Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a great read
I have just finished reading this story which i purchase for free via my kindle. It is an easy read but delightful, drawing you in from the first few pages, it highlights the problems facing of bi-polar sufferers and single parents. I could only say in that the ending came to soon and abruptly, but the art of a good story leaves you wanting to know more. I hope the...
Published on 22 Mar 2012 by buckleyj

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars good storyline
The storyline of this book was really gripping and I read this book quite quickly as a result. However, the way that the characters were presented wasn't very lifelike, especially Sam. Nevertheless, still a good book.
Published 2 months ago by Julia


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars good storyline, 13 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sunflowers (Kindle Edition)
The storyline of this book was really gripping and I read this book quite quickly as a result. However, the way that the characters were presented wasn't very lifelike, especially Sam. Nevertheless, still a good book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hreat read, 10 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sunflowers (Kindle Edition)
I picked this book up when free but would have paid for it. Really enjoyed it and would definitely recommend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a great read, 22 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sunflowers (Kindle Edition)
I have just finished reading this story which i purchase for free via my kindle. It is an easy read but delightful, drawing you in from the first few pages, it highlights the problems facing of bi-polar sufferers and single parents. I could only say in that the ending came to soon and abruptly, but the art of a good story leaves you wanting to know more. I hope the author will allow us to revisit 'Gus and Sam'. many thanks melodie starkey for an enjoyable read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Instant Dad, 8 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sunflowers (Kindle Edition)
I gave the tale four stars for the writing quality but I think the story itself was nearer three. It flowed along nicely enough but for me the male pov didn't quite ring true. The whole thing was just a shade too sugary and I thought what little drama there was should have been pointed up to balance out the gentle father/young son home life. The quick transition from slob to caring father lacked believability - a gradual understanding that his life must change in all aspects would have fitted the bill better.
All in all though, it was an easy stroll through suburbia and the quality of the writing made up for the potholes in the story along the way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sunflowers...simple but sweet, 22 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sunflowers (Kindle Edition)
Can't call it a GREAT book but enjoyed it as a holiday read. Would definitely read more by this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok....ish!, 28 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sunflowers (Kindle Edition)
Sunflowers - Melodie Starkey

Gus Moore is woken up at 3am by his very ex-girlfriend holding a bundle which she dumps on his couch and says that it's now his problem and disappears.

Five years later, Sam (the bundle unceremoniously dumped) is almost six and having been given photos by Gus, recognises his mother Maureen in a shopping Mall. So begins the slow rebuilding of a relationship between Maureen, Gus and Sam.

I'm not quite sure what made me think I'd enjoy this book (It has lots of 5 stars!). I found myself skipping and scan reading a lot of the time. However, my main reason for completing the book was to see how the Maureen scenario would pan out.

I think that my main problem with the book is that the characters are just too good to be true. Gus is almost a "saint" father. Sam having had a traumatic few months at the beginning of his life, shows no signs of trauma and Maureen - well maybe she is the only character who one feels could be real.

So - I'm sorry, I'm going to have to spoil the perfect 5 scores given to this book and say "Not in a million years could there be such perfection"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sunflowers
Sunflowers by Melodie Starkey
2.44
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews