Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Madness on Mars
Arnie Kott (the head of the plumbing union), Jack Bohlen (the schizoid repairman), Manfred (the autistic child), Norbert Steiner (the black market goodies man), and Doreen (Arnie's mistress) are just some of the people who inhabit PKD's dystopian vision of Mars, where economic stagnation is complemented by the spiritual stagnation of the residents, who shun and...
Published on 2 April 2002 by joerydell@hotmail.com

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not one of Dick's best
I have read Dick's 5 volume series of short stories at least twice through and some of them more often. I love his short stories as these seem better able to cope with one idea at a time.
I have read a few of his novels but found this the most disappointing, especially as it forms part of a series of sci-fi "masterworks". Perhaps the subject matter was too...
Published on 14 Jan 2001 by G P Wright


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Madness on Mars, 2 April 2002
Arnie Kott (the head of the plumbing union), Jack Bohlen (the schizoid repairman), Manfred (the autistic child), Norbert Steiner (the black market goodies man), and Doreen (Arnie's mistress) are just some of the people who inhabit PKD's dystopian vision of Mars, where economic stagnation is complemented by the spiritual stagnation of the residents, who shun and marginalize the native population - the Bleekmen.
Martian time - slip is relatively slow moving compared to 'Ubik' for example, but there is perhaps more rich symbolism here as PKD explores the issue of the fallen state of schizophrenia in his own inimitable fashion. Overall the tone of the novel is one of reflection and comprehension, even sadness at times.
I particularly enjoyed Jacks encounter with the malfunctioning teaching machines (Kindly Dad is especially humorous). This moment is full of humour and fear and is typical PKD. The 'Jack' character is complicated and full of pathos having more in common with the autistic Manfred (gubble, gubble) at times as he attempts to contain the madness inside himself.
On the downside is that PKD employs some dubious 'Sci-fi' ideas, including the canal-network (in which futuristic Mars is criss-crossed with a network of water-bearing canals), and the slow motion chamber (which is supposed to help the autistic Manfred, who 'only' suffers from an accelerated sense of time). The existence of highly evolved life on Mars could also be criticised, but one should not let these minor points stop you enjoying one of PKD's best works.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quiet and compelling work, 21 April 2001
By 
S. Mahoney (London U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Those who prefer the pulpier, pacier Dick novels, and I am one of those, might find Martian Time Slip slow and unexciting on a first read. Infact first time through it made no impression at all. I returned to it later though, on the back of having read most of PKD's output, and found a compelling novel hidden beneath the slightly bland veneer. The main fascination of the book is that it deals with at novel length, a theme that would consistently recur throughout Dick's later fiction - that of the 'tomb world' - a fallen state, entered into through depression, illness (autism in this novel) or some form of mental shock, in which human contact and empathy is no longer possible. In later works, including the exceptional Three Stigmata of Palmer Eldtritch and Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep, the tomb world recurs as just one theme or plot strand amongst many. Here it expands to fill the whole.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Far Reaching Mind Of Manfred Steiner, A Must Buy!, 5 Sep 2005
By 
J. Maddison "Bunchuk" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The book offers a more placid side to Dick's writing, it is no where near as dark as some of his some of his more famous novels such as A Scanner Darkly (a must read). and more accessible than than his later novels (Valis). Some may find this book slow of the mark but if you stick with it, the novel becomes gripping and the reader is soon lost into the throws of ever distorted time sense in the mind of Jack Bohlen. Unusual for Dick, mind bending drugs have no feature in this novel. Instead Dick uses the Schizophrenic boy Manfred Steiner, whose distorted time sense means he can see far and wide into the future as his medium for the chaos that erupts around the life of the key characters. Jack Bohlen was just an ordinary repairman on Mars until a unpleasant encounter with the head of the plumbers union Arnie Kott leads them both down a dark road of despair and desperation. Arnie wants to exploit the child Manfred possible time seeing ability, but to do this jack has to build a machine to communicate with the child. Jack now has a very high paying job but will the close proximity with this withdrawn kid spark off a second Schizophrenic episode.
A amazing novel one of dicks best, easy to read and yet will have the readers mind doing loops as they try to untangle the martian time slip. A must have in any Phillip K Dick Collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One of PKD's finest novels, 9 Feb 2009
By 
M. Evans - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Martian Time Slip is a very downbeat story, albeit with touches of typically quirky PKD humour, and has his usual themes of isolation, drug-use, and mental ailments. It also concentrates, like a lot of his stories, on distorted perceptions of realities, corrupt corporations, conspiracies and time travel. It's a real slow-burner of a tale, the story unfolds very gradually but it draws the reader into it's world and the plights of the various characters, Dick paints a fantastic vision of mars, in fact I'd go so far as to say this is the best novel written about Mars with the exception of Ray Bradbury's Martian Chronicles. The book is certainly the most haunting and atmospheric of the PKD's novels I've read, and has a troubling, dreamlike feel to it. Dick's examinations of autism and schizophrenia relating to it's effects on time is a fascinating concept, and the various characters are all well realised and believable. Overall, I found this to be a very satisfying and stimulating read, one of the finest sci-fi novels I've read and a real highpoint in Philip K Dick's output. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Looking forward to a second reading, 10 Jun 2001
By A Customer
I am surprised to see such an indifferent rating for this book. I hadn't read much science fiction since a teenager 20 years ago but this year have come back to the fold. Have been reading a variety of authors - Delaney, le Guin, Blish - but find Dick the most vivid and arresting literature. With "Ubik", "Martian Time-Slip" is the one that remains most in my mind. I found it frightening - the accounts of Jack Bohleen's vists to Arnie Kott as Jack's psychosis grips him; the loss of Manfred at the school and Jack's interactions with the facsimile teaching machines; the final appearance of Manfred with the Bleekmen. And compassionate - Doreen's acceptance and support of Jack; the Bleekmen's acceptance of Manfred; Kott's death and even the descriptions of him. Dick seems to have had difficulty in rejecting his characters and their shortcomings. I feel this to be an extraordinary book, as vivid and substantial as any that I've read. Second reading may yet undermine my rating but I look forward to the opportunity for disappointment - if that's what's coming.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not one of Dick's best, 14 Jan 2001
By 
G P Wright (Solihull, West Midlands United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
I have read Dick's 5 volume series of short stories at least twice through and some of them more often. I love his short stories as these seem better able to cope with one idea at a time.
I have read a few of his novels but found this the most disappointing, especially as it forms part of a series of sci-fi "masterworks". Perhaps the subject matter was too repellant and depressing (where was the black humour?); perhaps I couldn't absorb the themes all struggling for prominence. The ending was particularly unsatisfactory and messy in my view.
If you want a Dick book which both covers his ideas AND is a good read, I'd start elsewhere eg the Man in the High Castle or even the much derided Game Players of Titan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyed this., 27 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Martian Time-Slip (GOLLANCZ S.F.) (Kindle Edition)
Reminded me of the film total recall and red faction. Liked the character and the concept of living on mars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One a strange frontier tale on the red planet, 24 Aug 2011
By 
J. W. Burton (London, England, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This book is one of the highlights of the rich selection of books that Philip K Dick wrote. Where his insecurities about technology merging seamlessly into the human experience had built up this came through in his writings, and this book includes this common theme in the robotic school and the isolation of the people around whom the book revolves. As usual the characters are clear, distinct and engender differing emotional reactions from the reader.

The tale covers the frontier spirit of Mars as new world being captured for humanity, and targets greedy capitalism as a destructive influence. Strange elements revolving around Mars or the nature of more distorted people's minds bring a more unusual twist to the tale, which builds slowly as the book progresses, until by the end the whole tale is distorted by this influence leaving the reader a little unclear about what is perception affecting the real world, and what is merely a different viewpoint for recounting the tale.

A very enjoyable read for all classic Sci-Fi buffs, and one of my favorite books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Fine PKD Novel, 12 Mar 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
"Mars. A desolate place, forgotten by Earth Isolated homesteaders huddle along the lines of the great canals, in thrall to Arnie Kott and his plumbing Union which controls the vital water supply. Kott's manipulations poison the lives of those he draws to him: his mistress Doreen; Jack Bohlen, the schizoid repairman she comes to love; Manfred, an autistic child plagued by memories of a terrifying future; even the poor native Bleekmen of Mars"
-- from back cover

Philip K Dick's eleventh published novel, written in 1962 and published in 1964. The novel explores a number of themes such as time travel, mental illness, and the dangers of centralized authority, that Dick explored many times. As with all PKD's works this novel makes you marvel at his imagination but also (if you are of a philosophical turn of mind) brings you to question and consider the themes he raises for yourself.

"The finest American novelist of our time."
--Hartford Advocate

"Dick was...one of the genuine visionaries that North American fiction has produced in this century."
--Steve Erickson, L.A. Weekly

If you are new to Philip K Dick's work I would also recommend the following novels (which generally seem to be regarded as among his best):

Do Androids Dream Of Electric Sheep?
Ubik (S.F. Masterworks)
A Scanner Darkly (S.F. Masterworks)
The Three Stigmata of Palmer Eldritch (S.F. Masterworks)
Flow My Tears, The Policeman Said (S.F. Masterworks)

That said, though some of PKD's works are better than others, to my mind they are all well worth reading. I would also recommend his short story collections:

Beyond Lies The Wub: Volume One Of The Collected Short Stories
Second Variety: Volume Two Of The Collected Short Stories
The Father-Thing: Volume Three Of The Collected Short Stories
Minority Report: Volume Four Of The Collected Short Stories
We Can Remember It For You Wholesale: Volume Five of The Collected Short Stories
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars One of Dick's better books, 5 Nov 2007
By 
plot hound (Dublin, Ireland) - See all my reviews
It is a strange exploration of a bizare explanation for what autism could be and how it could be helped.
The main character is interesting and likeable, so are most of the others and the are dealt with in a humane way even when bad thins happen to them.

The ending is interesting taking a different view of seeing the future.
A good, if slightly depressing, book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Martian Time-Slip (GOLLANCZ S.F.)
3.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews