Customer Reviews


79 Reviews
5 star:
 (61)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best BBC TV this year
Simply great, fast paced adult thriller with great acting and some good twists and turns. I hope the Beeb do another series!
Published on 28 July 2011 by The Wombat

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A disappointment after a cracking first series
The second series of Luther is rather odd. It's only four episodes long, and as I hoped they wouldn't do, Mark North (Paul McGann) makes a brief appearance but has nothing to do. Just when Luther was starting to give us an insight into its characters, it removes a bunch of them, as Luther is redeployed into a Violent Crims Unit. He has two cases- one makes up episode 1...
Published 6 months ago by Miss Scarlett


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best BBC TV this year, 28 July 2011
This review is from: Luther - Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Simply great, fast paced adult thriller with great acting and some good twists and turns. I hope the Beeb do another series!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding from beginning to end!, 12 Oct 2011
By 
Markus Ronald "Ronnie" (Israel) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Luther - Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Luther 1 was excellent and luther 2 will not disappoint. First rate nitty gritty dramapf the highest caliber.
Idris elba is just brilliant and he definately makes the series.
If you havn't seen series one, then buy them both.

And yes, there is english subtitles for deaf people like me and hundreds of others who want this info
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent - shame there are only 4 episodes though..., 30 July 2011
By 
This review is from: Luther - Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
If you have never watched Luther before I suggest you start with the equally impressive series 1.

I loved Elba as Stringer Bell in the Wire and he is great in this too.

This series is done slightly different in that there are only 4 episodes (2 stories done in double episodes)

My only 2 complaints are:

1. Not enough episodes - why not 6 episodes like series 1?

2. Alice appears only briefly at the beginning of the series. Then vanishes into thin air. I hope she will be back for series 3 if it is ever produced.

Still not enough to warrant less than 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A disappointment after a cracking first series, 21 Jan 2014
This review is from: Luther - Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
The second series of Luther is rather odd. It's only four episodes long, and as I hoped they wouldn't do, Mark North (Paul McGann) makes a brief appearance but has nothing to do. Just when Luther was starting to give us an insight into its characters, it removes a bunch of them, as Luther is redeployed into a Violent Crims Unit. He has two cases- one makes up episode 1 and 2, the other makes up 3 and 4- plus trying to save Jenny, a teenage prostitute, from a murky underworld of violent pornography.

Luther has fully converted to the Scandinavian gloom that is so popular now but it has lost the thriller element. The loss of Alice (Ruth Wilson) is also a mistake as despite her character being rather broad, it is her relationship with John that makes the show distinct from other cop dramas. As a character, John has mellowed considerably, as had Mark from his brief appearance. There's a lovely scene where John asks Mark to babysit Jenny (Aimee Ffion-Edwards), and Mark briefly bonds with Jenny over her tragic loss. Also, the friendship between Jenny and John is sweet and sensitively done- perhaps the only nice innocence in Luther's life.

The crimes are much weaker as well. The first one is exciting but the second is disappointing, seeming more like a run-of-the-mill crime drama.

What I'd like to see from Series 3 is character. If I wanted to see crime, I could watch Silent Witness. I hope the show doesn't throw away all the things that made it so different.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Luther, 9 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Luther - Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Great service. Arrived promptly. If you haven't seen the Luhter series... would certainly recommend it... A great series... but not for the faint hearted. Need to watch series 1 first!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love Luther!, 5 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Luther - Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
This is a great crime thriller Series. Well written and it features an excellent female serial killer. Idris Elba is brilliant as far as I'm concerned. Watch all 3 seasons!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars amazing, 20 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Luther - Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
have now completed collect all three series and am looking forward to the next series whenever that may be. marvelous
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Crime thriller, 10 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Luther - Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Watch the whole series. Start at the beginning the story follows through. Best crime thriller DVD. You will not be disappointed. It is a little graphic in parts be warned. Blood murder etc
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Luther not dross, 6 Nov 2013
By 
Alan Ross - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Luther - Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Watched series 3 first on telly and thought it was a new series. Found out we had missed two and ordered them. Bit violent but good strong characters and storyline. Highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Buy it now, 5 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Luther - Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Perfect......edge of your seat stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Luther - Series 2 [DVD]
Luther - Series 2 [DVD] by Idris Elba (DVD - 2011)
6.44
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews