Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Neverending Story 3
A lot of people really put this movie down, which to be fair it isn't the best 3rd installment for the neverending story trilogy but all the same it is the first of the 3 I watched and for some reason I have a fondness for it. Many Neverending story fans will be disappointed to see that Atreyu does not return and neither do many of the little creatures that made their...
Published on 12 Oct. 2010 by Amy

versus
25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Neverending Story 3 - TERRIBLE!
I've seen the first 2 Neverending Story movies, and I thought the first one was excellent. The second was pretty good (although not as good as the first), then I saw the 3rd movie (on TV) and I couldn't believe what an absolute travesty of a movie this was.
The Neverending Story 3 was just terrible. Whoever scripted and directed this has absolutely no idea on how to...
Published on 1 Nov. 2000 by vhuntermax@yahoo.com


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Neverending Story 3 - TERRIBLE!, 1 Nov. 2000
I've seen the first 2 Neverending Story movies, and I thought the first one was excellent. The second was pretty good (although not as good as the first), then I saw the 3rd movie (on TV) and I couldn't believe what an absolute travesty of a movie this was.
The Neverending Story 3 was just terrible. Whoever scripted and directed this has absolutely no idea on how to produce a Neverending Story movie. Everything about this movie (from the plot to characters) was a joke.
Fantasia didn't have the 'magic' that the previous 2 movies had. Because Warner Brothers lost the 'rights' to produce this movies, Miramax took over the franchise and CHANGED everything - from the look of the auryn to the characters.
After the beginning of the movie, you see Rockbiter driving his bike through a forest singing 'born to be wild'. That was so annoying and stupid.
Bastion (Jason James Richter) is in this, and he's just bad - period. Don't expect any Atreyu in this, because he's not in it. He has been replaced with Bastion's spoiled brat step-sister Nicole (Melody Kay), who goes to a shopping mall with the auryn to get free merchandise (that is just stupid).
The empress is no longer 'childlike' (for whatever reason I do not know), so she no longer posesses the charm from the other empresses of the 2 prequels.
Those 2 dwarf guys return from the first movie. They were ok, apart from the "Arnold Schwarzenegger" one-liner, which was pretty cheesy.
Then there's Falkor, the luck dragon. What used to be a dragon of great wisdom has now been reduced to some lame dork of a monster from the Power Rangers/Saban's Masked Rider fame.
Junior (Rock Biter's son) was ok. At least he was better than the walking tree, Barky. Barky was a waste of character. Near the end of the movie, Barky, Junior and Bastion go into a shopping mall to find Nicole, and Barky tells Bastion, "Oh boy! They're having a sale in the garden department!" - Oh please.
And now we come to the villains - a group of flunking school bullies called "The Nasties".
They chase Bastion down one of the boiler rooms, where they all bump into a janitor. The janitor makes sure The Nasties get expelled for Bastion's suffering, and The Nasties then plot their revenge against Bastion.
Their job in the movie is to get The Neverending Story book from Bastion, take hold of the auryn, and wreak havoc in Fantasia. Like I'd really care what a bunch of bullies do to the travesty that Fantasia has now become.
I could go on and on about this movie, but I think I'm going to stop there.
Bottom line - this movie was the worst Neverending Story movie ever. Avoid at all costs!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not worth renting, 11 Aug. 2000
By A Customer
Though I am a fan of the original Neverending Story movie, and even enjoyed Neverending Story 2, I can not reccommend this movie to ANYONE who enjoyed the previous ones. Aside from the continuity error of Richter being younger than Brandis in NS2, it completely warps the idea of Fantasia. A more worthy sequel would have dealt with Bastian growing up... not turning into a spoiled brat like the kids who are the putative (and unconvincing)enemies. Many of the characters you know from the first two movies and loved have been twisted out of recognition... I wouldn't inflict this movie on anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars terrible really terrible!, 17 Jan. 2002
By A Customer
where do i start? i foolishly thought that this would somehow beas good as the first..how stupid was i? with its wooden acting and poor sets this mediocre, poorly acted/directed movie puts the truly wonderful first installment to shame. why can't people leave things as they are?? i guess due to the success of the first the directors wanted to perhaps make it more of a good thing, unfortunately 4 them they were wrong very wrong! As if the second wasnt bad enough they add insult to injury and do a third that bombed completely.
please if u are expecting this movie to be as charming and breath taking as the first u are sadly mistaken..i wouldnt waste ur money or time. it may well destroy your beleif in the movie business. i would give this movie an eighth of a star sadly i cant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Neverending Story III review, 30 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Neverending Story 3: Escape From Fantasia [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
Er, how do I put this...the lovely Bastian has become a rebel, sporting black leather and - yes - a 'cool' sister too! And he gets chased around by a gang of leather-clad punks called The Nasties! And he sees the same guy from the bookstore and manages to get back the Neverending Story, but the Nasties want to use it to destroy Fantasia. Then the movie brings all the characters in Fantasia into the real world, accompanied by a soundtrack that blares out the likes of Roxette and, did I mention Rock Biter singing 'Born To Be Wild'?! Falcor is a lot more fluffy, the graphics are a bit strange, but hey, it's an all-new Neverending Story from the 80's, right? Can't be that bad.

The Jim Henson workshop brings out the usual characters in a new style, including some entertaining extra puppets. And it's a surprise to see Tony Robinson playing a tiny little fairy guy tagging along with his very grumpy fairy wife. It's a surprise to see Bastian's sister go shopping with the wish-granting Orin, teaching the Childlike Empress a thing or two. And what happened to Atreyu and the talking tree? All will be revealed in movie 3.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars A sequel much too far, 18 Aug. 2011
The original was pretty good but by the time they got to this one they weren't just scraping the bottom of the barrel they had scraped right through it into the dirt underneath and were heading straight for New Zealand. The main problem is that the vast bulk of the film is set in present day USA with a gang of high school bullies headed by snarling pantomime baddie, Jack Black, chasing Bastian and the cast of H.R. Puffnstuf around a shiny new shopping mall. The film's cast are actually not that bad - the boy who plays Bastain is alright and Melody Kay puts in a good turn as his "evil" step-sister. Also, if you are unfortunate enough to see it, watch out for Julie Cox (Dune Mini-Series) as the Empress.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars HORRIBLE!, 21 Feb. 2011
A Kid's Review
I saw this film when I was really small on TV. Of course, back then I was naive and liked the film. But as I got older and saw the film again on TV, I realized how truly awful and terrible it is! There are no words to dercribe how horrible this film is! The original was brilliant, the 2nd was good enough, but this...! Avoid this film at all times! Stick to the first two and the book itself, which is better than any of the films, even the first one. Keep away, if you value your sanity!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Neverending Story 3, 12 Oct. 2010
A lot of people really put this movie down, which to be fair it isn't the best 3rd installment for the neverending story trilogy but all the same it is the first of the 3 I watched and for some reason I have a fondness for it. Many Neverending story fans will be disappointed to see that Atreyu does not return and neither do many of the little creatures that made their appearances in the first two films.

Jason James Richter from Free Willy fame stars as Bastian and in the movie his father finally finds a new wife who has a daughter of her own, Nicole, played by Melody Kay. The pair do not hit it off and Nicole seems reluctant to accept her new family and especially her new brother. Bastian has even more worries when he starts school and becomes an immediate target for school bullies 'The Nasties' fronted by Slip, played by Jack Black. In a bid to escape them Bastian takes refuge in the school library where he meets Mr Koreander and discovers the Neverending story, however the Neverending Story soon falls into the wrong hands. Basically, the movie follows Bastian's attempts to retrieve the book from the Nasties who are causing mayhem in the real world with the help of his new sister Nicole.

If you think of this movie as being separate from it's predecessors then you are likely to like it much more than if you think of it as a sequel. The movie does not really stay true to the books, but if we are being critical then none of them do. The plot is somewhat sloppy and deviates too far away from the original story, not to mention that none of the characters reprise their roles including the childlike empress but i think Jason James Richter did a decent job as Bastian. I'd give the movie a chance, it certainly isn't for everyone and it isn't the greatest movie but definately a must if you like the series and will not be disappointed by a few flaws.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars LOVE IT!, 13 Jun. 2015
When I was a child, my sister and I both adored this movie. Now I can not understand why it has got so many bad reviews! My niece who is 6 and my nephew who is 3 both love it too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars a good buy, 25 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
hello the neverending story is a great story to be told it is good for all the family to watch all together.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars The Never-Ending Story, 18 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought for my son - I believe he thinks it is good! Buy it if you know you will like it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews