Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lace, 7 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lace: The Complete Mini-Series (1984) (Region 2) (Import) (DVD)
We saw this when it first came on TV in the 80s and thoroughly enjoyed it. Forgot all about it until quite recently, then saw that a DVD was now available. Although of course we remembered the gist of the story, neither my wife nor I could remember which one of the three was the mother. That meant it was almost like watching it for the first time and we enjoyed the build up of suspense until the revelation right at the end. A really good story. If you've never thought about watching this, if you liked 'Kane and Abel' (another 80s story), you'll like this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 22 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lace: The Complete Mini-Series (1984) (Region 2) (Import) (DVD)
I loved this mini series the first time around, I had it on video , and am now ecstatic to have it on DVD , the DVD quality is good .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nostalgia, 20 Jan 2013
By 
Uenna (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Lace: The Complete Mini-Series (1984) (Region 2) (Import) (DVD)
This is part one of the miniseries where Lily goes in search of her mother. Through flash backs we see the lives of the four friends, who 'through thick and thin' developed a bond of friendship while in a boarding school, until one particular event sowed a discord amongst them. One of them is Lily's mother but all four claim to be the mother such was their friendship and bond- 'through thick and thin'.
A great series with so many fine actors. The DVD is a region 2 import with a running time of 240 minutes.
This is a very poignant movie on communication,friendship and making choices. We reap what we sow, so inevitably we are confronted by our choices and secrets and have to take responsibility for them. Thanks to the advent of DVD we can experience this drama again, one of the best miniseries of the eighties.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Take a punt folks, you won't be disappointed..., 11 Mar 2011
By 
R. L. Judd (Oxford, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lace: The Complete Mini-Series (1984) (Region 2) (Import) (DVD)
Surely one of the best - if not THE best - miniseries of the 1980's, when book-turned-miniseries were all the rage!

Based loosely on the Shirley Conran bestseller of the same name, the story is that of `Lili' a world famous porn-cum-film star who, after a miserably life at the end of WW2, seeks revenge on the mother, whom she feels abandoned her as a child to foster parents in the wilds of Switzerland. Unfortunately, she doesn't actually know who her mother is but narrows it down to three women who all attended the same select Swish boarding school. So, with this knowledge in hand, she heads off to find and cause havoc on each, before gathering them all together one evening to declare - `which one of you bitches it my mother?'. Great stuff. Honestly!!

An amazing cast, including Angela Lansbury (in a `guest star' capacity, who scene steals at every opportunity) plus some terrific cinematography at the end as, after the confrontation, a pair of black-heeled pumps are tracked up the stairs and landing back to Lili's penthouse suite... a shadow opens the door and as Lili looks mournfully from the balcony, her mother finally emerges! There are clues to who she is, but you're never quite sure, until she is revealed at the end.

Seriously, this is a great and now classic miniseries and I cannot recommend more highly. To complete the saga you can also get (the less engaging) Lace 2, where Lili searches for her father.

Take a punt folks, you won't be disappointed...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Brilliant Series, 5 April 2013
By 
A. Dale-barton "Groovy Grannie" (Bradford, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lace: The Complete Mini-Series (1984) (Region 2) (Import) (DVD)
I bought Lace 2 at the same time & as I said this is a great series, a blast from the past, well done to the foreign imports otherwise we may never have seen it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars love it, 21 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lace: The Complete Mini-Series (1984) (Region 2) (Import) (DVD)
lace is highly recommended,read the book and thought the tv series couldnt be as good but really enjoyed that too,was great to see the characters you had read about come to life so to speak and pheobe cates is so good at the part of lilli,you would think having been first televised in the late 80s-it would be quite dated now but not the case,i watch it over and over and although i obviously know who the mother is,it doesnt ruin it for me,you will have to follow it up with lace 2,lilli's father this time-not quite as good as the original but still very entertaining and again,keeps you guessing to the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just as fabulous as i remember it to be!, 4 Sep 2012
By 
Mr. N. R. Partridge "Neil" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lace: The Complete Mini-Series (1984) (Region 2) (Import) (DVD)
I remember these series form the 80's. I loved the majority of them, but this was the first one i decided to buy.

It brought back many memories. It was as enthralling as i remember it to be. Though i did not remember June Brown (Dot Cotton) being in it. I won't give the plot away, but unfortunately, half way through;, i remembered the ending. This did not spoil it for me completely. It's a top notch drama in my view. Very gripping!!

Next for me will be Lace II, then maybe Woman Of Substance!!

Enjoy!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lace!!!, 7 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lace: The Complete Mini-Series (1984) (Region 2) (Import) (DVD)
Amazing, have not seen this since I was a teenager and it was on telly! A real blast from the past... still love it today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best mini-series ever!, 4 Sep 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lace: The Complete Mini-Series (1984) (Region 2) (Import) (DVD)
I was thrilled to find Lace on DVD, although it's a shame no UK retail company has ever released it. In my personal opinion it's the best mini-series ever made. Based on Shirley Conran's novel, it tells the story of three friends who meet at a school in Switzerland - Pagan, Maxine and Judy. One of them gets pregnant and has a child - Lilli. It's kept a secret and the child is sent to a foster family. The friends make a pact: the first one of them to become established will send for Lilli. Only as they venture off into lives as independant women, the moment of sending for Lilli keeps being put off because the time is never quite right - until tragedy strikes and destroys their once solid friendship. Meanwhile, a chain of events is set off in the child's life which forces her down a more seedy road as a young women. Lilli (brilliantly played by Phoebe Cates) becomes successful and is determined to one day track down the mother who never came for her ....

Lace is powerful and timeless, and follows the lives and loves of Pagan, Maxine, Judy and Lilli. It is often told in flashback (but in a way which makes complete sense) until Lilli has the opportunity at last to bring together the friends and find out the identity of her mother. The viewer is kept guessing until the very end in this gripping drama about the identity of the mother. Yes, the fashions are a bit dated now, but putting that aside this is a cracking story.

If you've never seen Lace, I highly recommend giving it a try. Lace was one of the original mini-series of the 80s - and definitely the best!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lace DVD, 27 Oct 2011
By 
This review is from: Lace: The Complete Mini-Series (1984) (Region 2) (Import) (DVD)
I haven't seen this yet, but my brother has and he tells me it's great, it plays in English but is a Scandanavian import so it has Swedish and Danish subtitles only. this version runs at 4 hours on 2 discs, when it was 1st released on video in the 80's it was cut down to 3 hours so it would fit on the tape. Excellent picture and sound.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lace: The Complete Mini-Series (1984) (Region 2) (Import)
16.75
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews