Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My favourite album of all time...
This really is my favourite album of all time. I have to disagree with the review below saying that the two later queens albums are better. They can't really be compared in this way because the first album is quite different in style. Yes, they have progressed as a band, but this album will always remain my favourite because of it's lo-fi, dry sound. Another thing i love...
Published on 7 Dec 2002 by stone_age_king@hotmail.com

versus
2 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Arrived but damaged!
Preordered this CD as a massive QOTSA fan and received the CD very promptly. Unfortunately it arrived in woefully inept packaging and with 2 large cracks on the front of the CD case. More padding needed in the packaging definitely!!
Published on 24 Mar 2011 by Caroline Gillett


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Queens Of The Stone Age, 2 Aug 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Queens Of The Stone Age (Audio CD)
Excellent. Not a dud track on the whole album as far as I'm concerned. If you like Queens of the Stone Age then you can't go wrong with this - I've played it at least once a day every day for a month and it continues to impress.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not just a demo., 16 April 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Queens Of The Stone Age (Audio CD)
The first Queens album I bought was Rated R, and I bought every one after that as they came out but refrained from purchasing their first one as I had the feeling it would be a work in progress, a kind of half-formed series of rough sketches as the new band found their feet. I finally bought the re-issue and have been happy to be proven wrong, as it is a very strong album up there with Rated R, though behind Songs For The Deaf which in my opinion is their strongest work. Definitely recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Holy coyote, he's leaving the lair, 31 Oct 2009
By 
Red Mosquito (Horton Bank Top) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Queens of the Stone Age (Audio CD)
Josh spent many of his formative musical years living with coyotes and feeding on snake venom sucked through the quill of a porcupine. It was a sad day indeed for all Kyuss fans when he decided to vacate the desert and move to pastures new. No need to worry though because he took all those skills that he perfected in the 10,000 degree heat of Death Valley with him and used them to move his unbelievable talent on to the next stage, the birth of QotSA. There's something about a retrospective album review that allows you to consider where it stands regarding the bigger picture and what has become clear imo is that this album is still one of the finest albums that QotSA and Kyuss have made to date. It is thee hybrid. The album that defined the death of Kyuss and the birth of QotSA. This is not an album for the completist. It's an album for any self respecting fan of rock music of the highest quality. The production and mixing is absolutely perfect as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE BEST QUEENS ALBUM BY FAR!!!!!, 28 Mar 2009
By 
This review is from: Queens of the Stone Age (Audio CD)
This is queens of the stone age's best record by far if you ask me.
Just the sound of the guitar's the drums the bass and everything fits perfectly, josh homme's vocals fit perfectly over the fuzzed up grooves!
Songs like "regular john" "if only" "how to handle a rope" and "mexicola" are stand outs, but the whole album in general is awesome!
I think i like this record more than any other queens records cause it sounds quite close to kyuss and im a HUGE kyuss fan...BUT at the same time it doesn't sound like kyuss!
Get this record it will not disapoint, this was realeased before queens of the stone age became mainstream darlings!
and before the TRENDY indulgent experementation of stuff like era vulgaris (WHICH SUCKS!!!)
THIS IS PURE Q.O.T.S.A.

For fans of:
Kyuss
The stooges
Can
Black sabbath
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Queens' sound at its most primal, 5 Jun 2008
By 
Karen L. Hutchison "I Rock and Roll" (Aberdeen, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Queens of the Stone Age (Audio CD)
A true tour-de-force of an album which paved the way for what was to come from Qotsa whilst also separating itself from a Kyuss-carbon-copy.
1)Regular John- A soaring, fuzzy, hypnotic riff that combines to startlingly brilliant effect with Homme's soft voice. 9/10
2)Avon- Achingly contemporary, this is a standout for the best bit of Qotsa drumming to be heard until a certian Dave Grohl came on the scene 9/10
3)If Only- Almost pop-like with its catchy chorus but this is so much better than anything you'll hear in the charts. A song for summer. 8/10
4)A groovy yet gargantuan track that pounds into your head. Homme's lyrics are very sharp here. Only tailback is the repeated riff that goes on for the last 2 minutes 8/10
5)You Would Know-A slow, psychedelic number that takes a few listens to like. Excellent chorus and a very unique song. 8/10
6)How to Handle a Rope= When it comes to Qotsa's best riffs, this is a genuine contender. However, the drumming, basswork and vocals match the guitar's excellence throughout to produce a Queens classic. 9.5/10
7)Mexicola- When you hear the bass rumbling at the start you know your in for a lot of noise and when it comes it winds your way into your head and doesnt get out. Superb stuff. 9/10
8)Hispanic Impressions- An instrumental, that sounds lightweight considering whats come before. Quite repetitive also, but an example of Homme and co's musicianship nonetheless. 6/10
9)You Can;t Quit Me Baby- Possibly the best bassline of the last 10 years and the best song ever to be wrtitten about a psycho-stalker. Truly breathtaking, epic. 9/10
10)Give the Mule What He Wants- A song that flows and stutters in equal measure but somehow works. Instantly loveable. 9/10
11)I Was a Teenage Hand Model- An odd song that brings the album to a nice close. A hum-along tune that sticks in your head but perhaps doesn't leave a lasting impression like some of the other tracks. 7/10

Call it what genre you will, the fact is that QOTSA start off with a truly awesome album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Smokey, Blurred, Sonic Emotions, 15 Jan 2006
By 
M. Beyhan (Amsterdam, The NL) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Queens of the Stone Age (Audio CD)
Once you start listening to that album, you get into the songs, integrated with them. The melodies coming from the guitars are leading this trip. Coupled with the drums and the vocals ornamented with the catching, poetic lyrics, the songs reach the full integrity. "If Only" transmits the mixed feelings of aggressiveness and revolt. "You Can't Quit Me Baby" is the muscial expression of making love. I find this album enormously amazing! Very entertaining!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rock n Roll ain't dead baby!, 19 July 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Queens of the Stone Age (Audio CD)
I have had Rated R for about 6 months, and just could not stop listening to it. But when i had the chance to go and see QOTSA, i went for it. Thing is though, they played quite a few songs i could not recognise, hence i went out and bought their first album. And what an album. Its just stripped down rock n roll, in ya face, turned up to ten rifforama!!
My fave song on the album changed from week to week, at the moment its You Cant Quit Me, which proves to many people that Josh has such a great voice. Props also have to be given to the rhythm section especially Nick Oliveri. Guy plays some wicked bass lines....
Finally a band has come along to wake people up. Jump on board the QOTSA bandwagon, its gonna be a trip to remember.
One Love.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ..., 4 Aug 2005
By 
T. F. Brettell "neech_manley" (Coseley, West Midlands, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Queens of the Stone Age (Audio CD)
Stop reading these reviews. Buy this album now. It is utterly flawless (except for "Hispanic Impressions", but we'll let that one go). I guarantee you won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Middle Ground Between QOTSA & Kyuss, 10 Sep 2007
By 
Tom Chase (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Queens of the Stone Age (Audio CD)
I am a massive fan of Kyuss, and I want to make it clear that I prefer their best works ("Welcome To Sky Valley" and "And The Circus Leaves Town") to QOTSA's best stuff (and anyone that doesn't know Josh Homme was Kyuss' guitarist and main songwriter should find out about that for their own sake, and this review's sake). That is not to say I don't enjoy QOTSA, they are pretty much single-handedly carrying the stoner rock torch into the realms of popular music. Releases such as "Rated R" and "Songs For The Deaf" are eclectic and sometimes simply outstanding outings into modern rock music. However, the bouncy and poppy aspect of QOTSA, compared to the epic groove jamming of Kyuss, doesn't quite work as well for me. The band doesn't send me to that other place, where I'm engulfed and lost in the music. This was the case until I came across this...

This is the band's debut LP (they started out life with a split EP with Kyuss, the first division of the original members), and it strikes me as the band's best to date. Yes, "Songs For The Deaf" sprawled across genres, sounds and atmospheres. Yes, "Rated R" had some catchy-as-f*%k lush melodies. But I always wanted more from the band. They lacked the groove of Kyuss, lacked that desert vibe, the driving and pummelling riffs...the overwhelming aural trip those albums created. But here, with this underrated and seemingly pushed aside release, the band hit the balance for me, combining elements of Kyuss at their peak, and the best of the QOTSA style.

This is evident with songs such as "Regular John", "If Only" and "Mexicola", my three favourite rocking tracks on the album. These songs encompass both the groove and fuzzy tones of Kyuss with the vocal melodies and catchy hooks of QOTSA. Also, special mention should go to "You Cant Quit Me Baby" which is a masterful ballad with a very eerie and melancholy atmosphere, and one of my favourite QOTSA songs to date.

If you're a fan of QOTSA and don't have this release, it really is worth hunting down. For those Kyuss fans, this is the most logical evolution from the Kyuss sound and will certainly please.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must for QOTSA fans, 29 Jun 2014
This review is from: Queens Of The Stone Age (Audio CD)
Does not disappoint. Even first album shows the quality of the band. Bought for husband but must admit that I enjoyed listening to it too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Queens Of The Stone Age
Queens Of The Stone Age by Queens Of The Stone Age
Buy MP3 Album7.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews