Customer Reviews


128 Reviews
5 star:
 (72)
4 star:
 (29)
3 star:
 (17)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


54 of 56 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An Excellent Indie Rock Album
For the past 5 or 6 years, perhaps longer, I've really struggled to get excited about any British guitar bands. America, Canada and Scandinavia have been churning out really inspired music, whilst the UK scene has produced bands that either seem to be either stuck in 2001, or intent on trying to break the mould without any real idea how, just so long as they get famous...
Published on 17 Mar 2011 by WaitingForTheTide

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars mmmmm!
Couldn't make my mind up about these guys but the when I heard some of the new stuff I thought it was worth buying this.
Published 18 months ago by Geoff Allen


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

54 of 56 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An Excellent Indie Rock Album, 17 Mar 2011
By 
For the past 5 or 6 years, perhaps longer, I've really struggled to get excited about any British guitar bands. America, Canada and Scandinavia have been churning out really inspired music, whilst the UK scene has produced bands that either seem to be either stuck in 2001, or intent on trying to break the mould without any real idea how, just so long as they get famous for a bit.

If I'm being honest, The Vaccines are doing nothing new. Their blend of post-punk, garage rock, new wave, noise pop and power pop follows that of countless bands to emerge during the last 10 or so years.

Where they differ however is that they don't try too hard. It's genuine, it's fresh, it's fun, it's not being made by some teenagers trying to be the next Strokes and pretending that they remember the Velvet Underground being together.

Quite simply, the songs are excellent, and they put to shame some of the embarrassingly average wannabees that Britain has produced in recent times.

It's not a 5-star album. That would be over-reacting. Around the middle it sort of tails off a bit, but it recovers well at the end, leaving the listener most satisfied.

If you like guitar-based indie rock, you'll really enjoy this record.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun fun fun, 17 Aug 2011
There are many reasons why one might be unimpressed by this over hyped album. Some of the lyrics are puerile rubbish (Wetsuit is a stunning example of how not to imitate Leonard Cohen.) The music is unoriginal and sounds like a mix of twenty long forgotten brain dead bands. Two of the tracks are ridiculously short (Wrecking Bar ra ra ra is only 1:22). The final track, Family Friend, is rather pointlessly chopped in half with a silence in the middle. All in all, this album is about as sophisticated as a drunken orgy in a brothel. And yet, curiously, it's one of the best things I've heard for a while. I'm not sure why I like it so much. My brain tells me to give it only one star. But that would be to miss the point. Music is fundamentally visceral. This album is full of raw energy and it has an undeniable feel-good factor like the early hits of the Beach Boys. It's also completely unpretentious. I just want to play it over and over again. I can't help singing along to Wetsuit despite the crap lyrics. My advice is to suspend your critical faculties; pretend you're thirteen once again and give it a go. Fun fun fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great expectations met and exceeded, 14 Mar 2011
This review is from: What Did You Expect From The Vaccines? [Explicit] (MP3 Download)
I'm not sure that the journos will get this one. Basically, it's a music fans' album.
It offers some grandiosity but leaves you with an overall feeling that where you have been for the last half hour is "With The Vaccines"(which is, luckily, a title they decided not to go with).
It's the unexpected that is the real pleasure here. We all know Wreckin' Bar(Ra Ra Ra)as a deliciously surfin' fizzes-on-the-tongue single from a band that do not pad-it-out and 'Post break-up sex', 'Blow It Up' and 'If You Wanna' are accomplished, lovingly-executed stories but the Phil Spector-influenced 'Wetsuit' and Beatles Rock n' Roll of 'Norgaad' should bring a smile to the most cynical face.
The surf intro is nicely rounded off at the album climax with 'Family Friend' which leads out on some beautifully VU/Mary chain guitars and drums.
Although I doubt any of them were born when The Stone Roses debut album came out, in common with the Roses, Vaccines bring back(?)/along the sounds we all wanna hear and they do it with pleasure as opposed to posturing.
Expect to hear this album everywhere this Spring/Summer. Enjoy it then and now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars best album of the year, 28 Sep 2011
this album is amazing and i would highly recommend buying it on vinyl, some of the songs sound even more perfect. especially 'somebody else's child'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Drums + The Cribs = This!, 4 April 2011
By 
Mr. Ryan W. Jones (Falkirk, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This album mines the same sort of 80s period that The Drums debut so chirpily ripped off (in a good way of course). Sure it doesn't have the synths and the same slightly OTT production levels but while The Drums debut sounded very, well, American, this sounds very British (as both should be expected to sound).

I really enjoyed this album. Made me think back fondly to the time I came across The Cribs back in the day when they used to be good (first and second albums in other words). The album has a bit of a swagger to it and an almost disinterested/lazy vibe to it at times which I think sounds great.

Stepping up to a bigger stage is something I always thought ruined The Cribs so in a selfish sort of way I hope that this lot stay on the fringes of the main stream radar - I think they'd be all the better for it.

Anyway, well worth checking out. I think you'd be hard pushed not to enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars REALLY IMPRESSED, 5 April 2011
So this isn't the best album ever,so what?. What it promises is over half an hour of great sing along tunes,with a few softer ones,and it delivers. If you like what you've already heard,i don't see why you won't like the album. I have played it loads already and have no desire to stop yet,not in the least bit disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Feel Good Album, 2 April 2011
By 
This is a great album, full of great songs, the one stars just haven't listen or just do not appreciate good music. It's refreshing, yes bits are from other bands but they have some great riff sounds with melody and good song writing. Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Early contender for album of the year ?, 14 Mar 2011
Its only March and maybe too early to be talking of 'Best album of the year' but this would surely be a serious contender for me. For a debut album, The Vaccines sound highly assured and reel off rousing and anthemic tracks with consumate ease... If you like the previous singles 'If You Wanna' and 'Post Break Up Sex' you will love this... Personal favourites include the two singles plus 'A Lack Of Understanding' and 'Blow It Up'. I can see them going down a storm during the summer festivals...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars YouTube can be useful for other things..., 6 Aug 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was watching a music video - can't remember which one - on YouTube and on the side bar was the Vaccines video for Norgaard. I watched it. Then watched it again. And then I bought the album. What a refreshing change from the so-called indie bands that we are regularly served up. It has power, great lyrics and doesnt seem to have the pretentious element that so many 'emerging' bands have recently. I really enjoyed every single track. No weak spots but just good old fashioned guitar music with balls and great vocals. My one small gripe is the extra track tucked away a minute or so after the last listed song. Please don't do that -it's not a surprise anymore, pleasant or otherwise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Such a cool album!, 31 Dec 2012
By 
Mrs. A. E. Noble (Herts) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What Did You Expect From The Vaccines? [Explicit] (MP3 Download)
At least 6 good tracks and i've not listened to the others yet. Perfect for my new sony mp3 player
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews