dunaway and Neal Smith. These were the people that helped make Alice himself such a success. Each member contributed to create a really great rock 'n roll band. Check this lineup out on YouTube playing live and you'll see what I mean. This is why it was particularly sad that this album project failed.

So for those who actually loved the original lineup an maybe even felt a little bit sad when Glen Buxton died in 1997 this album contains a rather beautiful moment.
11 comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2004
In 1973 nothing it seemed could stop the truly stellar Alice Cooper Group. Nothing except the fact that the time of Muscle they were clearly falling apart.
Packaged almost as controversially as Billion Dollar Babies it was never going to consolidate it.
Muscle though daring in the courting of different musical styles is a patchy affair. The garage sound is still there but the compositions are lazy. Me, I like music with my decadence. Muscle has flashes of inspiration but too few. Guitar solos are frequent but choppy, the songs seem hastily written.
The interesting "Woman Machine" closes the album "Big Apple Dreamin" has opened on two of the higher moments outside of the title track. Classic standard is acheived on "Teenage Lament" a superb semi acoustic remake of "Eighteen" it is probably their most underated song.
But the irony is almost an audible one,there would be many a teenage lament for the passing of the Alice Cooper Group. A bittersweet farewell album for the band that saved my adolescence from ruination.
Alice sings " My Hearts a Muscle Of Love". Mine's a muscle of pain.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 July 2000
By this point it was clear that the ACG was falling apart. There are flashes of brilliance, notably Big Apple Dreaming & Woman Machine but it is obvious that the song writing is approaching the pastiche level.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)