Customer Reviews


665 Reviews
5 star:
 (388)
4 star:
 (149)
3 star:
 (57)
2 star:
 (30)
1 star:
 (41)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


162 of 163 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Satellite just got better
I'd like to start with thanking other reviewers notes which went a long way to helping make the decision to ditch SKY and go for a Humax box.
SETUP
Unplug your Sky box, connect the Humax, switch on and follow the automated menu's - job done! Initially we found the remote nowhere near as intuitive as the Sky controller, and the manual not having an index was a...
Published on 1 Oct 2011 by Aleinmk

versus
580 of 608 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good buy, though not perfect.
This is a review of the Humax Foxsat-hdr, not a Freesat review or a guide to installing a sat dish ect..
One thing I was critical of initially was the cost. Why is this unit so much more expensive than the practically identical Freeview version? Possibly Freesat licence issues.
The unit comes with a scart and HD cable included. Remote control with...
Published on 23 Mar 2011 by Mr. A. Dunsmuir


‹ Previous | 1 267 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

162 of 163 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Satellite just got better, 1 Oct 2011
This review is from: Humax Foxsat HDR 1TB Freesat HD Digital TV Recorder (Requires Satellite Dish) (Old model) (discontinued by manufacturer) (Electronics)
I'd like to start with thanking other reviewers notes which went a long way to helping make the decision to ditch SKY and go for a Humax box.
SETUP
Unplug your Sky box, connect the Humax, switch on and follow the automated menu's - job done! Initially we found the remote nowhere near as intuitive as the Sky controller, and the manual not having an index was a tad irritating, however there are so many forums on the Humax PVR box, that mastering features like the recurring recordings, recorded programmes menu etc is easy.... when you know how and where to find it, 1 week on and no problems. There isn't an RF output to feed a second TV, but this is easily resolved by the addition of a Universal Modulator, a what? I hear people say! It plugs into either of the scart sockets on the back of the PVR, and presto normal TV antenna connections are ready. You can also programme the remote for other audio visual devices such as BluRay players, tv etc.
QUALITY
Quiet simply, brilliant and I concur with other reviews, the HD is better and it doesn't cost an extra 10 a month for the privilege. Watching the Rugby world cup with the overhead camera focused on a scrum today, you could actually see the grass tufts and strands being kicked up by the players boots.
VALUE FOR MONEY
If you like films, you might find it a bit frustrating at the lack of choice at a given point in time, but plan ahead and record as much as you can find and you will soon have a library at your finger tips, and it's not an issue with 1TB of storage. There are also so many other ways of watching films now with streaming, postal rental services etc you will soon make huge savings from not paying a monthly charge for each package. Sports fans, you will have a problem watching a huge variety of live events, but the built in players such as BBC's iPlayer and itvPlayer. When you plug the unit into your router you have a huge choice of 'on demand' media. It requires a wired connection to use the iplayer etc, and if your installation is not close to your modem/router, you might want to consider using a pair of adapters which plug into your mains and uses your house ring main as the network cable. Works great, much faster than wireless, and you get a chance on iPlayer to use higher quality, which is excellent and doesn't have the stop start buffering problems you might get on wireless at times.
VERDICT
Go for it, you know it makes sense!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


603 of 619 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great product at a good price!, 16 Dec 2010
By 
J. Kirby (Sheffield, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This prduct was bought for my parents and I have been very impressed with its simplicty having heard some reviews say how complicated it was compared to Sky+ (which I have).
Set-up is simple with everything automated, the only thing you need to do is insert your postcode for regional viewing settings.
I would say it is slightly more complex than Sky+ in that you store all series linked (or multiples of each programme) in separated folders (as you would on a PC) but anyone who has ever used a computer or read the instructions will pick it up immediately.
Picture quality in SD is at least as good as Sky SD and the freesat HD channels look great (pity you only have 3 at present). Both my parents and myself live in a weak freeview signal area so the reassurance of no picture drop out was the main reason for freesat rather than freeview.
With most new HD TV's now having only a freeview HD receiver (except Panasonic), this box gives you the ability to see the full range of free channels available with the capability to record everything on freesat. Freesat has the vast majority of channels most people would want to record (incuding HD when available) but some channels are only on freeview or freesat not both - see their websites and check which ones you are most likely to record!
This Humax box lets you pause live TV, watch one channel while recording another and series link, pretty much everything you can do with Sky+ except you don't pay 26+ per month for doing it!
It does require x2 LNB cables to do this which could mean a new dish if you only have a single cable coming off an old Sky dish (as in our case) but this cost including installation was only a one off 120.
This box is also capable of viewing BBC i-player as long as you have broadband and an ethernet cable connected to it (ITV on demand coming soon).
All in all a great package at a reasonable price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


195 of 200 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 500GB FOXSAT HD PVR, 22 Dec 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this sat box and cancelled sky HD and second room all options that was costing 71 per month. The choice of programmes and quality over the satelite are more than adequate. The stop, pause, rewind, tv is dead easy to use and the record option from the on-screen guide is as simple as the sky one was.

If you have sky, kick it into touch and grab yourself one of these, it will pay for itself in 3 monts!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


72 of 74 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Impressive Unit, 29 April 2011
By 
Alan Bell (France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
We've had this Freesat box installed for about 1 week now and it has been a God-send! The picture is excellent. Even standard definition is much better than my previous receiver and HD is brilliant for watching football & rugby where the colours of the players really stand out against the green grass. The operation is reasonably intuitive, which may explain why the instruction book is so basic. I have read a couple of common complaints about this box, but if you understand what's going on technically, then there's little to complain about.
1) "It sometimes takes a long time to boot up". Well, for me it typically takes 10 - 15 seconds. It may take longer but that is because it is scanning and downloading more channel information. This happens when a new channel is added to the Freesat list. Waiting the extra 20 seconds is much better than having to tune the new channels in yourself! If you find it is slow, check your dish alignment and signal strength.

2) "Remote is slow to respond" Sometimes you push the button to move the highlighted section in the program schedule and nothing happens. You instinctively push it again and then it jumps two sections! Again, this is because the box is downloading the program information from the satellite feed, which takes time. Just be a little patient and if you get upset, remember the days when you actually had to get out of your seat to switch between the 3 channels on your 625 line TV!!!

Something worth mentioning, which I think is BRILLIANT! Not only can you record one channel whilst watching another, you can also record two different channels at the same time! Very handy when there's a Champions League match on at the same time as your wife's favourite cooking program! And if you try to record a 3rd program, it lets you know you can't and offers you alternative, non-conflicting times for the programs you wish to record.

Overall, I am very happy with the unit. So easy to use you don't need the instruction book.
I'm not sure if it can do DisC (Combined satellite dish inputs) and I therefore wired mine directly to the twin-LNB. So this might be something to research if you like to have multiple dishes pointed at different satellites.

Get one... NOW!!! :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


96 of 99 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great product!, 18 May 2011
By 
Mrs CGT (Yorkshire, England) - See all my reviews
This box is great and we are delighted we made the decision to break away from Sky/Virgin (although we have lost quite a few channels). The box has received so many favourable reviews which is partly what influenced us to buy it, although from some of the comments I was a little nervous that it might be complex to get to grips with. However, IT WAS EASY!!! The picture is much better than our SKY+ box, and navigation/recording etc is straightforward and pretty intuitive. (We haven't found it too different from the Sky remote - and the kids, aged 16 and 13, worked it out without the instructions).

I found some of the tips from previous reviewers especially helpful - well worth a read....the most useful (to me) being:
-use the supplied HDMI cable to link the box to the TV
-unplug the satellite dish cables from your old box straight into the new one
-remember to peel the protective tape off the front
-plug in, switch on and follow the on-screen instructions
-done!!!

There are clearly other things to explore on this box, but the basics - changing channel, pausing, recording, series link are all easy to learn.

Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


134 of 139 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Should Have Bought this Sooner, 10 July 2010
By 
O. Dianne Crecraft (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am extremely satisfied with the Humax Freesat recorder, the picture and sound quality are far superior to SKY. It was easy to set up and recording is so simple now. It is great to have only 1 box of tricks instead of 2. The only hassle was taking a new cable right therough my loft, and having to climb a ladder. I would definitely reccommend this to anyone who is fed up with SKY and wants to watch programmes in HD. Our LCD TV really does complete the new viewing experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


106 of 110 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Humax Foxsat HDR, 27 Nov 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Ordered this on-line and 2 days after dispatch, it had arrived in my home in rural France. It took me a couple of hours to run a second cable to the satellite dish & make the connections & disconnect the old Sky box, then about 5 mins to connect up the new box & switch on. It is so simple to do, even Stevie Wonder could manage it! Select a few options and all the tuning is done automatically and within 10 mins I was experimenting with the remote control. It is only connected to a standard TV at the moment but an HD LED is on the shopping list!
I would recommend this box to anyone. It does exactly what it says on the tin and with the 500GB hard disc it was worth paying the extra over the smaller one, which was only a little cheaper. Go on, treat yourself, you deserve it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent product-just one gripe!, 7 Jun 2011
By 
Setting up was quick and easy using the very comprehensive manual that came with the recorder. The recordings are of excellent quality and the machine is easy to use once one has digested the instructions, which appear a little complicated at first. Being an OAP, my sight is not what it used to be and both my wife and I found the text boxes difficult to read from our viewing positions. It would have been nice to have had bold black text on a white background instead of the less contrasty font used. Apart from that, I would thoroughly recommend this machine for its performance and good value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent product!!!, 2 Jan 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This product is excellent! It does exactly what it say's it should do. Setting up for recording a programe you're watching or a future one is a piece of cake plus setting up a whole series is easy peasy!!!!

I highly recommend this product plus the 1TB hard disk drive means that I have loads of room for recording everything I need to watch when I get back from say a fortnight's holiday!!!! Fabulous !!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


580 of 608 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good buy, though not perfect., 23 Mar 2011
By 
Mr. A. Dunsmuir (wales UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is a review of the Humax Foxsat-hdr, not a Freesat review or a guide to installing a sat dish ect..
One thing I was critical of initially was the cost. Why is this unit so much more expensive than the practically identical Freeview version? Possibly Freesat licence issues.
The unit comes with a scart and HD cable included. Remote control with batteries.
As mentioned before, remember to remove the clear film on the front of the unit and also the clear film under the front panel so the remote will function properly. Plug everything up and the unit takes a few minutes to set up. If you have one LNB then be sure to loop from LNB out to LNB 2 to get more functionality. You may have problems receiving updates from Humax with only one LNB, although they may have addressed this issue.
I will make this straight forward with pros and cons.
Pros;
1).This unit looks good. Nice feature is you can choose powersave which turns off the front clock and clock light. (although I like the clock, it is totally accurate)
2). The quality of the picture on either SD or HD is simply stunning. Just make sure your TV is set up properly, the Humax will not disappoint in this department.
3). Comes with HD cable. Some will say it's a poor quality cable but it doesn't matter to the picture quality. (don't believe me, ask an engineer)
4). The front screen clock disappears when the unit is switched on, the screen then displays the channel your on (BBC HD for example) this is good if you are listening to Freesat radio with the TV turned off. You can go through the stations and know where you are.
5). The recording functions are flawless so far. Its all very easy.
6). There is a buffer recording two hours into any program you are watching so you can pause or rewind at any time. You cannot seem to record the program from the beginning of the buffer though. Only from the actual time you are at. this seems like an omission.
7). Lots of people hate the remote. I think its OK. It is a learning remote and it has replaced my TV and DVD remotes. You will find simple three digit codes and instructions at the back of the manual.
8). RC out for headphones is very useful. Could also of course be used for home cinema sound I suppose.
9). Its whisper quite. Some other boxes have a noisy fan.
10). Two year warranty is quite generous.

Now for the cons;
1). If you have an older TV, say over two years old and HD ready rather than Full HD you could have what is known as the GREEN SCREEN. When hooked up via HDMI cable, the screen goes green after booting up the unit and is locked. This seems to be a problem with the TV not communicating with the unit properly and does not appear to affect newer TV sets or 1080hd sets. My TV is about 4 years old and only a 26" Samsung LCD HD ready. I have had to hook it up to scart to get it to work. This is also a software issue from Humax as they have tried to address this in previous updates, unsuccessfully. So it is not all the fault of the TV.
2). You cannot customise the EPG. Its grey or tough luck..Lack of customisation is surprising cosidering this is a unix based system, Although I might be wrong.
3). It does not let you have favorites and only see them in the EPG. You have to trawl through the other channels to see what is on. You can erase the other channels but this defeats the purpose of having favorites for various members of the family for example.
4). The file system is cumbersome and sluggish.
5). If you want iplayer, be prepared to either hook up an ethernet cable to broadband, or purchase homeplug adaptors (a right pain) to connect to you router. This box should have come with wi-fi like any video game console. It costs enough..
6). When you start this up, be prepared to wait for up to 40 seconds for it to `boot'. Sometimes it starts right away, suppose it depends on what mood it is in.
7). You can receive non Freesat channels but the unit will not record them (!!) Why not? Software update Humax!!?
8). The manual is nothing short of rubbish. You'll see. Go on the net for a better understanding of this product.
9). It would be nice to be able to dim the front light, I don't mind but it is only a software update to add this and also correct many other criticisms so Humax should try harder.
Overall I am happy with the purchase. I now have an argument for a bigger new TV (green screen) I can put to the lady of the house. The picture quality is so good I forgive many of the shortcomings.
I do not understand why so many people give this five stars when it is so obviously flawed. Five stars should mean perfect in every way, eh?
Before you say the supposed flaws are of personal preference, these machines should be flexible enough for a bit of customisation in my opinion.
Am I too hard on the Humax? Three stars is a good score in my book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 267 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews