Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Much better and different than Call of Juarez Bound in Blood
If you tried to play Call of Juarez: Bound in Blood, this will be a step forward, a very different game and more coherent story.
If you never played CoJ series, better don't attempt the previous versions but go for this one.

Well, technically this game is not perfect but certainly a good quality product.

I'll list my impressions:

+...
Published on 29 July 2011 by Margo

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Call of Juarez: The Hard Sell
Call of Juarez is a rare anomaly. It's a series with no real fan base, mediocre reviews and lacklustre sales; yet The Cartel marks its second sequel, and a reboot of sorts for the franchise. Unlike the Wild West setting of previous instalments, this takes a modern day approach. The billing of `the new wild west' is never fully justified; it's mostly a shooter that revels...
Published on 23 Feb 2012 by Stevie G


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Call of Juarez: The Hard Sell, 23 Feb 2012
By 
Stevie G "Stevie G" (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Call of Juarez - The Cartel (PS3) (Video Game)
Call of Juarez is a rare anomaly. It's a series with no real fan base, mediocre reviews and lacklustre sales; yet The Cartel marks its second sequel, and a reboot of sorts for the franchise. Unlike the Wild West setting of previous instalments, this takes a modern day approach. The billing of `the new wild west' is never fully justified; it's mostly a shooter that revels in the seedy underbelly of gang culture. With set pieces ranging from ghetto shootouts, strip club brawls and enjoyable (if repetitive) car chases. Whilst this isn't necessarily a bad thing, it's so far removed from anything that has gone before. Only loose links are made to previous games; a return to Juarez does feature, and one of the protagonists is a descendant of the fire and brimstone Preacher of the originals.

The plot revolves around an inter-agency task force that is formed to catch the bombers of a federal building. Kim Evans is a long range specialist who works for the FBI; Eddie Guerra is a smooth talking DEA agent, whereas Ben McCall is a no-nonsense cop. To further tensions between these characters, secret agendas can be found on most levels. Successful completion requires that you are not seen by the other characters, and tasks can range from bugging a phone to stealing something valuable. Additionally, secret items can be picked up on each level. For Kim these are firearms, Eddie steals bags of marijuana, and strangely, Ben collects walkie talkies. Completing these objectives earns XP, which in turn unlocks more guns. Because the plot lumbers from one set piece to another, this mechanic adds some intrigue, and much needed depth to the characters. It also explains their motivations, even if they are extremely heavy handed. For example, Ben's secret agendas benefit a prostitute whose child has contracted Hepatitis C.

As a co-operative experience, The Cartel is actually quite fun. But sadly the online community is non-existent, and getting into a game can be a frustrating affair. In addition to playing the game co-operatively, competitive multiplayer is also included. Despite only 4 maps, they are well designed and varied. Furthermore, The Cartel deserves credit with its lobby designs, which allows players to interact with each other before the level loads; anything that improves upon cold, clinical menu screens is greatly appreciated.

Visuals are functional, but never spectacular, and the majority of gameplay elements are blatantly lifted from other titles (like Team Entry). The Cartel is also riddled with glitches, although they are rarely game breaking. On a few occasions, I couldn't advance to the next objective because a character got stuck on a piece of scenery, or the objective itself wouldn't update. However, these were all solved with a checkpoint reload. There is also a baffling difference between in game dialogue and the corresponding subtitles. At one point a character says "that gives us probable cause", but the text reads "probably cause". It's a minor issue, but a schoolboy error nonetheless.

Despite requiring 3 playthroughs (including one on hard), this is a relatively easy Platinum, and at a budget price it's a FPS worth playing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not so good, not so bad, 2 Jan 2012
By 
J. Sheffer "J Sheffer" (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Call of Juarez - The Cartel (PS3) (Video Game)
I was weary about getting this but as I am usually happy to give most games a go for under £6 I thought why not.
The reviews I had read had veered to the negative but I am not so sure.

Certainly not as polished as the Battlefield or COD franchises and not really as good as its predecessors, COJ - The Cartel is not the worst FPS I have ever played. It is quite fun and fast, the weapons have variety and certainly all handle differently. The one player game is long and the game contains a variety of environments and gameplay styles. Nice ideas include individual character story lines and objectives, and fun driving and shooting sequences.

There are some sloppy graphical issues but these do not get in the way of the game play.

If you are a FPS fan like myself this game is worth a punt if you find it in a bargain bin, just do not expect too much even if you liked the previous games in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not great, 9 Mar 2014
By 
Beal Feirste (Beal Feirste, Ireland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Call of Juarez - The Cartel (PS3) (Video Game)
Basic game and while it only cost a few pound, compared to some other titles on the market it really is a basic game
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Really bad game! So boring!, 26 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Call of Juarez - The Cartel (PS3) (Video Game)
Its not even worth £5! Shocking boring game... reminds me on a playstation one game. I've heard the earlier games are pretty good though
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Don't call us..., 17 Mar 2014
This review is from: Call of Juarez - The Cartel (PS3) (Video Game)
Every so often a game gets a reputation for being bad quite unfairly and sometimes a game falls into the its so bad that its good category , Call of Juarez – The Cartel falls into neither of these categories it is simply just a bad game.
I would like to start with the positives of this title but to be honest there are none, even its fairly short game length feels like it is dragged out and much longer than it should be.
The graphics, which are really bad considering the platform and when this game was released are not quite PS2 standard as indicated by some but look terrible when you compare them to some of the other games that came out at the same time as this title.
The gameplay is awful and again this is comparable to PS2 games as there are many FPS which actually play better. You have generic shootout sequences which show that the AI has literally no intelligence, you are treated to quite possibly some of the most annoying driving sections in a game ever thanks to poor vehicle response which can only be likened to driving through treacle and the collision detection in some parts is absolutely terrible.
Even as a budget buy this game is not recommended as you will always feel as if you have spent too much and I am truly amazed that Techland and Ubisoft had the nerve to release this as it was, obviously the feedback from testing got lost in the post.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Review, 25 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Call of Juarez - The Cartel (PS3) (Video Game)
A good game with flaws the aspect of bringing a classic game to the modern man has both succeed and failed. the AI is extremely OP and will cause frustration in the starting level
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not great :-(, 30 Aug 2013
By 
chris249p (bradford on avon) - See all my reviews
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Call of Juarez - The Cartel (PS3) (Video Game)
I enjoyed bound in blood greatly and it's hard to imagine their in the same series. This game really stands alone as some sort of multi player arcade game. Not sure if its still supported on line as its not my thing. Game is now collecting dust after 5 minutes of play.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not as bad as its reputation, 12 July 2013
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Call of Juarez - The Cartel (PS3) (Video Game)
This got some really harsh reviews but I have played a lot worse games than this. I liked the game play and the feel of the guns. The dialogue was rubbish and cheap but that gave it some B-Movie fun. Many of the levels are quite repetitive but some of them were good fun. It's unoriginal and has many bugs and glitches though never crashed the game. Rent it or pick it up cheap as you will likely only play it through once.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars game, 8 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Call of Juarez - The Cartel (PS3) (Video Game)
Fun game for the price tag great too. get at nearly for nothing price tag which is also a bonus .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars call of juarez- the cartel, 19 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Call of Juarez - The Cartel (PS3) (Video Game)
hard game, spent hours playing it and getting frustrated and all the rest of it, i don't recommend the game and many people i've spoken to say the same. sorry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Call of Juarez - The Cartel (PS3)
Call of Juarez - The Cartel (PS3) by Ubisoft (PlayStation 3)
£9.25
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews