Customer Reviews


57 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great quality product
I've now bought three of these radios for various members of the family as they really are a great quality product. They feel great(!) as they have a silky rubber coating, which I guess is why their splashproof - and probably non-slip. Some people say the sound is "tinny", but it's perfectly adequate (and what I would have expected) for a portable radio. The winding takes...
Published on 21 Sep 2011 by Gus

versus
11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "Could do better"
I've had this for a couple of months now and use it only when I'm outside working (As a waller and hedgelayer)

Good points:-
Robust. Its been dropped a few times and often gets knocked about in my toolbag. Buttons well protected. Nothing is broken so far.
Damp proof. Its certainly been rained on. The slightly soft cover is also reasonably non...
Published 22 months ago by Rock Hopper


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "Could do better", 23 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Aquabourne Wind up & Solar Radio AM/FM- Features: Clock, Torch, Alarm, Splashproof and MP3 or Phone Charging Function
I've had this for a couple of months now and use it only when I'm outside working (As a waller and hedgelayer)

Good points:-
Robust. Its been dropped a few times and often gets knocked about in my toolbag. Buttons well protected. Nothing is broken so far.
Damp proof. Its certainly been rained on. The slightly soft cover is also reasonably non slip.
Cheap
Accurate digital tuning
Good sound when fully charged
.
Could do better:-
Doesn't like being in the shade for long. In the winter as soon as the sun goes in - the radio goes out.
Winding it up is easy and although the winder is sturdy I've never had the patience to wind it up so I can get more than several minutes out of 10 - 20 seconds winding.

All in all it's worth the money provided you don't want perfection.
(I've not used the phone charging function or MP3 thingy.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great quality product, 21 Sep 2011
By 
Gus (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Aquabourne Wind up & Solar Radio AM/FM- Features: Clock, Torch, Alarm, Splashproof and MP3 or Phone Charging Function
I've now bought three of these radios for various members of the family as they really are a great quality product. They feel great(!) as they have a silky rubber coating, which I guess is why their splashproof - and probably non-slip. Some people say the sound is "tinny", but it's perfectly adequate (and what I would have expected) for a portable radio. The winding takes a bit of effort, but why bother when you can just leave it on a window sill for permanent power! Tuning is very easy, and there are other features such as an alarm setting, but I haven't really used these. The only small criticism is that the instructions are in very small print, but once you know what you're doing (with the aid of a magnifying glass!) that's not really a problem. All round this highly recommended for use in the home or on the move.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not happy, 2 Dec 2012
This review is from: Aquabourne Wind up & Solar Radio AM/FM- Features: Clock, Torch, Alarm, Splashproof and MP3 or Phone Charging Function
Initially, this little radio seemed to work well, but after a couple of months it refused to hold its charge and now winding for 2 solid minutes produces only 3 or 4 minutes of radio. Very disappointed, like one or two other reviewers. Now a useless ornament on my bathroom window-sill.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very pleased, 15 Oct 2011
This review is from: Aquabourne Wind up & Solar Radio AM/FM- Features: Clock, Torch, Alarm, Splashproof and MP3 or Phone Charging Function
This is an excellent little radio. Very good reception without much difficulty. The sound isn't stereo, so may sound a little tinny at first, but I soon got used to this. It was a birthday present and I couldn't be more pleased.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars We weren't able to receive the programme we usually listen to - the transmission for this is less than 10 miles away!, 29 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Aquabourne Wind up & Solar Radio AM/FM- Features: Clock, Torch, Alarm, Splashproof and MP3 or Phone Charging Function
Neat loooking and had all the functions required, however the radio reception was poor. On FM it only went to 99!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great little radio., 16 Feb 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Aquabourne Wind up & Solar Radio AM/FM- Features: Clock, Torch, Alarm, Splashproof and MP3 or Phone Charging Function
Great little radio. Robustly made and just right for my bathroom. No worries about batteries as I just leave it on the windowsill. I will also be using it for camping trips in the summer, it's small size and ability to charge other devices will be a god send for motorbike rallies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars aquabourne wind-up and solar radio, 20 Jun 2011
This review is from: Aquabourne Wind up & Solar Radio AM/FM- Features: Clock, Torch, Alarm, Splashproof and MP3 or Phone Charging Function
I purchased this product for a friend who enjoys an active, outdoors lifestyle and is keen to 'do her bit' for the environment. She absoultely loves the fact that she can use 2 power sources (solar and wind-up) and that the entire gadget is so robust and has a good build quality feel about it - exactly what she needs for camping/mountain-biking/canoeing trips. I would not hestitate to recommend it to anyone who wanted a compact, multifunction clock/radio/torch etc etc etc. It is ideal for the home and outdoors - I'm going to get one for my garden shed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars It didn't work!, 7 Jun 2011
This review is from: Aquabourne Wind up & Solar Radio AM/FM- Features: Clock, Torch, Alarm, Splashproof and MP3 or Phone Charging Function
Absolutely no volume, and the battery refused to hold its charge, so I had to ask for my money back. I must say that Amazon were very efficient and helpful in this respect.

Shame really, because the product is a great idea.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars please note, 22 May 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Aquabourne Wind up & Solar Radio AM/FM- Features: Clock, Torch, Alarm, Splashproof and MP3 or Phone Charging Function
great little radio, works well and sound ok too. but be aware, one of the pictures shows it charging a mobile. please note, it only charges nokia phones. big downside to this product
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 8 Oct 2011
This review is from: Aquabourne Wind up & Solar Radio AM/FM- Features: Clock, Torch, Alarm, Splashproof and MP3 or Phone Charging Function
Great present for my 70yr old father. Easy to use in his long trips to visit family as his car doesn't have a radio. I feel happier knowing he has something to keep him awake and a torch if the car breaks down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews