Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:    (0)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not the best, but very entertaining
I ended up watching this film with a couple friends one night. Though not the scariest film I've ever seen, it was unbelievably hilarious! This is up there with the Evil Dead's and Army of Darkness. Fast camera moves, naked women on a beach and an evil Siren that makes people bleed from their ears with her song....what more could you ask for on a Friday night? Pass the...
Published on 12 April 2011 by Raimi10

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A very deadly ditty
Siren is a very glossy affair, very professionaly made, with good performances and an interesting attempt to bring Greek Mythology into the contemporary horror film.
This British horror is in many ways a very retro horror film, relying on good old suspense and atmosphere to drive the plot forward. However, the plot also happens to be wafer thin, and eventually,...
Published on 18 Aug 2011 by Mr. Jonathon T. Beckett


Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not the best, but very entertaining, 12 April 2011
This review is from: Siren [DVD] (DVD)
I ended up watching this film with a couple friends one night. Though not the scariest film I've ever seen, it was unbelievably hilarious! This is up there with the Evil Dead's and Army of Darkness. Fast camera moves, naked women on a beach and an evil Siren that makes people bleed from their ears with her song....what more could you ask for on a Friday night? Pass the popcorn.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A very deadly ditty, 18 Aug 2011
By 
Mr. Jonathon T. Beckett "vampire lover" (Dracula's Crypt) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Siren [DVD] (DVD)
Siren is a very glossy affair, very professionaly made, with good performances and an interesting attempt to bring Greek Mythology into the contemporary horror film.
This British horror is in many ways a very retro horror film, relying on good old suspense and atmosphere to drive the plot forward. However, the plot also happens to be wafer thin, and eventually, despite its best intentions, Siren becomes very pedestrian.
It has a relatively short running time and never outstays its welcome, but some much needed plot twists or revalations never materialise and the film ends up as a rather predictable affair.
A pain free experience but not one I will be repeating in the near future. 3 out of 5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good balance of scary and funny, 12 April 2011
This review is from: Siren [DVD] (DVD)
For me, this film is up there with Dead Alive and Bad Taste. Though not nearly as gruesome, it still attempts to have some scary moments. It tells the story of 3 friends who go on vacation together and end up trapped on an island with some woman. Initially appearing harmless, she begins entrancing them with her siren's song and killing them off one by one. There are definitely some bad moments, but they are so hilariously bad, there good!!! If you in the mood for something not too heavy, but very entertaining, then I would definitely recommend this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars anna skellern is amazing, 8 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Siren [DVD] (DVD)
this film was not to bad a bit confussing at times ,the reason I really wanted to see it was I am a massive anna skellern and she was amazing in it .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not the best but not the worst either., 28 Sep 2013
This review is from: Siren [DVD] (DVD)
I liked this film. But sadly it came over very cheaply made. A shame really as I think if they had a bit more money to spend on it,it could have been so much better. The cast are however, great, as is the story. But it is let down by a clear lack of funds. Certain scenes could have had much more impact if fleshed out a bit more, like when one of the guys finds a hidden burial pit hidden, we are just told "bodies,lots of dead bodies", this sort of film we should at least be able to see them,a handy yardstick for us to know just how long this islands lethal lure has been going on. As for the "Siren" maybe when it becomes deadly, maybe a slight transformation would have been quite good, it is supposed to be a supernatural being after all.
I will just finish off by saying also don't judge the film by the cover of the dvd, it is misleading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars A failure on every level, 26 Feb 2013
This review is from: Siren [DVD] (DVD)
It's hard to believe that any film can get so much so wrong all at once.

Siren has no major stars in it and is a self-confessed horror film. Therefore, the best the film-makers were probably hoping for was that it attained a cult following on DVD. I doubt it will.

For a start the cover is misleading. It shows three bikini-clad women's bodies on the front. There are only two women in the whole movie (and only one ever wears a bikini slightly near the end of the film). Secondly, the tagline describes the film as `The best supernatural thriller since Dead Calm.' First of all Dead Calm was released over twenty years ago and it wasn't supernatural. The only similarity is that both films have boats in them.

Then we have the film itself: three of the most unlikeable people in the world take a boat trip and end up getting stuck on an island with - you guessed it - a siren. Despite not heeding the obligatory warning from the clichéd old geezer at the boating station about sailing too close to the rock and getting caught by supernatural beings, they do it anyway. Do we care? Probably not by now as we're so sick of watching these people.

Anyone hoping for vague titillation will be disappointed. You see two women naked from the back and they kiss a couple of times. No nudity. Not even lots of bikini-clad women.

The horror. There isn't much. There's hardly any in the film at all. When it tries to be scary about three quarters of the way through, it just feels confusing.

It's one plus point - it was short. However, the 1 hr 16 minutes felt a lot longer than it actually way!

Just don't bother with this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Mismarketed, 9 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Siren [DVD] (DVD)
A group of three travellers take a boat trip off the coast of Greece where they respond to a signal for help from an isolated island.

They encounter a mysterious, almost silent and apparently traumatised girl alone on the island who they attempt to befriend and rescue, only to discover there's a problem with the boat that requires fixing and so decide to spend the night on the island.

After the girl sings to them round the campfire however, things start to change; the travellers have terrible surreal nightmares, all four characters perpetually get lost on the island and have strange visions and encounters before finding each other again. Tensions between the two male characters regarding competing affections for the girl rise, and as suspicion falls on the hypnotic powers of the mysterious girl, things turn bloodier.

I liked "Siren", despite the fact that it's a twist-free linear and predictable story, it's nice to see an old Greek myth resurrected and reimagined. The acting was pretty good from all the cast who held together a fairly basic plot-line.

I liked the flickering contrast between the Siren's bloody, real-time attacks and how they appeared dreamily to those hypnotised, and the insanity-inducing song and ear-bleedng results were a nice touch.

Terribly marketed with a bikini clad woman's body on the front of the DVD ("seduction is murder") and some comment from lads' mag Zoo about how mind-bendingly sexy the film is, the overly laddish looking for some softcore will be disappointed, and the film fan looking for a decent horror might overlook it for the same reasons.

The ending was disappointing - lazy would be a better word I think - but despite this, for me it sits somewhere between 3.5 and 4 stars as I found it an enjoyable short(ish) film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Slow burn and fizzle out, 7 Aug 2011
By 
PJ Rankine (Wallington, Surrey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Siren [DVD] (DVD)
This movie has a lot to recommend it, two beautiful women, a couple of hunky blokes and scenery to die for. The cast give a good account of themselves and the production values are good. There are no special effects to speak of because the story doesn't call for them and there is the weakness I'm afraid, the story. You spend eighty odd minutes of slow burning build up and suspense for it all to fizzle out in the end. I wasn't expecting a bloodbath but it was a bit tame. And as for not getting rescued, we saw the flare gun on the yacht and I counted at least two merchant ships sailing serenely across the horizon. None of them had died when I saw the first one, an error perhaps? Anyway its eighty six minutes of your life you won't get back so if you must see it rent it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars many alternatives to do with money instead of buying this, 8 Sep 2011
This review is from: Siren [DVD] (DVD)
i have seen a lot of really bad movies, certainly b-movies and i do have some suggestions as to how to spend you time and money instead of buying this dvd, because this film is so bad, its simply unaccounted for. i am stunned by the fact someon has put money into the distribution of this masterpiece of pure c@& !!!!
i must admit, that this must have been the worst movie that i have watched in my life. here are some suggestions to what to do in 76 minutes that the film takes off your life...
1. sleep ( either alone or with someone, both makes more sense)
2. if you have bought it already, i strongly advise to just watch the title screen for 76 minutes, its probably best on the dvd.
3. cook something for your partner, friend or family, if you are not a chef, dont worry , the outcome cant be worse than the film
4. watch last weeks lotto draw for 76 minutes, its more entertaining
5. watch the grass in your rear garden grow, its more exciting than this "film"
6. chew a chewing gum and enjoy it for 76 minutes, there will be more taste involved.
7. whatever else you do... JUST SAVE YOUR MONEY !

and: yes i am serious about this !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb77ba54c)

This product

Siren [DVD]
Siren [DVD] by Andrew Hull (DVD - 2011)
7.56
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews