Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A True Story Brought To Life
Spike Lee has done a fantastic job in re'creating what is still called in Italy 'The Massacre at Stazzema'. I know the real story as I am from the area ans was pleasantly suprised that Spike Lee showed both the human and evil aspects of what happened at St Anna's. This is a very important story for many in Tuscany and I am grateful to Spike Lee for allowing others to know...
Published on 31 Aug 2010 by FLazzurri

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Awful!
I watched this film because I have an interest in the region that it was set and some of the wartime stories are intruging and unbelievable. I also thought that the premise of following a Buffalo platoon was original and interesting. However, the film itself was a mess, with just random stories linked together by a rather dull, overlong journey that the soldiers take (the...
Published on 4 Aug 2011 by Cath


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Great World War II film by Spike Lee, 2 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Miracle At St Anna [Blu-ray] [2008] (Blu-ray)
Great film about a group of African American soldiers fighting in Italy, it is based on true events. The 92nd Division, 'Buffalo Soldiers' consisted of 15,000 men. The 92nd proved the African American soldiers could fight, despite the segregation in the United States at that time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good movie, 30 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Miracle At St Anna [Blu-ray] [2008] (Blu-ray)
Very enjoyable well worth a watch its up there with the best of war movies will watch again a good night in
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Miracle At St Anna, 9 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Havent watched the film yet, however bought a used copy from Zoverstocks - expected there to be slight cosmetic damage to dvd case however the case of the copy I received was broken with plastic missing from one corner, and the plastic front cover sleeve was torn. Have used Zoverstocks several times before for used items and have been happy, however this time I was dissapointed with the quality of the case.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great film, 1 Feb 2014
By 
gulliver_62 (London, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Miracle At St Anna [Blu-ray] [2008] (Blu-ray)
Excellent Spike Lee film. This is offered at a fabulous price, so something of a no-brainer. It plays flawlessly, so is the Amazon route is a great way to add to a movie collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A very good film that I had never heard of., 2 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Miracle At St Anna [Blu-ray] [2008] (Blu-ray)
This film caught my eye on Amazon so I bought it. Spike Lee has made some good films so I knew it wasn't going to be one of these low budget clunky WWII films. Instead you are treated to a wonderful story of a small unit who become detached from the main body of the US army and have to hide out in a village which is surrounded by Nazis. The drama is excellent. There's a real human touch here. So when violence and double-crossing does happen you really feel it. highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A film to educate and inspire...., 3 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not easy to say "Iike or love it".
Seems inappropriate due to the subject matter.
Well depicted, thought provoking, and great respect for my mother's generation in WW2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 20 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Miracle At St Anna [Blu-ray] [2008] (Blu-ray)
Brilliant direction,script,photography,acting and period recreation! One of this director's most evocative and engrossing films exploring many themes of great relevance for our current American society and its world policing role.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars st anna, 16 May 2013
By 
J. Coleman (u k) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A good deal better then I theart it was gawing to be not to bad atall this did not go in to the jumbual well not yet eny way jc
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars War Film, 25 Mar 2013
By 
C. Campbell (West Midlands, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm not usually interested in War but my children and are interested to see the history behind the black american soildiers in World War II as this is not readily available in school text books. Super film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars religion, 11 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a soldiers story of a miracle whilst at war, all the soldiers see a vision that takes them to safety, this is quite a moving film but I like it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Miracle At St Anna [Blu-ray] [2008]
Miracle At St Anna [Blu-ray] [2008] by Derek Luke (Blu-ray - 2011)
£10.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews