Customer Reviews


394 Reviews
5 star:
 (314)
4 star:
 (61)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing achievement
The best heroic fantasy series in the world keeps getting better. Though nearly 1,000 pages long, I had the feeling that it could easily have been 500 pages longer. Complaints about the Bran and Arya chapters never popped into my head. Yes, they move less decisively than some other plotlines but they all do progress significantly near the end and there's some very good...
Published on 27 Sep 2000 by W. Thielemans

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Audiobook version
Plenty of other reviews go into detail about the content of the book, so I won't repeat that here. I'm enough of a fan of this series to persevere with the books, but not enough to rave about how amazing it is - it's good. The books seem to get steadily worse as the series progresses - that's not to say that they're poor, but that they lack finesse, and tend to plod...
Published 1 month ago by A. Nichol


‹ Previous | 135 36 3740 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Epic fantasy - mostly, 10 Mar 2009
By 
Sir Furboy (Aberystwyth, UK) - See all my reviews
This series is highly readable, and anyone who loves fantasy should find plenty to enjoy in this book. But why does it have to be so ridiculously long? Sure there is plenty going on, with as many threads interwoven as a fine tapestry - or at least a good pair of socks. Nevertheless, some of those threads could have been reduced to move the action along a little more quickly.

But my reasons for giving this only 3 stars must also include a feeling that this book is still rather derivative in a fantasy field that all too often takes its cue from Tolkien and/or fantasy role play games. It is yet another medieval setting with knights and priests and kings and tournaments and everything else that fantasy readers expect, but will put off readers new to the genre because it looks like a copy of Tolkien (sans elves, at least). The only novelty is the seasons, which do not turn with the years. But the logic of this kind of breaks when so many other aspects of our world are carried, as if verbatim, into this work. Sometimes Martin mentions something that just begs to put you in mind of our world, and so the otherness of this one does not stick.

Stylistically, all the characters seem to speak with the same voice. And the phrase "half a ..." seems to be one of Martin's favourites because we have "half a heartbeat" or "half a hundred" repeated so many times by so many characters that I wanted to scream each time I read it!

But if you want swords and sorcery in an earthy format and a good complex and engaging plot, you will enjoy these books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The First Great Fantasy Saga of the Millennium, 15 Dec 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: A Storm of Swords (Paperback)
A Song of Ice and Fire has successfully displaced Robert Jordan's The Wheel of Time as the best on-going fantasy series of the moment. The first two books painstakingly constructed a medieval world of tournements, chivalry and honour before bloodily tearing it apart, revealing the true horrors of war and the hypocrisy of court intrigue. One of the most fascinating things about the series is that you can't say who's truly in the right: King Robert has been murdered and succeeded by his wife's son by another man (her brother!), making his brother Stannis the rightful king. Yet Robert himself became king only by murdering the former insane monarch, Aerys, making Aerys' daughter Daenarys the true Queen. In fact, it is Daenarys you end up rooting for as the book continues. The writing is astonishingly powerful at times, conveying the brutality of a medieval world in a way that makes David Eddings seem timid. The characters are convincingly constructed as shades of grey instead of just good or evil and the use of the villanous Jaime Lannister as a viewpoint character suddenly makes him seem understandable and even sympathetic, at least until you remember he tried to murder a seven-year-old boy back in the first volume. The book leaves you wondering what's going to happen next, but because there is a natural pause in the plot (Book 4, A Dance with Dragons, will pick up the action five years later) you're not left hanging on a cliff for the next two years. Overall this is an intelligent, complex, dark and violent fantasy novel which is streets ahead of anything else out there at the moment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 14 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Storm of Swords (A Song of Ice and Fire Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
I love the game of thrones series!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great read !, 3 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Storm of Swords (A Song of Ice and Fire Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
Couldn't put it down, first class
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great series., 4 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Storm of Swords (A Song of Ice and Fire Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
Great series. Can't put it down!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 30 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Storm of Swords (A Song of Ice and Fire Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
The whole series is fascinating!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a great read, 24 Jan 2004
By 
Well what can I about this book,
First the negative aspect for me, which is simply the language , now some reviews on the previous two novels state that as an adult book it is not out of place , which I strongly disagree with , Mr Martin does not only use very explicit sex scenes but also with very explicit swear words which You wouldent even find in many eighteen rated films (well maybe in English gangster films you would)
I must state this is purely a personal view but I dont understand the purpose of this . ok with the sex maybe anyone a bit offended by this can always skip the page but the swearing you cant get away from and I dident agree with it.
So why the five stars? because its a damn good series thats why!!!! How he manages to keep tabs on his myriad of characters I dont know, but whats more he does and writes in such a way that We can as well (to a certain extent) , this is done by skillfully follwing a number of differant characters perhaps a dozen or so over the course of the books so far , this will enable the author and therefor us to have someone of note in most of the differant parts of his world , so we can follow exacly whats going on amidst all the blood and slaughter of his books. With the amount of lesser characters killed on a reguler basis (and believe me this is a lot)it is now not as confusing. Through attrition and new journeys etc he adds to or kills off the main chatracters as well so no-ones safe , this being proved by the number of reviewers of the previous two books being surprised at just who is dead this time!!
My personal oppinion on these kinds of books is that I always enjoy unpredictably and some of the "good guys" being taken out!!(although in these books there is no line that I see between "good and evil" as most characters have a dark side and therefore are more human) Authors such as David Eddings are extemely reluctant to lose any of the main characters (or even the lesser characters too) and by end of tenth book or so have about 50 major characters living happilly ever after!! not so in these books to be honest with at least a couple more books to go I cant imagine hardly anyone from first book left standing!!
These really are a riveting read and from the moment the Starks found the six Direwolf pups in chapter one I have been hooked and that is a rare thing as it takes time for me to switch authors in the fantasy genre.
Particuler plot of the books I have enjoyed was Blackwatch (with Samwell and Jon Snow) and how although this has been shown as a major threat to the whole land by Mr Martin through the nightwatches eyes no-one else seems to have a clue (or care less) in the rest of the world, so I hope to see the development of this.
I Liked Arya one of the most uncliched characters I have EVER read about(really shows how bad "childhoods " can push you over the edge) and of course everyones favorite Tyrion the dwarf.
As was obvious intent by author hated Cersai and Joffrey and most of the "kingsguard" knights but found the Hound a very complex character and obviously has a bigger part to play (although with Mr Martin he may drop dead in the first chapter of the next book , you never can tell).
Can see where Daenrys will end up and almost hope she dosent but will have to wait id imagine till "dance with Dragons" for that one.
Anyway Im sure you will enjoy these, only one word of warning dont get your hopes up of release of next two anytime soon some of us have been waiting well over a year already.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great book. Keep them coming, 2 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Storm of Swords (A Song of Ice and Fire Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
great book.Keep them coming.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 29 Sep 2014
Thank you! It's brilliant
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars wordy., 31 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Storm of Swords (A Song of Ice and Fire Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
Overlong and repetitive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 135 36 3740 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews