Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply the best.
A beautiful, tragic, hilarious, moving, creepy and almost magical piece of work. Absolutely stunning. I doubt we'll ever see a series like it again; incredibly unique and creative, beautifully written, acted, directed and scored. I don't think I could find a single fault.
Wasn't sure this could top series 1, but it has. It is far more tense and sinister than the...
Published on 7 Jun 2011 by Amy

versus
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Warning: DVD contains cut version of the Halloween Special
I love Psychoville, and feel that with the second series Reece and Steve have outdone themselves and really achieved the impossible - namely improving upon the already fantastic first season.

The series gets better and better - it's deliciously dark too, and brings in a few new characters, my favourite being the hilariously scary - and surreal - Silent Singer...
Published on 29 Jun 2011 by J. MAY


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply the best., 7 Jun 2011
This review is from: Psychoville - Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
A beautiful, tragic, hilarious, moving, creepy and almost magical piece of work. Absolutely stunning. I doubt we'll ever see a series like it again; incredibly unique and creative, beautifully written, acted, directed and scored. I don't think I could find a single fault.
Wasn't sure this could top series 1, but it has. It is far more tense and sinister than the first outing, and it's grown tremendously since the first series. A wonderful set of new character's alongside the older ones keeps it fresh, and the story telling and plot development are superb. A real inspirational piece of work.

I am holding out hope that the Beeb realise what an absolute gem they've got with this show and give the go ahead for a third.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Under-rated genius, 16 Jun 2011
By 
This review is from: Psychoville - Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
I don't think 5 stars quite cover the genius that is Psychoville. In fact the BBC really should be ashamed of themselves as this show deserves far more credit and coverage than it's had. Psychoville is one of those brilliant shows that it doesn't matter how often you watch it, you'll notice something different each time. Even now, after watching series 1 again last night, I noticed little clues early on that I hadn't noticed before. Also with respect to Reece Shearsmith and Steve Pemberton's writing, watch out for the brilliantly subtle homages to films that they take their inspiration from.

Joining the cast for Series 2 is Imelda Staunton who, despite my initial reservations (I'd only seen her as the straight-laced Prof Umbridge in Harry Potter), has been a fantastic casting. She has authority, she has her minions to do her bidding (Kelvin and Finney) and she has her technology. Some of my favourite scenes/lines have come from her character Grace Andrews in this series. Grace wants to be all Minority Report with her technology, but in her words her technology is more akin to that of "a village post office". Grace's attempts to make the most of her expensive technology is one of my favourite long running jokes in this series.

I feel a special mention should also be said for Vilma Holingberry/Mrs Wren/Mrs Ladybird Face. Vilma completely steals the show as Mr Jelly's adopted assistant in this series. Her lines are fantastic (credit again to Mr Shearsmith and Mr Pemberton), but the comic timing of Vilma Holingberry is sheer brilliance. The interactions between Shearsmith's Mr Jelly and Mrs Ladybird Face is absolutely one of my favourite double acts on TV at the moment. They seem to have a fantastic charisma and bounce off each other in every scene they appear in. It's also quite heart warming that Mr Jelly's just taken this old woman under his wing after the first series!

The plot isn't quite the same structure as the first series and a few episodes in I started to wonder how they were going to build a story out of what they had created (trying desperately not to give any spoilers away...!) but as expected the lads come up trumps and provide us with an absolutely stunning final episode which ranks up there with one of the funniest, most grotesque and totally odd things I think I've ever seen on TV. It's tied up in such a way that the show can end there, or there are paths open for the story to continue.

All in all, Psychoville is one of the best things to come out of the BBC for a while and perhaps the Beeb should take note. I'm disappointed at the lack of coverage this show has received and if viewing figures are poor, it's absolutely not a reflection on the quality of the show. This DVD contains everything from laughs, murder, genuinely heart warming/wrenching scenes, completely odd scenarios and more. 5 stars isn't enough to review this show and my only bright spot on TV has gone out....until the BBC give the green light to series 3....and they'd be fools not to. IN WITH THE PLUMS!!!!

Oh, and a quick edit to say those who have watched Series 1, but not 2, get this DVD anyway as it containes the Hallowe'en special that links the two series together. The special seems to be an edited version though, I seem to recall the one shown on TV as being a bit longer. The commentary is also fantastic with some interesting insights on where the Silent Singer comes from...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Disturbingly fantastic!!, 13 Jun 2011
This review is from: Psychoville - Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
What can I say that hasn't already been said in the previous reviews on here?! Pyschoville 2 is by far much more superior to the first series, although I still love the first series and was slightly disturbed, but higly amused by it when it was on the TV. Series 2 is cleverer, funnier and darker, with one or two of the original characters getting much more well deserved screen time, and some new characters appearing in the mix to either liven up the storyline (Hattie and Sharouz) or to add to the existing plot (Jeremey the obsessive librarian and his 'Silent Singer' hallucinations!).

I totally loved The League of Gentlemen, and was worried that the first series of Psychoville would just be a parade of characters that may not have made the cut for LoG, but how wrong I was! Both Psychoville series 1&2 have shown that, although the humour/genre is in the same vein as LoG, Reece Shearsmith and Steve Pemberton have unbelievable talent and great writing skills that have continued to evolve into far funnier, more complex heights and they can hopefully be guaranteed another series with the BBC.

And I challenge you not to love Mrs. Ladybirdface!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars But she doesn't like tuna..., 8 Jun 2011
This review is from: Psychoville - Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Last series of Psychoville left us asking a lot of questions. However, the answers are finally here, as we discover the importance of Nurse Kenchington's Locket, exactly why Oscar Lomax hates Tony Hancock, who died in the explosion, and what the surviving characters are now doing. However, the plot becomes even more intriguing this series, as we see just how much more complicated events surrounding Ravenhill Hospital are, and a host of new characters appear. For example, the mysterious woman Grace Andrews, who appeared at the end of the Halloween special, who is closely monintoring the lives of the Ravenhill patients. The sinister Detective Finney, who is searching for the locket-and employs some rather unorthodox methods of doing so. Peter Bishop, the owner of Hoyti Toyti's, a shop specialising in more than just toys. We also meet Hattie, a marriage-obsessed woman, who relishes the chance to achieve her dreams of matrimony, and Jeremy Goode, a meticulous Librarian, who never lets a book go unaccounted for, and is haunted by visions of the eerie "Silent Singer".
Returning to the fold are Oscar Lomax and Tealeaf, who must deal with the repercussions of Lomax's turbulent past life. Mr. Jelly is working alongside old Mrs. Wren, when he becomes entangled involved in the late Mr. Jolly's secret "sideline". Joy finally has someone to look after-although that someone is very different to Freddy Fruitcake. David's life is thrown into disarray with some distressing news about Maureen-but he also faces problems of his own. Robert is still stuck with Kerry and her Grandma, but can he escape?
With the danger mounting, can Kenchington's locket be retrieved? Who will survive? Who will perish? There is only one way to find out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tomorrow belongs to Psychoville!, 7 Jun 2011
By 
pete "big blue pete" (edinburgh scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Psychoville - Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Perhaps too clever and too unique the BBC found itself with a dark curiosity that they were reluctant to support. Putting the programme on in early summer was never going to gain Psychoville popular recognition- surely the dark nights following Halloween would have been better. Then rescheduling the final episode to a Monday night to make way for a formulaic crowd pleasing hit. When you consider the pedigree of the writing and the cast, what were the BBC thinking?
But I complain too much. This series has been a Joy (Aston)from beginning to end. Characters like the Silent Singer (not a reference to a broken sewing machine) were an unsettling counterpoint to the greusome range of extremes that Psychoville presented us with in season 1. Panto dwarfs, serial killers, Natzi toy shop owners and crooked policemen are all brilliantly written and acted. Tea Leaf and Oscar Lomax especially were a pairing that should have had their own detective series. The plot of Psychoville 2 continues the hunt for Ketchington's locket; the secret of which is reveiled in the final episode. A classic to make you die laughing!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Warning: DVD contains cut version of the Halloween Special, 29 Jun 2011
By 
J. MAY "Music Addict" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Psychoville - Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
I love Psychoville, and feel that with the second series Reece and Steve have outdone themselves and really achieved the impossible - namely improving upon the already fantastic first season.

The series gets better and better - it's deliciously dark too, and brings in a few new characters, my favourite being the hilariously scary - and surreal - Silent Singer. Some lovely plot twists, great atmosphere and film references galore all add up to another winning series that rewards with repeated viewings.

Unfortunately I've had to knock off a couple of stars from this review as someone at the BBC has made a mistake putting together this DVD set. They've included the shorter, US cut of the Psychoville Halloween special on this DVD instead of the full version transmitted by the BBC last year. This cut unfortunately omits the Mr Lomax portion of the story. In my humble opinion I think the BBC should man up to this mistake, and offer a disc replacement trade in, instead of fans having to shell out for it again at some point when it is re-released.

This shouldn't detract from an otherwise superbly put together series - and nice a nice/informative set of DVD extras - but it is disappointing and an error I feel should be addressed & corrected ASAP by the BBC.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FANTASTIC CHILLING AND JUST AMAZING!!!, 26 May 2011
This review is from: Psychoville - Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
This series is brilliant and better than the first series which means ALOT as that was incredible too.Although it is not finished it is so good you know the finale will be immense. And this DVD also contains the very scary Halloween special and with the great quality of episodes and good amount of extras this DVD is a must buy!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dark, gripping, funny, amazing, 8 Jun 2011
By 
P. Albone "Noxy" (Bedfordshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Psychoville - Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Having now watched the whole of the series I can safetly say that it is one of the best sitcoms I have ever watched, if not the best. It's so good that it's better than the original series which takes some beating.

If you haven't seen the first series then I strongly recommend that you watch that first as this series follows directly on and probably won't make much sense unless you have. If you have seen the first series then you'll know what to expect. The series follows the fates of a complex and diverse cast of charcters ranging from a librarian with mental illness, a clown with no hand, a mother/son serial killer combination, a toy store owner who doubles up as a Nazi memorabilia collector etc etc. The plot has more twists and turns than a series of Lost and will keep you guessing to the end.

The comedy is very dark in places and is similar to but probably darker than the League of Gentlemen. The parts are all played so well, to the point where you are left feeling empathy for a mother and son who must be the most grotesque double act since Barry and Paul Chuckle.

If 2 pints of lager and a packet of crisps is your kind of thing then this may well not be, if you like things like Monkey Dust, Jam, The League of Gentlemen or Brasseye then this should be your cup of tea!

My only gripe with the series is that I wish I had thought of it first and written it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars PSYCOVILLE,WHAT A JELLY GOOD SHOW!!!!, 7 Jun 2011
By 
N. D. TIDIMAN "scott parker" (london uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Psychoville - Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Just seen the last episode of Psycoville 2,and what a fantastic series its been.Not sure if it was quite as good as series 1,but still leagues ahead of much of what is out there.For those of you out there who didnt catch the first series,DO IT NOW!!! Most of the cast and characters return in series 2,although not all make it to the end,whether or not there can be a 3rd series remains to be seen,but lets just enjoy what we have for now,and celebrate a darkly comic classic.-By the way,you also get the surperb,and even darker Halloween special on the extras,worth 5 stars of its own!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bring in the Clowns!, 30 May 2011
This review is from: Psychoville - Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
I'll keep my comments short. Absolutely amazing! I'm captured with every episode, drawn into it's darkly, funny, psycho twists and turns. The writers and their team deserve every accolade on offer. They should wipe the board at the next BAFTAs in this genre! I'm hoping there will be a 3rd series or should they leave on a high? LOVE IT and thank you BBC for airing this. Alone, it's worth the licence fee...[I was a big Tony Hancock fan too}!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Psychoville - Series 2 [Blu-ray] [Region Free]
Psychoville - Series 2 [Blu-ray] [Region Free] by Matt Lipsey (Blu-ray - 2011)
£7.10
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews